Operating business50% entry signalMarket screen6 sourced figuresOne thing must be trueincumbent vulnerability

Physiotherapy Clinic Acquisition

Prepared 2026-09-09

The industry — Offices of physical, occupational, and speech therapists and audiologists

Base industry report for 621340 →
Establishments · CanadaA
4,921
with employees
Under 10 employeesA
74%
most common size: 1–4
Establishments · USA
50,883
Employment · USA
464,527
9.1 per establishment
Payroll · USA
$21.9B
$47k per employee

Of 4,921 Canadian establishments with employees, 74% have fewer than ten — mostly small operators.

Entry signal — what decides who wins here

One thing must be true
Structure decides One thing must be true Execution decides

Entry turns on a single condition that can be named and tested before much is spent. Clear it and this becomes an execution question; fail it and no amount of operating skill helps.

What you would have to beat

Displace an incumbent the screen found well defended — payments attached to the workflow, data that does not leave, a contract that renews itself. Share here means giving a buyer a reason to break something that currently works, which is a higher bar than being better.

How it was read
Binding constraintUNVERIFIEDincumbent vulnerability — Executional — a better operator can move it.
How fragmented the field isA74% of establishments have fewer than ten employees — Fragmented — there is share to take and no scale operator to displace.
What it costs to be in the businessUNVERIFIEDmedium capital — The structural profile of subsector 621, inherited by every industry beneath it.
How many new establishments are still tradingA
Health Care and Social Assistance, US · opened 2020
84%
1 year
65.3%
3 years
52.6%
5 years
36.4%
10 years
opened 2015

Measured, not forecast: the share of US establishments opening in one year that were still active later. It counts good operators and bad ones together, which is exactly why it is the honest answer to “what are the odds”. It is for the whole sector rather than this market, and the ten-year figure comes from an older cohort because no younger one has reached ten years.

This is not a probability of success, and it is not a verdict on you. No survival probability is published per market, and inventing one would be worse than saying so. What the bar reads is how much of the outcome sits inside an operator's control: green means the hurdles are ones a better operator clears, red means the binding constraint is capital, an asset or a permission rather than execution. Someone arriving with an advantage this screen did not assume can win a market shown in red.

Companies named in this market · 4

The binding constraint — incumbent vulnerability

The same consolidation story as dental, one rung down in ticket size and with a worse payer mix: extended-health benefits set the reimbursement ceiling, direct billing is table stakes, and the roll-ups — Lifemark inside Loblaw, pt Health and their regional equivalents — are buying the clinics with the best referral relationships. A single clinic's value walks out with its practitioners, who own their caseloads. The practice software at this code is screened separately.

Market scalelocalunit: one clinic and its referral radius

Patients attend two or three times a week, so the clinic's market is a short drive and the referral relationships inside it. Extended-health reimbursement caps the ticket nationally, but volume is entirely local. Sized by treatment slots per week.

Handle — What a consolidator paid per clinic, against what a consolidator's clinic earns. Two sides of the same trade are on the record: Loblaw's $845M for more than 300 Canadian clinics says what a site costs, and U.S. Physical Therapy's net patient revenue over 780 clinics says what one earns in a year. A buyer's pro forma has to sit between them, on a clinic that will not have either firm's payer contracts.

Canadian establishments with employeesA 4,921 (Statistics Canada, December 2023) — 2,415 with 1–4 employees, 4,595 with fewer than 20 and 21 with 100 or more; Ontario 1,970, British Columbia 935, Quebec 770, Alberta 714
Lifemark Health Group acquisition priceA $845M cash for more than 300 Canadian clinics and over 5,000 clinicians and staff, announced 14 March 2022
U.S. Physical Therapy, FY2025A $781.0M net revenue, up 16.3%; $650.4M of it net patient revenue, from 780 clinics in 44 states and 6,150,104 visits
Select Medical outpatient rehabilitation marginA Adjusted EBITDA margin 7.0% in FY2025, after 8.7% in 2024 and 9.4% in 2023, on $1,284.9M of revenue from 1,917 clinics
US establishments, NAICS 621340A 50,883 establishments, 464,527 employees, $21.87B annual payroll (US County Business Patterns, 2022)
National addressable figureUNVERIFIED Not applicable — a patient attends two or three times a week and will not drive far to do it, so the national total is the sum of thousands of unconnected catchments
Price paid per clinic, and revenue and visits per clinic~$2.8M · ~$834K a year · ~7,900 visitsB

$845M divided by the 'more than 300' clinics stated in Loblaw's 2022 release, so the per-clinic price is an upper bound and covers massage, occupational therapy, chiropractic and mental-health sites as well as physiotherapy. The revenue and visit figures are U.S. Physical Therapy's FY2025 net patient revenue of $650.4M and 6,150,104 visits, each divided by its 780 clinics; that is a US book of business at US reimbursement, and a Canadian clinic paid from extended-health benefits should expect less.

