Vertical software32% entry signalMarket screen6 sourced figuresStructure decidesentry cost

Medical Imaging & PACS

Prepared 2026-09-08

The buyer population — Medical and diagnostic laboratories

Base industry report for 621510 →
Establishments · CanadaA
2,470
with employees
Under 10 employeesA
65%
most common size: 1–4

Of 2,470 Canadian establishments with employees, 65% have fewer than ten — mostly small operators. Each of those is one potential account, before any filter for size or fit.

Entry signal — what decides who wins here

Structure decides
Structure decides One thing must be true Execution decides

The binding constraint is not executional. Being better than the incumbent does not, by itself, get you in — this one is cleared with capital, an asset, or a permission.

What you would have to beat

Raise or borrow the entry ticket, or buy an operator who has already paid it. The barrier is money rather than permission, so it yields to a balance sheet — and an acquisition is usually cheaper than a start.

How it was read
Binding constraintUNVERIFIEDentry cost — Capital — being better does not, by itself, clear it.
Measured inputsUNVERIFIEDnot applied — This is a software market. The industry’s business counts describe its BUYERS, not the market being entered, so they are left out of the signal.
How many new establishments are still tradingA
Health Care and Social Assistance, US · opened 2020
84%
1 year
65.3%
3 years
52.6%
5 years
36.4%
10 years
opened 2015

Measured, not forecast: the share of US establishments opening in one year that were still active later. It counts good operators and bad ones together, which is exactly why it is the honest answer to “what are the odds”. It is for the whole sector rather than this market, and the ten-year figure comes from an older cohort because no younger one has reached ten years.

This is not a probability of success, and it is not a verdict on you. No survival probability is published per market, and inventing one would be worse than saying so. What the bar reads is how much of the outcome sits inside an operator's control: green means the hurdles are ones a better operator clears, red means the binding constraint is capital, an asset or a permission rather than execution. Someone arriving with an advantage this screen did not assume can win a market shown in red.

Companies named in this market · 6

The binding constraint — entry cost

Software attached to imaging hardware — the same razor-and-blade structure that decided the veterinary study, with a regulatory floor on top: PACS and any diagnostic AI are regulated medical devices requiring FDA clearance or Health Canada licensing. Capital and clearance timelines both sit outside a small entrant's runway. Sourced update: the money in this market is in the scanners, not the software. GE HealthCare's imaging line alone is $9.24B and Philips' Diagnosis & Treatment €8.5B, while the leading independent imaging-IT vendor, Sectra, turns over roughly a tenth of that — and its growth is in cloud recurring revenue, up 49%.

Angel-backed companies10
in the Canadian portfolio dataset
Province mixON 4, AB 4, QC 2

Sectors joined: Diagnostics · Diagnostics/Biotech · Biotech Diagnostics · PCR Diagnostics · Healthtech - Ophthalmic Diagnostics

[UNVERIFIED] Sector-to-NAICS mapping is analyst judgment — see data/angel-sector-map.json. Counts are a per-record cross-reference and are not additive across records.

I

The incumbent

Who owns this market and who is coming for it. Fields a screen never reached say so rather than guessing.

Incumbent
Sectra, Fujifilm, GE HealthCare, Philips
Scale
Sectra FY2024/25 net sales SEK 3,239.8M (+9.3%) with recurring revenue SEK 2,067.4M (+20%) and cloud recurring SEK 591.1M (+49%); GE HealthCare's imaging line ran $9.24B inside $20.625B of 2025 revenue; Philips Diagnosis & Treatment €8.5B of €17.8B
Share
No published PACS share. The disclosed figures show the shape instead: the pure-play imaging-IT vendor is a fraction of the size of the modality makers who sell the scanners the images come from
Challengers
Merative (Merge), Agfa HealthCare, Intelerad (Canadian), plus AI-first entrants Aidoc and Viz.ai
Lock-in mechanism
Not assessed — screened before diligence
Price movement
Sectra's cloud recurring revenue grew 49% — the transition to cloud PACS is the live movement; Philips Diagnosis & Treatment comparable sales were flat
Is the buyer consolidating?
No
F

Financials & market size — sourced

Figures that came from a filing, a results release or reputable reporting, each carrying its evidence tier.

Sectra net sales, FY2024/25A SEK 3,239.8M, +9.3%
Sectra recurring revenueA SEK 2,067.4M, +20%
Sectra cloud recurring revenueA SEK 591.1M, +49%
GE HealthCare total revenue, 2025A $20.625B
GE HealthCare imaging line, 2025B $9.24B; a recast structure reports Advanced Imaging Solutions at $14.599B
Philips revenue, 2025A €17.8B, of which Diagnosis & Treatment €8.5B (48%), comparable sales flat
$

Market size, derived

Built from the competitor set upward rather than quoted from a forecast. Published TAMs in these categories are frequently reverse-engineered from each other, so any published figure is checked against the vendor arithmetic rather than trusted on its own.

