Operating business37% entry signalMarket screen6 sourced figuresOne thing must be trueentry cost + regulatory drag

Medical & Diagnostic Laboratories

Prepared 2026-09-08

The industry — Medical and diagnostic laboratories

Base industry report for 621510 →
Establishments · CanadaA
2,470
with employees
Under 10 employeesA
65%
most common size: 1–4

Of 2,470 Canadian establishments with employees, 65% have fewer than ten — mostly small operators.

Entry signal — what decides who wins here

One thing must be true
Structure decides One thing must be true Execution decides

Entry turns on a single condition that can be named and tested before much is spent. Clear it and this becomes an execution question; fail it and no amount of operating skill helps.

What you would have to beat

Raise or borrow the entry ticket, or buy an operator who has already paid it. The barrier is money rather than permission, so it yields to a balance sheet — and an acquisition is usually cheaper than a start.

How it was read
Binding constraintUNVERIFIEDentry cost + regulatory drag — Capital — being better does not, by itself, clear it.
How fragmented the field isA65% of establishments have fewer than ten employees — Fragmented — there is share to take and no scale operator to displace.
What it costs to be in the businessUNVERIFIEDmedium capital — The structural profile of subsector 621, inherited by every industry beneath it.
How many new establishments are still tradingA
Health Care and Social Assistance, US · opened 2020
84%
1 year
65.3%
3 years
52.6%
5 years
36.4%
10 years
opened 2015

Measured, not forecast: the share of US establishments opening in one year that were still active later. It counts good operators and bad ones together, which is exactly why it is the honest answer to “what are the odds”. It is for the whole sector rather than this market, and the ten-year figure comes from an older cohort because no younger one has reached ten years.

This is not a probability of success, and it is not a verdict on you. No survival probability is published per market, and inventing one would be worse than saying so. What the bar reads is how much of the outcome sits inside an operator's control: green means the hurdles are ones a better operator clears, red means the binding constraint is capital, an asset or a permission rather than execution. Someone arriving with an advantage this screen did not assume can win a market shown in red.

Companies named in this market · 4

The binding constraint — entry cost + regulatory drag

Largest angel cluster after software — 99 companies across AB/ON/QC. Cut because Health Canada / FDA pathways, reimbursement dependency and 3–7 year clinical validation cycles put first revenue outside any window a small entrant can fund. The angel concentration here is a warning, not an invitation: it means the patient capital is already committed.

Market scaleregionalunit: one lab and its courier network

Specimens move by courier on a fixed schedule, so a lab serves the area its couriers can reach within the sample's viability window. Reimbursement is provincial. Both boundaries are regional, not national.

Handle — What the largest Canadian network cost, against how much testing it does. Quest's filing states both sides of the LifeLabs deal in the same document: the price paid and, a year later, the requisition volume and site count it bought. That gives a Canadian entrant the two numbers it cannot get anywhere else — what a collection footprint is worth and how much throughput sits behind it.

Canadian establishments with employeesA 2,470 (Statistics Canada, December 2023) — 1,092 with 1–4 employees, 2,130 with fewer than 20 and 42 with 100 or more; Ontario 1,293, British Columbia 428, Alberta 288, Quebec 269
LifeLabs acquisition priceA Approximately C$1.35B (about US$1B) all cash, net of cash acquired, closed 23 August 2024 — the largest Canadian community-laboratory network, priced
LifeLabs scaleA About 15 laboratories and over 350 collection centres in British Columbia, Ontario and Saskatchewan; approximately 23 million test requisitions in 2025
Quest revenue per requisitionA +0.1% in 2025, +1.3% in 2024, −5.9% in 2023, while requisition volume rose 12.3% — the price does not move, the volume does
Boundary mechanismB Courier reach inside specimen viability windows
PayerB Provincial health insurance in Canada — the price is set, not negotiated
Price paid per LifeLabs collection centre, and per annual requisition~C$3.9M · ~C$59B

C$1.35B divided by the 'over 350' collection centres and by the approximately 23 million requisitions stated in Quest's FY2025 10-K. Both are upper bounds: the price also bought about 15 laboratories, a courier fleet and a digital-health business, so attributing the whole enterprise to the collection footprint overstates what one centre alone is worth. The requisition count is 2025, a year after the deal closed.

Angel-backed companies10
in the Canadian portfolio dataset
Province mixON 4, AB 4, QC 2

Sectors joined: Diagnostics · Diagnostics/Biotech · Biotech Diagnostics · PCR Diagnostics · Healthtech - Ophthalmic Diagnostics

[UNVERIFIED] Sector-to-NAICS mapping is analyst judgment — see data/angel-sector-map.json. Counts are a per-record cross-reference and are not additive across records.

