Operating business44% entry signalMarket screen5 sourced figuresOne thing must be truegrowth quality

Self-Storage Development & Acquisition

Prepared 2026-09-09

The industry — Self-storage mini-warehouses

Base industry report for 531130 →
Establishments · CanadaA
556
with employees
Under 10 employeesA
92%
most common size: 1–4

Of 556 Canadian establishments with employees, 92% have fewer than ten — an industry of very small operators.

Entry signal — what decides who wins here

One thing must be true
Structure decides One thing must be true Execution decides

Entry turns on a single condition that can be named and tested before much is spent. Clear it and this becomes an execution question; fail it and no amount of operating skill helps.

What you would have to beat

Take share rather than ride the market. Demand is flat, seasonal or policy-driven, so growth has to come out of a competitor. That is possible and it is slower, and it rewards an operator who can wait.

How it was read
Binding constraintUNVERIFIEDgrowth quality — Market shape — being better does not, by itself, clear it.
How fragmented the field isA92% of establishments have fewer than ten employees — Fragmented — there is share to take and no scale operator to displace.
What it costs to be in the businessUNVERIFIEDhigh capital — The structural profile of subsector 531, inherited by every industry beneath it.
How many new establishments are still tradingA
Real Estate and Rental and Leasing, US · opened 2020
88.7%
1 year
70.3%
3 years
57.9%
5 years
45%
10 years
opened 2015

Measured, not forecast: the share of US establishments opening in one year that were still active later. It counts good operators and bad ones together, which is exactly why it is the honest answer to “what are the odds”. It is for the whole sector rather than this market, and the ten-year figure comes from an older cohort because no younger one has reached ten years.

This is not a probability of success, and it is not a verdict on you. No survival probability is published per market, and inventing one would be worse than saying so. What the bar reads is how much of the outcome sits inside an operator's control: green means the hurdles are ones a better operator clears, red means the binding constraint is capital, an asset or a permission rather than execution. Someone arriving with an advantage this screen did not assume can win a market shown in red.

Companies named in this market · 4

The binding constraint — growth quality

The asset class has stopped compounding organically at the top, which is the number a new entrant should look at before a cap rate. Public Storage's same-store revenue was flat in 2025 — $3,765M against $3,764M — and same-store NOI fell 0.5% after falling 1.7% the year before. StorageVault's headline 10% growth is acquisition-driven; its same-store line was 4.1%. Buying at pricing that still assumes rent growth, against operators with national marketing spend and revenue-management systems, means paying for compounding that is not currently happening.

Market scalenationalunit: one facility, and its rentable square feet

Demand is drawn from a three-to-five kilometre radius, but pricing, occupancy and cap rates are set nationally by REITs with revenue-management systems — so a buyer competes locally and is priced nationally.

Handle — StorageVault's store and square-foot disclosures. StorageVault publishes revenue, store count and rentable area together, which yields both a per-store and a per-square-foot benchmark for the Canadian market. Public Storage supplies the scale comparison but not a clean 2025 facility count, so no per-facility figure is derived from it.

StorageVault revenue, FY2025A C$335.1M, +10%
StorageVault same-store revenue growthA +4.1%
StorageVault locationsB 270 (237 owned), plus 5,000+ portable units
StorageVault rentable areaB 13.5M+ sq ft on 785 acres
Public Storage self-storage revenues, 2025A $4,489M, with same-store revenue flat and same-store NOI −0.5%
Revenue per store, and per square foot~C$1.24M · ~C$24.80/sq ftB

C$335.1M divided by 270 locations, and by 13.5M rentable square feet. Derived from reported figures; the square-foot number is the one that transfers between markets.

Angel-backed companies11
in the Canadian portfolio dataset
Province mixON 6, AB 4, QC 1

Sectors joined: PropTech · Real Estate Tech · Real Estate

[UNVERIFIED] Sector-to-NAICS mapping is analyst judgment — see data/angel-sector-map.json. Counts are a per-record cross-reference and are not additive across records.

I

Who you would be competing with

The operators already at scale here, and whoever is buying these businesses. In most of these industries the competition an entrant meets is local, so this is who sets the terms rather than a list of everyone in the trade.

Largest operator
Public Storage (NYSE: PSA), with StorageVault Canada (TSX: SVI) domestically
Scale
Public Storage self-storage revenues $4,489M in 2025 (from $4,396M); StorageVault FY2025 revenue $335.1M, +10%
Concentration
Not published; the REITs hold the institutional tier and the long tail is independent
Others in the field
Extra Space, CubeSmart, Life Storage (Extra Space), Access Storage (StorageVault), Sentinel, plus thousands of independent facilities
Lock-in mechanism
Not assessed — screened before diligence
Price movement
Same-store revenue flat at Public Storage in 2025; same-store NOI −0.5%
Is the buyer consolidating?
Yes
F

Financials & market size — sourced

Figures that came from a filing, a results release or reputable reporting, each carrying its evidence tier.