I

Who you would be competing with

The operators already at scale here, and whoever is buying these businesses. In most of these industries the competition an entrant meets is local, so this is who sets the terms rather than a list of everyone in the trade.

Largest operator
Lifemark Health Group, owned since 2022 by Shoppers Drug Mart inside Loblaw Companies (TSX: L) — the Canadian consolidator, and the only one whose price is on the public record
Scale
Loblaw's Shoppers Drug Mart agreed on 14 March 2022 to buy Lifemark from Audax Private Equity for aggregate cash consideration of $845 million, for a network of more than 300 clinics across Canada and over 5,000 clinicians and staff [A]. Loblaw has not since disclosed Lifemark's revenue separately. The disclosing comparables are American: U.S. Physical Therapy took $781.0M of net revenue in FY2025, up 16.3%, from 780 clinics in 44 states and 6.15 million patient visits, and Select Medical's outpatient rehabilitation segment took $1,284.9M from 1,917 clinics [A].
Concentration
Not published. Lifemark's 300-plus clinics span physiotherapy, massage, occupational therapy, chiropractic and mental health, so they cannot be set cleanly against the 4,921 Canadian establishments Statistics Canada counts in this code; the honest statement is that one buyer holds a few per cent of the sites and no one holds more [B].
Others in the field
Two tiers, and an entrant meets only the second. **The consolidators** — Lifemark inside Loblaw, CBI Health, pt Health and their regional equivalents — who are not competing for patients with a single clinic so much as bidding for it when the owner retires. **The four or five other clinics inside the same drive time**, which is the competition that actually fills or empties the treatment slots. Above both sit the extended-health insurers, who are not competitors at all but set the reimbursement ceiling and decide which clinics can direct-bill.
Lock-in mechanism
None that the buyer owns. The relationship is between the patient and the treating physiotherapist, and the referral relationship is between the referring physician and that same person. Direct-billing agreements with the extended-health insurers are the one asset attached to the clinic rather than the practitioner, and they are available to any licensed clinic.
Price movement
Downward on margin, at the only operators who publish one. Select Medical's outpatient rehabilitation segment ran a 7.0% adjusted EBITDA margin in 2025, after 8.7% in 2024 and 9.4% in 2023, with segment income down 25.3% on revenue up 2.8% [A]. U.S. Physical Therapy's cost side shows why: operating cost of $86.30 per visit against salaries of $62.04 per visit [A]. The ticket is capped by the benefit plan and the cost is a clinician's hour.
Is the buyer consolidating?
Yes — Yes, and the price is known. A grocer paid $845M for 300-plus clinics in 2022 — about $2.8M a site — which is what an owner selling into that market can ask, and what an entrant building one has to beat by building cheaper. The buyer is a retail-pharmacy group extending into services, not a therapy specialist, which is the clearest sign that the clinic is being bought for its patient flow rather than its margin.
F

Financials & market size — sourced

Figures that came from a filing, a results release or reputable reporting, each carrying its evidence tier.

Lifemark Health Group acquisitionA $845M aggregate cash consideration, announced 14 March 2022, for more than 300 clinics and over 5,000 clinicians and staff
U.S. Physical Therapy net revenue, FY2025A $781.0M, up 16.3% from $671.3M; net patient revenue $650.4M
U.S. Physical Therapy clinics and visitsA 780 clinics in 44 states at 31 December 2025; 6,150,104 visits in the year
U.S. Physical Therapy cost per visit, FY2025A Operating cost $86.30 per visit, of which salaries and related costs $62.04; physical-therapy segment gross margin 19.2%
Select Medical outpatient rehabilitation segment, FY2025A Revenue $1,284.9M, up 2.8%, from 1,917 clinics; adjusted EBITDA $90.2M at a 7.0% margin, after 8.7% in 2024 and 9.4% in 2023
Canadian establishments in this codeA 4,921; 2,415 with 1–4 employees, 21 with 100 or more
$

Market size, derived

Built from the competitor set upward rather than quoted from a forecast. Published TAMs in these categories are frequently reverse-engineered from each other, so any published figure is checked against the vendor arithmetic rather than trusted on its own.

Revenue floor
$2.1B

Disclosed revenue from 2 of 5 named vendors. The market is at least this large.

Implied total — revenue ÷ share
—

No vendor has both a disclosed revenue and a published share.

Published forecast
—Floor only

Only a revenue floor is known — the true market is larger by whatever the undisclosed vendors earn.

