Tool, Die and Industrial Mould Shop
The industry — Metalworking machinery manufacturing
Base industry report for 3335 →- Establishments · CanadaA
- 960
- Under 10 employeesA
- 56%
- Establishments · USA
- 5,898
- Employment · USA
- 136,227
- Payroll · USA
- $9.2B
Of 960 Canadian establishments with employees, 56% have fewer than ten — mostly small operators.
Entry signal — what decides who wins here
Structure decidesThe binding constraint is not executional. Being better than the incumbent does not, by itself, get you in — this one is cleared with capital, an asset, or a permission.
Come with the asset, or buy the business that owns it. Plant, fleet, land or quota decide this market before any operating skill does. Operators here are bought, not started.
Measured, not forecast: the share of US establishments opening in one year that were still active later. It counts good operators and bad ones together, which is exactly why it is the honest answer to “what are the odds”. It is for the whole sector rather than this market, and the ten-year figure comes from an older cohort because no younger one has reached ten years.
This is not a probability of success, and it is not a verdict on you. No survival probability is published per market, and inventing one would be worse than saying so. What the bar reads is how much of the outcome sits inside an operator's control: green means the hurdles are ones a better operator clears, red means the binding constraint is capital, an asset or a permission rather than execution. Someone arriving with an advantage this screen did not assume can win a market shown in red.
Companies named in this market · 4
The binding constraint — capital intensity
This group is not really machine-tool building in Canada; it is the Ontario tool, die and mould trade. Ontario holds 652 of 960 establishments — 68% — and the shape is small: 538 shops have fewer than ten people, none has five hundred. That makes it look enterable, and at the bench it is: a good mouldmaker with a five-axis mill and an EDM can open a shop. The cut is that the shop's capital is fixed and its work is not. A mould or die is ordered once per vehicle or product programme, so demand arrives with the customer's launch calendar and leaves with it. Exco Technologies (TSX: XTC), whose Casting and Extrusion segment makes die-cast moulds and extrusion dies at plants in Canada and abroad, is the listed window on this. In its quarter to September 2025 the segment's sales fell 5% to C$72.7M and its pretax profit fell 29% to C$4.5M, which Exco attributed to lower volumes, higher labour cost and "under-absorbed fixed costs", with moulds soft because customers "delayed new program launches" and extended the life of existing vehicle platforms [A]. That is a diversified, multi-plant toolmaker earning about six cents on the dollar because automakers moved their dates. A single shop has the same machines to pay for and one or two customers' calendars to live by, and — the judgment here, not a sourced fact — it typically carries the steel and the machinists' wages until the customer approves the tool. Unlike the general machine shop screened at 3327, there is no repeat production to fall back on between programmes. Buying an existing shop is a study of one company's customer list. Plant software is screened separately.
Moulds and dies are heavy, revised repeatedly during tryout, and bought by die casters, moulders and stampers who want the toolmaker within a drive of the press. That is why 68% of Canadian establishments sit in Ontario beside the assembly plants and their suppliers. The work is quoted against shops in Michigan and Ohio and against imported tools, but it is won inside a corridor, not a country.
Sectors joined: Tech - Hardware · Manufacturing · Automotive IoT · IoT · Hardware · IoT Asset Tracking
[UNVERIFIED] Sector-to-NAICS mapping is analyst judgment — see data/angel-sector-map.json. Counts are a per-record cross-reference and are not additive across records.
Who you would be competing with
The operators already at scale here, and whoever is buying these businesses. In most of these industries the competition an entrant meets is local, so this is who sets the terms rather than a list of everyone in the trade.
Financials & market size — sourced
Figures that came from a filing, a results release or reputable reporting, each carrying its evidence tier.
Market size, derived
Built from the competitor set upward rather than quoted from a forecast. Published TAMs in these categories are frequently reverse-engineered from each other, so any published figure is checked against the vendor arithmetic rather than trusted on its own.
Disclosed revenue from 1 of 5 named vendors. The market is at least this large.
No vendor has both a disclosed revenue and a published share.
Only a revenue floor is known — the true market is larger by whatever the undisclosed vendors earn.
Competitor set · 5 named · 1 disclose revenue
| Name | Revenue | Share | Note |
|---|---|---|---|
| Exco TechnologiesTSX: XTCA | $615M | — | Consolidated sales for the year to 30 September 2025, C$, across both segments; Casting and Extrusion is the tooling half |
| Hillenbrand (Mold-Masters)A | not disclosed | — | Hot runners and mould components rather than mould cutting. Molding Technology Solutions earned US$99.1M of adjusted EBITDA in fiscal 2025; segment revenue was not separately stated in the release read. Taken private by Lone Star at ~US$3.8B enterprise value, February 2026 |
| Windsor Mold Group, Omega Tool, Cavalier Tool, StackTeckC | not disclosed | — | The Ontario corridor's larger private shops — the competition an entrant actually quotes against. None publishes accounts and none was researched for this record |
| Chinese, Portuguese and Korean toolmakersC | not disclosed | — | The import price that sets the ceiling on a quote. No import-value series was opened for this record, so no figure is claimed |
| The 538 sub-ten-employee Canadian shopsA | not disclosed | — | The structure of the trade, heavily weighted to Ontario. Counted by Statistics Canada (December 2023) |
Evidence
Evidence. Business counts are Statistics Canada (December 2023) and US County Business Patterns (2022). Exco's figures and quoted phrases were read from its results release for the fourth quarter and year ended 30 September 2025, on the company's own site [A]. The release gives segment figures for the quarter only; full-year segment sales and profit were not in it and are not shown. The 6% margin is arithmetic on the two quarterly figures. What they establish: a large, diversified Canadian toolmaker's profit fell six times faster than its sales in a quarter when customers deferred launches, and the company itself names fixed-cost absorption as a cause. What they do not establish: the payment terms small shops work under, or their margins — the statement that the shop finances the tool until approval is trade knowledge and analyst judgment, not a sourced figure. Machine-tool building proper, which shares the code, was not examined. The cut factor is analyst judgment. Added for the competitive field: the Hillenbrand Molding Technology Solutions adjusted EBITDA figures were read from the segment reconciliation in Hillenbrand's fiscal 2025 results release of 19 November 2025, and the US$32.00-a-share, ~US$3.8B take-private by Lone Star from its completion Form 8-K of 10 February 2026 [A]. That release gives MTS revenue only as a percentage movement, so no MTS revenue figure is stated. Mold-Masters makes hot runners and mould components, not moulds — it is named as the capitalised tier adjacent to this trade, not as a competitor for the same order. Windsor Mold Group, Omega Tool, Cavalier Tool and StackTeck are named without figures; none was researched, and no import-value series was opened. That no roll-up of Canadian mould shops was found is an absence, not a measurement.
Where the industry talks
The associations, forums and events where people in this trade actually talk shop — where to listen before entering, and where the first customers are found. Each link was opened on the date shown.
Windsor, Ontario; camm.ca redirects here. Members are mould shops, service providers and suppliers.
Members-only forum, apprenticeship programs and an AGM; news posts dated September 2026.
Chapters, benchmarking surveys and the One Voice advocacy program.
Mould builders specifically; blocked automated access (Cloudflare challenge).
Long-running machinist and shop-owner forum; blocked automated access (Cloudflare challenge).
Chicago, every two years; site states IMTS 2026 drew over 90,000 attendees and more than 1,700 exhibitors.
Software serving this industry
Vertical software markets filed along the same branch of NAICS — who sells to these businesses, and who an entrant would have to displace.