Precision Agriculture & Crop Support
The industry — Support activities for crop production
Base industry report for 1151 →- Establishments · CanadaA
- 1,536
- Under 10 employeesA
- 80%
- Establishments · USA
- 5,263
- Employment · USA
- 73,015
- Payroll · USA
- $3.7B
Of 1,536 Canadian establishments with employees, 80% have fewer than ten — an industry of very small operators.
Entry signal — what decides who wins here
Execution decidesThe hurdles here are ones a better operator clears. That is not a promise of success — it is the absence of a structural reason you cannot win.
Prove the value in money the buyer already counts. The need is real; what is unproven is that this buyer moves budget for it. That is a priced test with real customers, not a product problem.
Measured, not forecast: the share of US establishments opening in one year that were still active later. It counts good operators and bad ones together, which is exactly why it is the honest answer to “what are the odds”. It is for the whole sector rather than this market, and the ten-year figure comes from an older cohort because no younger one has reached ten years.
This is not a probability of success, and it is not a verdict on you. No survival probability is published per market, and inventing one would be worse than saying so. What the bar reads is how much of the outcome sits inside an operator's control: green means the hurdles are ones a better operator clears, red means the binding constraint is capital, an asset or a permission rather than execution. Someone arriving with an advantage this screen did not assume can win a market shown in red.
Companies named in this market · 1
The binding constraint — willingness to pay
Crop scouting, soil sampling, variable-rate prescriptions and custom application are genuinely low-capital work — a truck, an agronomy ticket and a spreader — and 969 of the 1,536 Canadian establishments have one to four employees, so nothing about the field is closed. The cut is that the advice is not sold, it is given away to move product. Nutrien calls itself the largest global agriculture retailer and runs over 1,800 retail locations with over 4,200 crop consultants behind them; 'services and other' — product application, soil and leaf testing, crop scouting and precision agriculture — was 5% of its US$17,620M of 2025 Retail sales, the same 5% as the year before [A]. The other 89% is crop nutrients, crop protection and seed, with merchandise and financing making up the remainder. An entrant charging for agronomy is quoting against a rival who performs the same agronomy at cost because it earns on the chemical. Per-acre pricing then meets the second problem: there is one buying moment a year, fixed by the crop cycle, and the customer's ability to pay follows a commodity price neither party sets.
Agronomy and application services are delivered to fields by people and machines that must drive there inside a short application window, so the service area is regional even though the crop price that funds it is global.
Sectors joined: AgriTech · Agritech · AgriTech/AI · Agritech Hardware · Vertical Farming · Logistics/Agritech
[UNVERIFIED] Sector-to-NAICS mapping is analyst judgment — see data/angel-sector-map.json. Counts are a per-record cross-reference and are not additive across records.
Who you would be competing with
The operators already at scale here, and whoever is buying these businesses. In most of these industries the competition an entrant meets is local, so this is who sets the terms rather than a list of everyone in the trade.
Financials & market size — sourced
Figures that came from a filing, a results release or reputable reporting, each carrying its evidence tier.
Market size, derived
Built from the competitor set upward rather than quoted from a forecast. Published TAMs in these categories are frequently reverse-engineered from each other, so any published figure is checked against the vendor arithmetic rather than trusted on its own.
Disclosed revenue from 1 of 3 named vendors. The market is at least this large.
No vendor has both a disclosed revenue and a published share.
Only a revenue floor is known — the true market is larger by whatever the undisclosed vendors earn.
Competitor set · 3 named · 1 disclose revenue
| Name | Revenue | Share | Note |
|---|---|---|---|
| NutrienTSX/NYSE: NTRA | $17.6B | — | 2025 Retail segment sales, US$ |
| Agricultural co-operatives and other major agriculture retailersC | not disclosed | — | The category Nutrien's own AIF names as its principal competition. Canadian examples were not verified for this record |
| Independent agronomists and custom applicatorsA | not disclosed | — | 969 of 1,536 Canadian establishments have 1–4 employees (Statistics Canada, December 2023) — this is the competitive structure of the industry |
Evidence
Evidence. Nutrien's Retail sales, adjusted EBITDA and gross margin were read in its full-year 2025 results release [A]; the retail location count, the crop-consultant count, the vehicle count and the product mix that puts services at 5% of Retail sales were read in Nutrien's Annual Information Form for the year ended 31 December 2025 [A], in a PDF copy hosted at minedocs.com rather than fetched from SEDAR+ — the text is the filing's own, but the retrieval path is worth knowing. Nutrien is a global retailer, so its mix describes the economics of agronomy-as-a-service, not the Canadian market's size. Not sourced: any Canadian agronomy service price, any per-acre rate card, and any transaction price for an independent agronomy or custom-application business. The Canadian competitor names in the vertical block are UNVERIFIED — Nutrien's own filing names its principal competitors only as categories, and the specific co-operatives and grain-handler retail networks were not checked for this record. The cut factor is analyst judgment.
Where the industry talks
The associations, forums and events where people in this trade actually talk shop — where to listen before entering, and where the first customers are found. Each link was opened on the date shown.
National body for ag retailers and their agronomy staff; no member count published; CAAR Connect Convention 2026.
'1,400+ members' (certified crop advisers in Western Canada) per its homepage; program run under the American Society of Agronomy.
'650+ members in Ontario' (certified crop advisers) per its homepage.
US ag-retail trade body; no member count on site; runs an annual Conference & Expo.
Farmer-run discussion board with a Precision Talk section; blocked automated access (HTTP 403). Search results show live threads.
Outdoor farm show near Saskatoon; 20–22 Jul 2027; 'over 550 exhibitors' per site; no attendee figure.
Ontario crop-input, grain-elevator and feed businesses; no member count on site.
The agronomists are in the CCA boards; the retailers who employ them are in CAAR and OABA; farmers themselves talk on AgTalk.
Software serving this industry
Vertical software markets filed along the same branch of NAICS — who sells to these businesses, and who an entrant would have to displace.