Operating business50% entry signalMarket screen7 sourced figuresOne thing must be trueincumbent vulnerability

Independent Appliance & Furniture Retail

SoftwareTypically runs on Retail point of sale, delivery and special-order management. · no software market screened here yet — the industry page
Prepared 2026-09-09

The industry — Furniture, home furnishings, electronics and appliances retailers

Base industry report for 449 →
Establishments · CanadaA
11,443
with employees
Under 10 employeesA
73%
most common size: 1–4

Of 11,443 Canadian establishments with employees, 73% have fewer than ten — mostly small operators.

Entry signal — what decides who wins here

One thing must be true
Structure decides One thing must be true Execution decides

Entry turns on a single condition that can be named and tested before much is spent. Clear it and this becomes an execution question; fail it and no amount of operating skill helps.

What you would have to beat

Displace an incumbent the screen found well defended — payments attached to the workflow, data that does not leave, a contract that renews itself. Share here means giving a buyer a reason to break something that currently works, which is a higher bar than being better.

How it was read
Binding constraintUNVERIFIEDincumbent vulnerability — Executional — a better operator can move it.
How fragmented the field isA73% of establishments have fewer than ten employees — Fragmented — there is share to take and no scale operator to displace.
What it costs to be in the businessUNVERIFIEDmedium capital — The structural profile of subsector 449, inherited by every industry beneath it.
How many new establishments are still tradingA
Retail Trade, US · opened 2020
88%
1 year
72.3%
3 years
59.8%
5 years
44.2%
10 years
opened 2015

Measured, not forecast: the share of US establishments opening in one year that were still active later. It counts good operators and bad ones together, which is exactly why it is the honest answer to “what are the odds”. It is for the whole sector rather than this market, and the ten-year figure comes from an older cohort because no younger one has reached ten years.

This is not a probability of success, and it is not a verdict on you. No survival probability is published per market, and inventing one would be worse than saying so. What the bar reads is how much of the outcome sits inside an operator's control: green means the hurdles are ones a better operator clears, red means the binding constraint is capital, an asset or a permission rather than execution. Someone arriving with an advantage this screen did not assume can win a market shown in red.

Companies named in this market · 9

The binding constraint — incumbent vulnerability

The showroom has become a fitting room for a purchase completed online, and the national chains and manufacturers price directly against the independent while carrying the delivery and warranty infrastructure a single store cannot. Inventory is bulky, financed and slow-turning. The defensible version is installation and service on appliances someone else sold — a trade business, not a retail one.

Market scalelocalunit: one showroom and its delivery area

The showroom draws locally and the delivery truck defines the rest. National furniture spend is real and irrelevant to a single store competing with an online price on the customer's phone. Sized by the trade area.

Canadian establishments with employeesA 11,443 (Statistics Canada, December 2023); Ontario 4,590, Quebec 2,581, British Columbia 1,818, Alberta 1,181
Size-band shape of the Canadian countA 8,317 (73%) employ fewer than 10; 138 employ 100 or more; 3 employ 500 or more (Statistics Canada, December 2023)
Group retail sales, Canada, 2025A $42.61B, up 0.2% on 2024 but 3.6% below the 2022 peak of $44.22B. Against 2019 the group is up 13.7% while all Canadian retail is up 30.3% (Statistics Canada 20-10-0056-01, unadjusted)
Group sales, first half of 2026A $18.60B against $19.91B a year earlier — down 6.6%. These months carry Statistics Canada quality flags of “very good” or “good” rather than “excellent” and will be revised
Leon’s Furniture (LFL Group) revenue, 2025A $2,573.7M, up 3.0%, across 300 Leon’s and Brick stores, at a 45.04% gross margin
Best Buy International (Canada) revenue, fiscal 2026A US$3,413M, up 3.7%, across 142 stores; adjusted operating income 3.4% of revenue
National addressable figureUNVERIFIED Not stated — a showroom sells inside its own delivery area, and the national total above sizes the incumbents an entrant meets there rather than a market it could address
Group retail sales per establishment~$3.83M a yearB

$43.82B of 2023 group sales (Statistics Canada 20-10-0056-01) divided by the 11,443 establishments with employees counted in December 2023 (33-10-0806-01) — both 2023, so the two sides align. Sales by retailers without employees sit in the numerator but not the denominator, so this overstates the average employer store somewhat; and the average is pulled up hard by the chains, since Leon’s 300 stores and Best Buy’s 142 sit inside the same count.