Competitor set · 5 named · 2 disclose revenue

NameRevenueShareNote
Lifemark Health Group (Loblaw Companies)TSX: LA not disclosed — Bought for $845M cash in 2022 with more than 300 clinics and over 5,000 staff; Loblaw does not disclose its revenue separately. The acquisition price, not a revenue, is the tier-A fact
U.S. Physical TherapyNYSE: USPHA $781M — FY2025 net revenue, from the 10-K filed 27 February 2026
Select Medical outpatient rehabilitationNYSE: SEMA $1.3B — FY2025 outpatient rehabilitation segment revenue, from the segment table in the 10-K filed 19 February 2026
CBI Health, pt Health and the regional clinic groupsC not disclosed — Canadian multi-clinic groups buying from retiring owners; privately held or not separately disclosed, and not researched for this record
The four or five clinics inside the same drive timeA not disclosed — 4,921 Canadian establishments, 2,415 of them with one to four employees and only 21 with 100 or more; this is the competition that fills or empties a treatment schedule

Evidence

Evidence. The Lifemark price, clinic count and headcount were read from Loblaw Companies' own release of 14 March 2022 on loblaw.ca [A]; Loblaw has published no revenue for Lifemark since, so this record carries a transaction price and not an operator's income statement. U.S. Physical Therapy's revenue, clinic count, visits and per-visit costs were read from its FY2025 Form 10-K as filed on EDGAR on 27 February 2026, and Select Medical's outpatient rehabilitation segment revenue, adjusted EBITDA and margin series from the segment table in its FY2025 10-K filed 19 February 2026 [A] — segment figures taken from the segment table, not from headline bullets. Establishment counts are Statistics Canada (December 2023) and US County Business Patterns (2022) [A]. What was not sourced: any Canadian revenue, fee or margin figure for this industry. No extended-health reimbursement schedule, no provincial physiotherapy fee series and no Canadian clinic transaction multiple was opened, and CBI Health, pt Health and the regional groups publish nothing and were not researched. The two American operators are anchors for what a clinic earns and what it costs to run, not measurements of the Canadian market, whose payer mix is different. That a clinic's value walks out with its practitioners is analyst judgment, consistent with but not proven by the size bands. The cut factor is analyst judgment.

#

Where the industry talks

The associations, forums and events where people in this trade actually talk shop — where to listen before entering, and where the first customers are found. Each link was opened on the date shown.

AssociationCanadaA
Canadian Physiotherapy Association (CPA)
physiotherapy.ca

National professional association; divisions, congress and provincial partner bodies. Member count not stated on public pages.

Checked 2026-09-22
AssociationOntarioA
Ontario Physiotherapy Association (OPA)
opa.on.ca · 5,500 members (2026-09)

Physiotherapists, PTAs and students ('more than 5,500'), per its site description; has a Community Physiotherapy Clinics advocacy stream.

Checked 2026-09-22
AssociationUSA
APTA Private Practice
ppsapta.org

The private-practice section of the American Physical Therapy Association: practice-owner resources, KPI benchmarking, payer advocacy.

Checked 2026-09-22
AssociationUSA
American Physical Therapy Association (APTA)
apta.org

US national professional association for physical therapists.

Checked 2026-09-22
EventUSA
APTA Private Practice Annual Conference
ppsapta.org

The main US conference for clinic owners; 2026 edition November 11-14 at The Broadmoor, Colorado Springs.

Checked 2026-09-22
PublicationUSA
Impact Magazine (APTA Private Practice)
ppsapta.org

Official magazine of APTA Private Practice, aimed at practice owners; September 2026 issue online.

Checked 2026-09-22
PodcastUSA
Private Practice Owners Club
ppoclub.com

Podcast and coaching business for PT clinic owners hosted by Nathan Shields; also runs a Facebook group.

Checked 2026-09-22

The CPA's divisions page and congress page sit behind member login, so the CPA Private Practice Division could not be verified. No Canadian clinic-owner forum was found; r/physicaltherapy could not be reached (rate-limited).

↔

Software serving this industry

Vertical software markets filed along the same branch of NAICS — who sells to these businesses, and who an entrant would have to displace.

Vertical softwareScreenedsame industry
Rehab Therapy Practice SoftwareOne thing must be true
binding constraint: incumbent vulnerability
Incumbent WebPT

WebPT is entrenched and Prompt is well funded. Insurance billing and documentation compliance are the core, and both are covered. Jane's Canadian success suggests the opening is geographic rather than functional. Nothing is disclosed here. Every vendor named on this record is private, or sits inside a parent that does not break the line out, so no revenue floor can be built and the market size is genuinely unknown rather than estimated.