I

Who you would be competing with

The operators already at scale here, and whoever is buying these businesses. In most of these industries the competition an entrant meets is local, so this is who sets the terms rather than a list of everyone in the trade.

Largest operator
LifeLabs, owned since August 2024 by Quest Diagnostics (NYSE: DGX)
Scale
Quest bought LifeLabs on 23 August 2024 in an all-cash transaction for approximately C$1.35 billion, about US$1 billion, net of cash acquired [A]. LifeLabs ran approximately 23 million test requisitions in 2025 through about 15 laboratories and over 350 collection centres in British Columbia, Ontario and Saskatchewan, plus its own courier and mobile-phlebotomy network [A]. Its parent took $11,035M of net revenue in FY2025, up 11.8%, of which $10,785M was diagnostic information services [A].
Concentration
Not published for Canada, and the number that would matter is provincial rather than national: LifeLabs operates in three provinces and not in the others. In Quebec, Alberta and the Atlantic provinces the volume sits with public and hospital laboratory systems that publish no comparable figure.
Others in the field
**Dynacare**, the Canadian arm of Labcorp, is the other national community-laboratory brand. **The provincial hospital and public-health laboratory systems** hold most of the volume in most provinces and are not a market an entrant can take share from — they are the payer's own capacity. **Quest and Labcorp themselves** are the buyers rather than the rivals: in 2024 alone Quest acquired LifeLabs, Lenco Diagnostics, PathAI Diagnostics and the outreach laboratory businesses of Allina Health, OhioHealth and University Hospitals [A]. The angel-backed diagnostics developers clustered at this code — 99 companies across AB, ON and QC — are not competitors to a laboratory; they are vendors selling into one.
Lock-in mechanism
The requisition habit of the referring physician, the electronic-record integration that carries it, and the provincial licence or funding agreement underneath both. None is available to an entrant by pricing below the incumbent, because the incumbent is not setting the price.
Price movement
Flat, by the incumbent's own disclosure, which is the whole argument. Quest's revenue per requisition moved +0.1% in 2025, after +1.3% in 2024 and −5.9% in 2023, while requisition volume rose 12.3% [A]. Growth in this industry comes from buying volume, not from charging more for it — and in Canada the price is a provincial schedule, not a negotiation.
Is the buyer consolidating?
Yes — Aggressively, and across the border. The largest Canadian community-laboratory network changed hands for C$1.35B in 2024 to a US buyer, and the same buyer completed five other laboratory acquisitions in the same year [A]. An entrant's realistic exit is a sale to one of two American firms, at a price they set.
F

Financials & market size — sourced

Figures that came from a filing, a results release or reputable reporting, each carrying its evidence tier.

LifeLabs acquisition priceA Approximately C$1.35B (about US$1B) all cash, net of cash acquired, closed 23 August 2024
LifeLabs scaleA Approximately 23 million test requisitions in 2025; about 15 laboratories and over 350 collection centres in British Columbia, Ontario and Saskatchewan
Quest Diagnostics net revenues, FY2025A $11,035M, up 11.8% from $9,872M; diagnostic information services $10,785M, up 12.2%
Quest revenue per requisitionA +0.1% in 2025, +1.3% in 2024, −5.9% in 2023, against requisition volume up 12.3% in 2025
Quest patient service centersA About 2,400, many of them inside large retail stores
Canadian establishments in this codeA 2,470; 1,092 with 1–4 employees, 42 with 100 or more
$

Market size, derived

Built from the competitor set upward rather than quoted from a forecast. Published TAMs in these categories are frequently reverse-engineered from each other, so any published figure is checked against the vendor arithmetic rather than trusted on its own.

Revenue floor
$11.0B

Disclosed revenue from 1 of 4 named vendors. The market is at least this large.

Implied total — revenue ÷ share
—

No vendor has both a disclosed revenue and a published share.

Published forecast
—Floor only

Only a revenue floor is known — the true market is larger by whatever the undisclosed vendors earn.