I

Who you would be competing with

The operators already at scale here, and whoever is buying these businesses. In most of these industries the competition an entrant meets is local, so this is who sets the terms rather than a list of everyone in the trade.

Largest operator
No single firm — Leon’s Furniture Limited (TSX: LNF) leads the furniture half and Best Buy Canada the electronics and appliance half, over an independent majority that is 73% of the establishment count
Scale
LFL Group — Leon’s and The Brick, 300 stores — took $2,573.7M in 2025, up 3.0%, at a 45.04% gross margin. Best Buy’s International segment, which its filings state is comprised of all its operations in Canada and nothing else, took US$3,413M in fiscal 2026 across 142 stores. Converted at the Bank of Canada’s 2025 average of 1.3978, the two together are roughly a sixth of the $42.61B Canadians spent in this group in 2025.
Concentration
Not published. LFL’s $2,573.7M is 6.0% of the group’s 2025 sales on its own. The organised independent channel is smaller than one chain: Mega Group, the member-owned buying co-operative, reports 744 members and 940+ storefronts behind $2.5B+ of retail sales a year — its own figure, not an audited one.
Others in the field
IKEA Canada, Sleep Country (Fairfax), Structube, Ashley HomeStore licensees, Wayfair and Amazon.ca, Costco, Walmart Canada, Canadian Tire, regional appliance specialists, and the 8,317 establishments in this group that employ fewer than ten people
Lock-in mechanism
Not assessed — screened before diligence
Price movement
Group sales were $44.22B in 2022 and $42.61B in 2025 — a 3.6% nominal fall over three years while all Canadian retail grew 8.5%. The first half of 2026 ran 6.6% below the first half of 2025.
Is the buyer consolidating?
Yes — Fairfax Financial took Sleep Country private in 2024 for US$881M. Below that level there is no consolidator buying single stores; the independents’ answer is a buying co-operative — Mega Group, 744 members — which buys purchasing scale without buying the business.
F

Financials & market size — sourced

Figures that came from a filing, a results release or reputable reporting, each carrying its evidence tier.

Group retail sales, Canada, 2025A $42.61B, up 0.2% on 2024 and 3.6% below the 2022 peak of $44.22B (Statistics Canada 20-10-0056-01, unadjusted)
Group sales, first half of 2026A $18.60B against $19.91B — down 6.6%. Statistics Canada rates several of these months “very good” or “good” rather than “excellent”; they will be revised
Share of all Canadian retail salesB 6.19% in 2017, 5.79% in 2019, 5.05% in 2025 — group sales divided by total retail sales in the same table
Leon’s Furniture (LFL Group) revenue, 2025A $2,573.7M, up 3.0%; system-wide sales $3,088.9M; 300 stores; gross margin 45.04%
Best Buy International (Canada) revenue, fiscal 2026A US$3,413M, up 3.7%; comparable sales up 2.3%; 142 stores; gross profit 21.6% of revenue, adjusted operating income 3.4%
Sleep Country take-private by Fairfax, 2024A US$881M for 100% of the equity at Cdn$35.00 a share; more than 300 locations; closed 1 October 2024
Mega Group, the independents’ buying co-operativeC 744 participating members, 940+ supported storefronts, $2.5B+ in member retail sales annually — the co-operative’s own published figures
$

Market size, derived

Built from the competitor set upward rather than quoted from a forecast. Published TAMs in these categories are frequently reverse-engineered from each other, so any published figure is checked against the vendor arithmetic rather than trusted on its own.