NAICS 6213403 vendors namedOpen →
Vertical softwareScreenedfiled at 621
Healthcare Revenue Cycle & Admin SoftwareOne thing must be true
binding constraint: incumbent vulnerability
Incumbent Optum (Change Healthcare)

What this category is. The back office between a care provider and whoever pays: eligibility checks, claims and the clearinghouse that carries them, coding, denials and appeals, payer-to-provider payments, patient statements and collections, and the credentialing and enrolment that let a clinician bill a plan at all. The coded customer is ambulatory care (621): physician groups, clinics, labs and home health. But the largest buyers of several segments are hospitals and health systems (outsourced revenue cycle, inpatient coding) and health plans (payer payments, provider data, credentialing). How it differs from the neighbouring records. Electronic health records and practice management (6211) sells the chart and scheduling; athenahealth appears here only for its revenue-cycle business, and its funding is not re-researched. EHR+ patient engagement (6211) sells the portal and intake. Patient booking (6211) sells patient acquisition. HIPAA compliance (6211) sells security and audit. Medical imaging (621510) sells PACS. This record is the money and paperwork layer. Who owns the rails. Optum completed its combination with Change Healthcare on 3 October 2022 [A, Optum]. The February 2024 ransomware attack on Change touched about 192.7 million individuals, the largest US healthcare breach on record [B, CyberInsider citing the HHS OCR filing], and stopped claims for providers across the country. That shows how much of the network runs through one company. Availity says it connects over two million providers to every US health plan and handles over 13 billion transactions a year; its shareholders include Anthem (Elevance), Humana, HCSC and GuideWell, and Novo Holdings bought Francisco Partners' stake in July 2021 [A, Novo Holdings]. Waystar (Nasdaq: WAY) earned $1,099M of revenue in 2025, up 17%, from about 30,000 clients representing over 1 million providers [A, Waystar release]. Experian Health sells patient access, eligibility and identity inside Experian plc. Zelis runs the payer-to-provider payment side: 725 payer clients, 850K+ providers and $300B+ of payment volume by its own count [C]. Bain Capital and Parthenon sold a minority stake to a Mubadala-led group that closed on 26 November 2024 [A, Kirkland & Ellis]; the reported $17B valuation is Bloomberg's, not opened here. Who owns the outsourced work. R1 RCM was taken private by TowerBrook and CD&R at about $8.9B, closing 19 November 2024 [A, CD&R]. Ensemble Health Partners began as Bon Secours Mercy Health's revenue-cycle arm; Golden Gate Capital bought 51% in 2019 in a deal reported at about $1.2B [B, Becker's]. athenahealth, bought by Bain Capital and Hellman & Friedman for $17B [B, Healthcare Dive], bundles billing with its ambulatory record. The AI wave is already funded. AKASA (inpatient coding for 500 hospitals, by its own count) raised a $60M Series B led by BOND in 2021 [A]. Adonis raised a $40M Series C led by Quadrille Capital in March 2026, over $95M in total, and claims more than 4x revenue growth in 2025 [A, company release]. Candid Health raised a $52.5M Series C led by Oak HC/FT, $99.5M in total [B, HLTH]. Infinitus raised a $51.5M Series C led by Andreessen Horowitz, $102.9M in total, for AI agents that call payers [B, Pulse 2.0]. In credentialing, Medallion has raised $130M (latest $43M led by Acrew Capital, August 2025) and has acquired Andros [A]. CertifyOS raised a $40M Series B led by Transformation Capital in June 2025 [A]. Uno Health (Medicaid and benefits enrolment) was bought by Findhelp in October 2025 [B]. Canada. Provincial plans pay physicians, so the US claims-and-denials problem mostly does not exist. Billing is bundled with the record: more than 40,000 Canadian health professionals use a TELUS Health EMR [A, TELUS], and TELUS's CHR files OHIP claims through MDBilling [A, TELUS help centre]. mdbilling.ca now redirects to Dr.Bill, which claims 13,000+ physicians across OHIP, MSP and AHCIP [C]. TELUS eClaims covers direct billing to private insurers for allied health. Why a newcomer cannot get in. The clearinghouse and payment rails are owned by Optum, Availity (owned by payers), Waystar and Zelis. Each depends on connections to thousands of payers and on volume pricing. The outsourced hospital work is owned by private-equity platforms worth billions. Every point task an AI startup might attack (coding, denials, payer calls, credentialing, patient billing) already has a venture-backed player with $50M–$130M raised, and the incumbents are buying or building the same AI. Waystar's acquisition of Iodine is one example. In Canada the pain is small and the record vendors bundle it. Incumbent vulnerability decides it.

NAICS 62115 vendors named6 sourced figuresOpen →