Building Finishing Contracting
The industry — Building finishing contractors
Base industry report for 2383 →- Establishments · CanadaA
- 26,183
- Under 10 employeesA
- 88%
- Establishments · USA
- 127,033
- Employment · USA
- 847,233
- Payroll · USA
- $49.1B
Of 26,183 Canadian establishments with employees, 88% have fewer than ten — an industry of very small operators.
Entry signal — what decides who wins here
Execution decidesThe hurdles here are ones a better operator clears. That is not a promise of success — it is the absence of a structural reason you cannot win.
Find something that compounds. Entry is achievable and so is the first customer; what is missing is a reason the next entrant cannot repeat it as easily as you did.
Measured, not forecast: the share of US establishments opening in one year that were still active later. It counts good operators and bad ones together, which is exactly why it is the honest answer to “what are the odds”. It is for the whole sector rather than this market, and the ten-year figure comes from an older cohort because no younger one has reached ten years.
This is not a probability of success, and it is not a verdict on you. No survival probability is published per market, and inventing one would be worse than saying so. What the bar reads is how much of the outcome sits inside an operator's control: green means the hurdles are ones a better operator clears, red means the binding constraint is capital, an asset or a permission rather than execution. Someone arriving with an advantage this screen did not assume can win a market shown in red.
Companies named in this market · 2
The binding constraint — defensibility
Drywall, painting, flooring and tiling are the trades with the lowest entry cost in construction, which is exactly the problem: a crew and a truck is the whole barrier, so pricing is competitive to the point of being cyclical labour arbitrage. The general contractor holds the relationship and re-tenders it. Scale helps only through the ability to staff several sites at once, which is a recruiting business rather than a trade one.
Crews travel to sites daily and are unproductive while driving, so the market is the radius a crew can reach before the shift starts. Sized by billable crew-days inside that radius.
US$2,970.8M of 2025 net revenues divided by approximately 250 branches. An IBP branch carries insulation plus complementary products and buys at national scale, so an independent single-trade crew should expect a small fraction of it; the figure is the ceiling of what one local operation can be worth, not a target.
Who you would be competing with
The operators already at scale here, and whoever is buying these businesses. In most of these industries the competition an entrant meets is local, so this is who sets the terms rather than a list of everyone in the trade.
Financials & market size — sourced
Figures that came from a filing, a results release or reputable reporting, each carrying its evidence tier.
Market size, derived
Built from the competitor set upward rather than quoted from a forecast. Published TAMs in these categories are frequently reverse-engineered from each other, so any published figure is checked against the vendor arithmetic rather than trusted on its own.
Disclosed revenue from 1 of 4 named vendors. The market is at least this large.
No vendor has both a disclosed revenue and a published share.
Only a revenue floor is known — the true market is larger by whatever the undisclosed vendors earn.
Competitor set · 4 named · 1 disclose revenue
| Name | Revenue | Share | Note |
|---|---|---|---|
| Independent finishing crewsA | not disclosed | — | 26,183 Canadian establishments, 70% of them with fewer than five employees; Ontario 9,305, Quebec 5,216, British Columbia 5,147 (Statistics Canada, December 2023). This is the competitive structure, not a long tail behind a leader. |
| Installed Building ProductsNYSE: IBPA | $3.0B | — | 2025 net revenues, up 1.0% |
| TopBuildC | not disclosed | — | The other listed US installer of insulation and building products; not researched for this record. |
| The general contractorUNVERIFIED | not disclosed | — | Not a competitor for the work but the holder of the relationship: it buys the trade and re-tenders it. No re-tender frequency or margin series was sourced. |
Evidence
Evidence. Installed Building Products' 2025 net revenues, gross profit, branch count, acquisition spending, the expected annual revenue of the businesses it bought, its 2026 acquisition target and its commercial same-branch growth were read in its 2025 Form 10-K [A]. The business counts and size bands are Statistics Canada and US Census figures [A]. What these do not establish: IBP is a US installer weighted to insulation and complementary products, not a Canadian drywall, painting, flooring or tiling contractor, and the near-one-times-revenue acquisition price is arithmetic across two of its disclosures — the US$51.5M also covers four bolt-on deals whose revenue is excluded from the US$53.3M, so it is a ceiling on the multiple rather than a measurement of one. No Canadian transaction price, trade wage series or general-contractor tender record was obtained, and the claim that the general contractor re-tenders the relationship is analyst judgment, as is the cut factor. The carried-over figure stating that no national addressable number applies is a statement about the market's shape, not a measurement.
Where the industry talks
The associations, forums and events where people in this trade actually talk shop — where to listen before entering, and where the first customers are found. Each link was opened on the date shown.
National tile and stone contractors' association; sets installation specifications
Flooring installers and contractors, with members listed by province
Blocked automated access (403); search shows the BUILD27 convention set for April 12-15, 2027
Formerly PDCA; pdca.org redirects here. Runs the PCA EXPO and APC Magazine
Blocked automated access; search shows the professional painting contractors' forum, about 43,000 members
The main tile and stone show; April 6-9, 2027 in Orlando