Revenue floor
$2.6B

Disclosed revenue from 1 of 6 named vendors. The market is at least this large.

Implied total — revenue ÷ share
—

No vendor has both a disclosed revenue and a published share.

Published forecast
—Floor only

Only a revenue floor is known — the true market is larger by whatever the undisclosed vendors earn.

Competitor set · 6 named · 1 disclose revenue

NameRevenueShareNote
Leon’s Furniture LimitedTSX: LNFA $2.6B — 2025 revenue (Leon’s and The Brick, 300 stores); system-wide sales $3,088.9M
Best Buy CanadaNYSE: BBYA not disclosed — Best Buy’s International segment is Canada and nothing else: US$3,413M in fiscal 2026 across 142 stores. Reported in US dollars, so it is deliberately not added to a Canadian-dollar total here.
Sleep Country CanadaA not disclosed — Taken private by Fairfax Financial on 1 October 2024 for US$881M; more than 300 locations. Publishes nothing since.
Mega Group Inc.C not disclosed — Member-owned buying co-operative, Saskatoon, trading since 1965: 744 members, 940+ storefronts, $2.5B+ of member retail sales annually. Self-reported; not audited.
IKEA Canada / Structube / Wayfair / Costco / Amazon.caC not disclosed — Named because an entrant meets them in every catchment. None publishes a Canadian figure for this group, and none was researched for this record.
The independent single-site majorityA not disclosed — 8,317 of the 11,443 Canadian establishments with employees in this group — 73% — employ fewer than ten people (Statistics Canada, December 2023). No revenue is published for any of them, and that tier is the competitive structure an entrant actually joins.

Evidence

Evidence. Group sales, the 2022 peak, the share of total retail and the first-half 2026 comparison are read from Statistics Canada table 20-10-0056-01 (Monthly retail trade sales by province and territory, Canada, unadjusted, NAICS 2022), downloaded whole and summed by calendar year [A]; the 2026 months carry lower quality flags than the completed years and will be revised. Establishment counts and size bands are Statistics Canada 33-10-0806-01, December 2023 [A]; the US counts did not join for this group. The Best Buy International figures are read from Best Buy Co.’s Form 10-K for the fiscal year ended 31 January 2026, whose segment note states the International segment is comprised of all its operations in Canada [A]. The Leon’s and Sleep Country figures are carried across from the sibling record 4491, where they were read at source in LFL’s fourth-quarter 2025 release and Fairfax’s 2024 annual report [A]; LFL’s own investor site refused an automated request on this pass, so nothing new was taken from it. Mega Group’s member, storefront and sales figures are the co-operative’s own published claims and are tiered C. What this establishes: the group has not grown in nominal terms since 2022 and is losing share of Canadian retail, while the two largest operators are profitable and still opening stores. What it does not: any independent retailer’s margin, landed cost or delivery cost, none of which is published anywhere found. The cut factor, and the claim that a single showroom cannot match the chains’ cost stack, remain analyst judgment.

#

Where the industry talks

The associations, forums and events where people in this trade actually talk shop — where to listen before entering, and where the first customers are found. Each link was opened on the date shown.

AssociationNorth AmericaA
Home Furnishings Association (HFA)
myhfa.org

Trade association for home-furnishings retailers (legally North American Home Furnishings Association); webinars, events at High Point and Las Vegas markets; no member count stated

Checked 2026-09-22
AssociationNorth AmericaA
United Appliance Servicers Association (UASA)
unitedservicers.com

Non-profit association for independent appliance repair businesses; runs the Annual Service Training Institute (ASTI), next Feb 8-11, 2027, San Diego; no member count stated

Checked 2026-09-22
ForumNorth AmericaA
Appliantology
appliantology.org

Appliance-repair forum with separate professional-tech and DIY sections; tech forum shows 413.3k posts, new posts within the hour when checked; no member count stated

Checked 2026-09-22
PublicationCanadaA
Home Goods Online
homegoodsonline.ca

Canadian trade news for furniture, appliance and mattress retailers and suppliers; twice-monthly e-news; articles dated Sep 15, 2026