Competitor set · 4 named · 1 disclose revenue

NameRevenueShareNote
Quest DiagnosticsNYSE: DGXA $11.0B — FY2025 net revenues, from the 10-K filed 26 February 2026
LifeLabsA not disclosed — Bought by Quest for approximately C$1.35B in August 2024; about 15 laboratories, over 350 collection centres in BC, Ontario and Saskatchewan and roughly 23 million requisitions in 2025. Quest does not report its revenue separately
Dynacare (Labcorp)C not disclosed — The other national community-laboratory brand in Canada; Labcorp does not disclose a Canadian figure and its filings were not opened for this record
Provincial hospital and public-health laboratory systemsC not disclosed — Hold most of the testing volume in most provinces and are the payer's own capacity rather than a contestable market; no provincial series of laboratory spending was obtained

Evidence

Evidence. The LifeLabs purchase price, its laboratory and collection-centre counts, its 2025 requisition volume, Quest's FY2025 net revenues and the revenue-per-requisition series were all read from Quest Diagnostics' Form 10-K for the year ended 31 December 2025, as filed on EDGAR on 26 February 2026 — the price from the business-combinations note and the revenue series from the results-of-operations table, not from headline bullets [A]. Establishment counts and size bands are Statistics Canada, December 2023 [A]; no US County Business Patterns figures joined for this six-digit code. What was not sourced: any Canadian revenue, funding-envelope or fee-schedule figure. Labcorp's Canadian arm Dynacare publishes nothing that was opened; no provincial count of licensed community laboratories or specimen-collection centres was obtained, and whether a province will issue a new community-laboratory licence at all was not verified against any statute — it is the question a full study would have to answer first. The reading that public and hospital laboratories hold most of the volume outside LifeLabs' three provinces is inference, not measurement. The cut factor — that Health Canada and FDA pathways, reimbursement dependency and multi-year validation cycles put first revenue outside a small entrant's funding window — is analyst judgment and applies to the diagnostics-developer reading of this code; the operating-laboratory reading is cut by the same licence and payer structure from the other direction.

#

Where the industry talks

The associations, forums and events where people in this trade actually talk shop — where to listen before entering, and where the first customers are found. Each link was opened on the date shown.

AssociationCanadaA
Canadian Society for Medical Laboratory Science (CSMLS)
csmls.org · 14,500 members (2026-09)

Members: site says its job bank 'reaches over 14,500 members'; the national certifying body for medical laboratory technologists and assistants.

Checked 2026-09-22
EventCanadaA
LABCON
csmls.org

CSMLS's annual national medical laboratory conference.

Checked 2026-09-22
AssociationOntarioA
Medical Laboratory Professionals' Association of Ontario (MLPAO)
mlpao.org

Ontario association (formerly OSMT); site cites 15,000+ lab professionals in Ontario, which is the workforce rather than a stated member count. Runs an Annual Lab Summit (mlpao.org/annual-lab-summit-2027).

Checked 2026-09-22
AssociationUSA
American Clinical Laboratory Association (ACLA)
acla.com

Association of commercial clinical laboratory companies (Quest, Labcorp and peers); the operator-side lobby. No member count stated.

Checked 2026-09-22
AssociationInternationalA
Association for Diagnostics & Laboratory Medicine (ADLM, formerly AACC)
myadlm.org

Clinical chemists and lab directors; runs online forums, scientific divisions and the Laborastories podcast (myadlm.org/community/podcast). No member count stated.

Checked 2026-09-22
EventInternationalA
ADLM Annual Scientific Meeting & Clinical Lab Expo
meeting.myadlm.org

The largest clinical laboratory conference and equipment expo in North America; next edition ADLM 2027.

Checked 2026-09-22
PublicationNorth AmericaA
CAP TODAY
captodayonline.com

College of American Pathologists' monthly on clinical lab tests, instruments, management and regulation.

Checked 2026-09-22
PublicationNorth AmericaA
Dark Daily
darkdaily.com

News briefing for clinical laboratory and pathology executives (companion to The Dark Report).

Checked 2026-09-22

r/medlabprofessionals is the busy practitioner subreddit but neither its RSS feed nor search would confirm it from this network, so it is not listed. ASCP (ascp.org) blocked automated access and is left off in favour of ADLM.

↔

Software serving this industry

Vertical software markets filed along the same branch of NAICS — who sells to these businesses, and who an entrant would have to displace.

Vertical softwareScreenedsame industry
Medical Imaging & PACSStructure decides
binding constraint: entry cost
Incumbent Sectra, Fujifilm, GE HealthCare, Philips

Software attached to imaging hardware — the same razor-and-blade structure that decided the veterinary study, with a regulatory floor on top: PACS and any diagnostic AI are regulated medical devices requiring FDA clearance or Health Canada licensing. Capital and clearance timelines both sit outside a small entrant's runway. Sourced update: the money in this market is in the scanners, not the software. GE HealthCare's imaging line alone is $9.24B and Philips' Diagnosis & Treatment €8.5B, while the leading independent imaging-IT vendor, Sectra, turns over roughly a tenth of that — and its growth is in cloud recurring revenue, up 49%.

