Furniture & Mattress Showroom
The industry — Furniture, floor covering, window treatment and other home furnishings retailers
Base industry report for 4491 →- Establishments · CanadaA
- 7,076
- Under 10 employeesA
- 69%
Of 7,076 Canadian establishments with employees, 69% have fewer than ten — mostly small operators.
Entry signal — what decides who wins here
One thing must be trueEntry turns on a single condition that can be named and tested before much is spent. Clear it and this becomes an execution question; fail it and no amount of operating skill helps.
Displace an incumbent the screen found well defended — payments attached to the workflow, data that does not leave, a contract that renews itself. Share here means giving a buyer a reason to break something that currently works, which is a higher bar than being better.
Measured, not forecast: the share of US establishments opening in one year that were still active later. It counts good operators and bad ones together, which is exactly why it is the honest answer to “what are the odds”. It is for the whole sector rather than this market, and the ten-year figure comes from an older cohort because no younger one has reached ten years.
This is not a probability of success, and it is not a verdict on you. No survival probability is published per market, and inventing one would be worse than saying so. What the bar reads is how much of the outcome sits inside an operator's control: green means the hurdles are ones a better operator clears, red means the binding constraint is capital, an asset or a permission rather than execution. Someone arriving with an advantage this screen did not assume can win a market shown in red.
Companies named in this market · 8
The binding constraint — incumbent vulnerability
The pre-screen called furniture retail 'structurally squeezed'. The filings say otherwise, and that is the problem. Leon's Furniture — Leon's, The Brick and 300 stores — reported 2025 revenue of $2,573.7M, up 3.0%, same-store sales up 3.0%, furniture up 6.3%, and a gross margin of 45.04%, 65 basis points better than the year before, with net income of $157.0M [A]. In 2024 Fairfax took Sleep Country private at Cdn$35.00 a share, US$881M for the equity of a chain of more than 300 locations [A], a business the buyer describes as holding about 40% of the Canadian market [B]. Neither incumbent is in retreat. The existing 449 record argues the showroom has become a fitting room for an online sale; this record adds that the Canadian chains are profitable, growing in furniture and freshly capitalised — they are not the soft target that story implies. An entrant reaches a 45% gross margin only if it lands product at comparable cost, which means joining a buying group, and then carries the same fixed stack — showroom, warehouse, two-man delivery — across one store instead of three hundred. The incumbents also sell credit, warranties and insurance on top of the sofa, which a single store can only broker. Where Leon's itself is shrinking — mattresses and electronics, down mid-single digits [A] — is no opening either: that is the ground the specialist mattress chain and the online bedding brands already hold. Floor covering and window treatment retail (449121, 449122) is installation-led, closer to a trade than a shop, and was not examined here.
Furniture is bought within a drive of home and delivered by the retailer's own truck, so a store competes inside its delivery area — against the local Leon's or Brick, the nearest Sleep Country, and a phone in the customer's hand. The national figures below size the incumbents an entrant meets in that area; they are not an addressable market.
Who you would be competing with
The operators already at scale here, and whoever is buying these businesses. In most of these industries the competition an entrant meets is local, so this is who sets the terms rather than a list of everyone in the trade.
Financials & market size — sourced
Figures that came from a filing, a results release or reputable reporting, each carrying its evidence tier.
Market size, derived
Built from the competitor set upward rather than quoted from a forecast. Published TAMs in these categories are frequently reverse-engineered from each other, so any published figure is checked against the vendor arithmetic rather than trusted on its own.
Disclosed revenue from 1 of 6 named vendors. The market is at least this large.
No vendor has both a disclosed revenue and a published share.
Only a revenue floor is known — the true market is larger by whatever the undisclosed vendors earn.