Public Storage self-storage revenues, 2025A $4,489M (from $4,396M in 2024)
Public Storage same-store revenues, 2025A $3,765M vs $3,764M — effectively flat
Public Storage same-store NOI, 2025A −0.5%, after −1.7% in 2024
StorageVault Canada revenue, FY2025A $335.1M, +10%
StorageVault same-store revenue growth, FY2025A +4.1%
$

Market size, derived

Built from the competitor set upward rather than quoted from a forecast. Published TAMs in these categories are frequently reverse-engineered from each other, so any published figure is checked against the vendor arithmetic rather than trusted on its own.

Revenue floor
$4.8B

Disclosed revenue from 2 of 3 named vendors. The market is at least this large.

Implied total — revenue ÷ share
—

No vendor has both a disclosed revenue and a published share.

Published forecast
—Floor only

Only a revenue floor is known — the true market is larger by whatever the undisclosed vendors earn.

Competitor set · 3 named · 2 disclose revenue

NameRevenueShareNote
Public StorageNYSE: PSAA $4.5B — 2025 self-storage revenues
StorageVault CanadaTSX: SVIA $335M — FY2025 revenue
Extra Space / CubeSmartC not disclosed — Not researched for this record

Evidence

Evidence. Operator financials and industry-structure figures on this record ARE sourced (tier A/B, see the financials block). The cut factor and reasoning remain analyst judgment and were not tested against operators.

#

Where the industry talks

The associations, forums and events where people in this trade actually talk shop — where to listen before entering, and where the first customers are found. Each link was opened on the date shown.

AssociationCanadaA
Canadian Self Storage Association (CSSA)
cssa.ca

National body for owners, developers and operators; regular membership priced per facility; runs an annual conference and a members' discussion board.

Checked 2026-09-22
AssociationUSA
Self Storage Association (SSA)
selfstorage.org

US national trade association; runs the Spring and Fall Conference & Trade Show (Las Vegas each September), state affiliates and a valuation & acquisition course.

Checked 2026-09-22
EventNorth AmericaA
ISS World Expo
issworldexpo.com

Informa's annual self-storage conference and trade show, Las Vegas; 2027 edition 30 March-2 April at Caesars Forum.

Checked 2026-09-22
PublicationNorth AmericaA
Inside Self-Storage
insideselfstorage.com

Informa trade magazine and news site; daily development, zoning and acquisition coverage (posts dated September 2026).

Checked 2026-09-22
ForumNorth AmericaC
Self-Storage Talk
selfstoragetalk.com

ISS-run operator forum (management, legal, financing, development threads); blocked automated access, but 2026 threads appear in search.

Checked 2026-09-22
PodcastUSA
Self Storage Income
selfstorageincome.com

AJ Osborne's operator and investor podcast on buying and running facilities; on Spotify, Apple and YouTube.

Checked 2026-09-22

r/selfstorage could not be reached (Reddit rate-limited every route) so it is not listed. The CSSA site does not state a member count.

↔

Software serving this industry

Vertical software markets filed along the same branch of NAICS — who sells to these businesses, and who an entrant would have to displace.

Vertical softwareScreenedsame industry
Self-Storage Management SoftwareOne thing must be true
binding constraint: incumbent vulnerability
Incumbent Storable (EQT majority; Cove Hill Partners minority)

One private-equity roll-up already owns the stack. Storable was assembled by Cove Hill Partners from 2018 — SpareFoot and SiteLink in March 2018, storEDGE in August 2018, Select Merchant Solutions in April 2019 [B] — and EQT bought a majority in a deal announced December 2020 that valued it at roughly $2B including debt [B]. It now sells three management systems (Storable Edge, Sitelink, Storable Easy), the SpareFoot marketplace, payment processing, tenant insurance (Bader, Storsmart), call-centre and auction tools, and claims more than 33,000 facilities [C, vendor]. That is the payments-and-insurance attach model the salon, fitness and pet records found: the licence is the cheap part, and the money is in card volume and tenant protection riding on every move-in. The open challenger slot has just been funded. Cubby, founded 2022, raised a $63M Series A led by Growth Equity at Goldman Sachs Alternatives in January 2026 and claims 400+ operators and 2,000+ facilities [B; counts C]. Tenant Inc. (Hummingbird) has raised about $37M, mostly from 100+ storage owners who use it [B]. Yardi sells Breeze Self Storage to small portfolios and its Self Storage Suite to large ones [B]. OpenTech Alliance owns the gate, kiosk and lien-auction layer (INSOMNIAC, StorageTreasures) [B]. A new entrant would face a $2B incumbent that owns payments and insurance, a Goldman-backed AI-native challenger, and Yardi. Nothing is disclosed here. Every vendor is private or inside a private parent, so no revenue floor can be built.

NAICS 5311307 vendors named3 sourced figuresOpen →