NAICS 6215104 vendors named6 sourced figuresOpen →
Vertical softwareScreenedfiled at 621
Healthcare Revenue Cycle & Admin SoftwareOne thing must be true
binding constraint: incumbent vulnerability
Incumbent Optum (Change Healthcare)

What this category is. The back office between a care provider and whoever pays: eligibility checks, claims and the clearinghouse that carries them, coding, denials and appeals, payer-to-provider payments, patient statements and collections, and the credentialing and enrolment that let a clinician bill a plan at all. The coded customer is ambulatory care (621): physician groups, clinics, labs and home health. But the largest buyers of several segments are hospitals and health systems (outsourced revenue cycle, inpatient coding) and health plans (payer payments, provider data, credentialing). How it differs from the neighbouring records. Electronic health records and practice management (6211) sells the chart and scheduling; athenahealth appears here only for its revenue-cycle business, and its funding is not re-researched. EHR+ patient engagement (6211) sells the portal and intake. Patient booking (6211) sells patient acquisition. HIPAA compliance (6211) sells security and audit. Medical imaging (621510) sells PACS. This record is the money and paperwork layer. Who owns the rails. Optum completed its combination with Change Healthcare on 3 October 2022 [A, Optum]. The February 2024 ransomware attack on Change touched about 192.7 million individuals, the largest US healthcare breach on record [B, CyberInsider citing the HHS OCR filing], and stopped claims for providers across the country. That shows how much of the network runs through one company. Availity says it connects over two million providers to every US health plan and handles over 13 billion transactions a year; its shareholders include Anthem (Elevance), Humana, HCSC and GuideWell, and Novo Holdings bought Francisco Partners' stake in July 2021 [A, Novo Holdings]. Waystar (Nasdaq: WAY) earned $1,099M of revenue in 2025, up 17%, from about 30,000 clients representing over 1 million providers [A, Waystar release]. Experian Health sells patient access, eligibility and identity inside Experian plc. Zelis runs the payer-to-provider payment side: 725 payer clients, 850K+ providers and $300B+ of payment volume by its own count [C]. Bain Capital and Parthenon sold a minority stake to a Mubadala-led group that closed on 26 November 2024 [A, Kirkland & Ellis]; the reported $17B valuation is Bloomberg's, not opened here. Who owns the outsourced work. R1 RCM was taken private by TowerBrook and CD&R at about $8.9B, closing 19 November 2024 [A, CD&R]. Ensemble Health Partners began as Bon Secours Mercy Health's revenue-cycle arm; Golden Gate Capital bought 51% in 2019 in a deal reported at about $1.2B [B, Becker's]. athenahealth, bought by Bain Capital and Hellman & Friedman for $17B [B, Healthcare Dive], bundles billing with its ambulatory record. The AI wave is already funded. AKASA (inpatient coding for 500 hospitals, by its own count) raised a $60M Series B led by BOND in 2021 [A]. Adonis raised a $40M Series C led by Quadrille Capital in March 2026, over $95M in total, and claims more than 4x revenue growth in 2025 [A, company release]. Candid Health raised a $52.5M Series C led by Oak HC/FT, $99.5M in total [B, HLTH]. Infinitus raised a $51.5M Series C led by Andreessen Horowitz, $102.9M in total, for AI agents that call payers [B, Pulse 2.0]. In credentialing, Medallion has raised $130M (latest $43M led by Acrew Capital, August 2025) and has acquired Andros [A]. CertifyOS raised a $40M Series B led by Transformation Capital in June 2025 [A]. Uno Health (Medicaid and benefits enrolment) was bought by Findhelp in October 2025 [B]. Canada. Provincial plans pay physicians, so the US claims-and-denials problem mostly does not exist. Billing is bundled with the record: more than 40,000 Canadian health professionals use a TELUS Health EMR [A, TELUS], and TELUS's CHR files OHIP claims through MDBilling [A, TELUS help centre]. mdbilling.ca now redirects to Dr.Bill, which claims 13,000+ physicians across OHIP, MSP and AHCIP [C]. TELUS eClaims covers direct billing to private insurers for allied health. Why a newcomer cannot get in. The clearinghouse and payment rails are owned by Optum, Availity (owned by payers), Waystar and Zelis. Each depends on connections to thousands of payers and on volume pricing. The outsourced hospital work is owned by private-equity platforms worth billions. Every point task an AI startup might attack (coding, denials, payer calls, credentialing, patient billing) already has a venture-backed player with $50M–$130M raised, and the incumbents are buying or building the same AI. Waystar's acquisition of Iodine is one example. In Canada the pain is small and the record vendors bundle it. Incumbent vulnerability decides it.

NAICS 62115 vendors named6 sourced figuresOpen →