Checked 2026-09-22
PublicationUSA
The Retail Observer
retailobserver.com

Monthly magazine for independent appliance, electronics and furniture dealers; September 2026 issue (RO283) is current

Checked 2026-09-22
EventNorth AmericaA
High Point Market
highpointmarket.org

Largest home-furnishings trade show, twice yearly in High Point, NC; next Oct 17-21, 2026; site cites 11.5M sq ft of showrooms, no attendance figure

Checked 2026-09-22

Canada has no independent-dealer association for this trade; independents organise through buying groups (BrandSource Canada, Mega Group), which are not listed as communities. canadianfurnitureshow.com now redirects to an unrelated content site and is dropped.

↔

Software serving this industry

Vertical software markets filed along the same branch of NAICS — who sells to these businesses, and who an entrant would have to displace.

No vertical software market has been recorded along this branch yet. The base industry report says what the subsector typically runs on.

Other records in this industry

Operating businessScreenedfiled at 4491
Furniture & Mattress ShowroomOne thing must be true
binding constraint: incumbent vulnerability

The pre-screen called furniture retail 'structurally squeezed'. The filings say otherwise, and that is the problem. Leon's Furniture — Leon's, The Brick and 300 stores — reported 2025 revenue of $2,573.7M, up 3.0%, same-store sales up 3.0%, furniture up 6.3%, and a gross margin of 45.04%, 65 basis points better than the year before, with net income of $157.0M [A]. In 2024 Fairfax took Sleep Country private at Cdn$35.00 a share, US$881M for the equity of a chain of more than 300 locations [A], a business the buyer describes as holding about 40% of the Canadian market [B]. Neither incumbent is in retreat. The existing 449 record argues the showroom has become a fitting room for an online sale; this record adds that the Canadian chains are profitable, growing in furniture and freshly capitalised — they are not the soft target that story implies. An entrant reaches a 45% gross margin only if it lands product at comparable cost, which means joining a buying group, and then carries the same fixed stack — showroom, warehouse, two-man delivery — across one store instead of three hundred. The incumbents also sell credit, warranties and insurance on top of the sofa, which a single store can only broker. Where Leon's itself is shrinking — mattresses and electronics, down mid-single digits [A] — is no opening either: that is the ground the specialist mattress chain and the online bedding brands already hold. Floor covering and window treatment retail (449121, 449122) is installation-led, closer to a trade than a shop, and was not examined here.

NAICS 44916 vendors named12 sourced figuresOpen →
Operating businessScreenedfiled at 4492
Consumer Electronics & Appliance StoreExecution decides
binding constraint: defensibility

The pre-screen says electronics retail 'has largely moved online'. Best Buy Canada says something more exact. The International segment of Best Buy — which is Canada and nothing else, 142 stores — took US$3,413M of revenue in fiscal 2026, up 3.7%, with comparable sales up 2.3% [A]. So the store-based format has not disappeared. What it earns is the finding: a gross margin of 21.6% and an adjusted operating margin of 3.4% [A], at national scale, with vendor funding, its own distribution centres and a services arm. Computing and mobile phones were 49% of the mix; services were 6% [A]. An independent selling the same televisions, laptops and phones buys them for more than Best Buy does, sells them at the price on the customer's screen, and starts from a gross margin below 21.6% with nothing beneath it. Nothing on the shelf is unavailable elsewhere at the same price the same day — that is the cut, and it holds even if rent and capital were free. Appliances, where independents have traditionally held on through delivery and installation, fell 5.1% on a comparable basis at Best Buy Canada [A], and the existing 449 record already makes the point that the defensible version of that business is installation and service, which is a trade, not retail. Where the 78% of Canadian establishments with fewer than ten staff actually earn a living — phone repair kiosks, carrier dealerships, custom audio-video installation — was not examined; those are different propositions wearing this code.

NAICS 44926 vendors named13 sourced figuresOpen →