Competitor set · 6 named · 1 disclose revenue
| Name | Revenue | Share | Note |
|---|---|---|---|
| Leon’s Furniture LimitedTSX: LNFA | $2.6B | — | 2025 revenue across Leon’s and The Brick, 300 stores; system-wide sales $3,088.9M |
| Sleep Country CanadaA | not disclosed | — | Taken private by Fairfax Financial on 1 October 2024 for US$881M at Cdn$35.00 a share; more than 300 locations; its buyer puts it at about 40% of the Canadian mattress market. Publishes nothing since. |
| Mega Group Inc.C | not disclosed | — | Member-owned buying co-operative, Saskatoon, trading since 1965: 744 participating members, 940+ supported storefronts, $2.5B+ of member retail sales annually, and dealing with 440+ vendors. Self-reported figures; not audited. |
| Cantrex Nationwide GroupC | not disclosed | — | Montreal-based buying, marketing and business-support group for independent appliance, furniture, bedding, home decor, consumer electronics and floor-covering retailers, with regional managers in Atlantic Canada, Quebec, Ontario, Central Canada, Alberta and British Columbia; affiliated with the US Nationwide Marketing Group and its PrimeTime buying show. Publishes no member count or volume. |
| IKEA Canada / Structube / Ashley HomeStore / WayfairC | not disclosed | — | Named because an entrant meets them in every catchment. None publishes a Canadian figure for this group and none was researched for this record. |
| The independent single-site majorityA | not disclosed | — | 4,896 of the 7,076 Canadian establishments with employees in this group — 69% — employ fewer than ten people (Statistics Canada, December 2023). None publishes anything, and that tier is the competitive structure an entrant actually joins. |
Evidence
Evidence. LFL's figures are read from its own fourth-quarter 2025 release of 25 February 2026, including the note that the year's net income contains a one-time CURO gain the company normalises out [A]. The Sleep Country price per share, the US$881M paid for the equity, the location count and the 1 October 2024 closing are read from Fairfax's 2024 annual report [A]; the 40% market-share characterisation in the same letter is the acquirer's own and is tiered B. The 22 July 2024 arrangement announcement would not open to an automated request, so the enterprise value and premium reported at announcement are not carried here. Counts are Statistics Canada [A]; the US figures did not join for this group. What the filings establish: the two largest Canadian incumbents are profitable and one was bought outright. What they do not establish: an independent showroom's margin, its landed cost through a buying group, or its delivery cost per order — none of which is disclosed anywhere that was found. The inference that an entrant cannot match the chains' cost stack is analyst judgment, as is the cut factor. Floor covering, window treatment and framing retailers inside this group were not screened. Added in the completion pass: group retail sales for 2017–2026 are read from Statistics Canada table 20-10-0056-01 (Monthly retail trade sales by province and territory, Canada, unadjusted, NAICS 2022), downloaded whole and summed by calendar year [A] — the 2026 months carry lower quality flags and will be revised. Mega Group’s and Cantrex Nationwide’s member, storefront and volume descriptions are those organisations’ own published claims, read on their own sites, and are tiered C; neither publishes an audited figure. The share arithmetic against LFL is stated as a ratio of two sourced numbers and flagged as an overstatement, because LFL sells across two NAICS groups and does not publish a split.
Where the industry talks
The associations, forums and events where people in this trade actually talk shop — where to listen before entering, and where the first customers are found. Each link was opened on the date shown.
Trade association for home-furnishings retailers; webinars, Pillar Awards, events at High Point and Las Vegas markets; no member count stated
Mattress-industry association (mainly manufacturers and suppliers); runs ISPA EXPO, next Mar 21-23, 2028, New Orleans; no member count stated
Canadian trade news for furniture, appliance and mattress retailers and suppliers; twice-monthly e-news; articles dated Sep 15, 2026
BridgeTower Media trade paper for furniture retailers and manufacturers; articles dated Sep 22, 2026
ISPA's business journal for the sleep-products industry; articles dated Sep 21, 2026
Largest home-furnishings trade show, twice yearly in High Point, NC; next Oct 17-21, 2026; site cites 11.5M sq ft of showrooms, no attendance figure
Twice-yearly furniture, mattress and home decor market run by Andmore in Las Vegas
The Canadian Furniture Show's domain (canadianfurnitureshow.com) now redirects to an unrelated content site, so no Canadian trade show is listed. Sleep Retailer's site showed no posts newer than 2024 and is left off.
Software serving this industry
Vertical software markets filed along the same branch of NAICS — who sells to these businesses, and who an entrant would have to displace.
No vertical software market has been recorded along this branch yet. The base industry report says what the subsector typically runs on.