Revenue floor
$17.7B

Disclosed revenue from 2 of 4 named vendors. The market is at least this large.

Implied total — revenue ÷ share
—

No vendor has both a disclosed revenue and a published share.

Published forecast
—Floor only

Only a revenue floor is known — the true market is larger by whatever the undisclosed vendors earn.

Competitor set · 4 named · 2 disclose revenue

NameRevenueShareNote
GE HealthCare (imaging)NASDAQ: GEHCB $9.2B — 2025 imaging revenue — scanners and modalities, not PACS software
Philips (Diagnosis & Treatment)NYSE: PHGA $8.5B — 2025 segment revenue in EUR — imaging systems, broader than imaging IT
SectraSTO: SECT BA not disclosed — FY2024/25 net sales SEK 3,239.8M (~$310M) — reported in SEK and deliberately not converted into the floor
Fujifilm (Synapse) / Agfa / Merative (Merge)C not disclosed — Not separately disclosed at imaging-IT level

Evidence

Evidence. Incumbent financials on this record ARE sourced (tier A/B, see the financials block). The cut factor and reasoning remain analyst judgment and were not tested against customers.

#

Where the industry talks

The associations, forums and events where people in this trade actually talk shop — where to listen before entering, and where the first customers are found. Each link was opened on the date shown.

AssociationInternationalA
Society for Imaging Informatics in Medicine (SIIM)
siim.org

The PACS-administrator and imaging-informatics society; runs the CIIP certification and the National Imaging Informatics Course. No member count on its site.

Checked 2026-09-22
EventInternationalA
SIIM Annual Meeting + InformaticsTECH Expo
annualmeeting.siim.org

SIIM 2027, Nashville. The vendor floor for PACS, VNA and imaging-AI software; abstracts open now, registration opens Jan 2027.

Checked 2026-09-22
AssociationNorth AmericaA
Radiological Society of North America (RSNA)
rsna.org

Radiologist society and publisher of Radiology; runs the RSNA Imaging AI Certificate. No member count stated on its About or Membership pages.

Checked 2026-09-22
EventInternationalA
RSNA Annual Meeting
rsna.org

The largest radiology trade show in the world (Chicago, each late November); every PACS and imaging-AI vendor exhibits. No attendance figure on the page.

Checked 2026-09-22
AssociationCanadaA
Canadian Association of Radiologists (CAR)
car.ca

National specialty association for radiologists; accreditation programmes, practice guidelines and an Annual Scientific Meeting. No member count on its site.

Checked 2026-09-22
AssociationCanadaA
Canadian Association of Medical Radiation Technologists (CAMRT)
camrt.ca · 11,000 members (2026-09)

MRT members ('over 11,000') per its Membership page. The technologists who operate the modalities and PACS workstations day to day.

Checked 2026-09-22
PublicationInternationalA
AuntMinnie
auntminnie.com

Daily radiology and imaging-IT news (articles dated Sept 22, 2026), including PACS and FDA clearances. Blocks curl but loads via a browser fetch; its old discussion forums are no longer visible.

Checked 2026-09-22
PublicationNorth AmericaA
Imaging Technology News (ITN)
itnonline.com

Trade magazine covering imaging hardware and enterprise imaging/PACS, with a buyer's guide and comparison charts.

Checked 2026-09-22

Radiology Business (radiologybusiness.com) blocks automated access and was not verified by search, so it is omitted.

↔

The businesses it sells to

Operating-business records filed along the same branch of NAICS — the customers of this software, screened as businesses in their own right.

Other software on this branch

Vertical softwareScreenedfiled at 621
Healthcare Revenue Cycle & Admin SoftwareOne thing must be true
binding constraint: incumbent vulnerability
Incumbent Optum (Change Healthcare)

What this category is. The back office between a care provider and whoever pays: eligibility checks, claims and the clearinghouse that carries them, coding, denials and appeals, payer-to-provider payments, patient statements and collections, and the credentialing and enrolment that let a clinician bill a plan at all. The coded customer is ambulatory care (621): physician groups, clinics, labs and home health. But the largest buyers of several segments are hospitals and health systems (outsourced revenue cycle, inpatient coding) and health plans (payer payments, provider data, credentialing). How it differs from the neighbouring records. Electronic health records and practice management (6211) sells the chart and scheduling; athenahealth appears here only for its revenue-cycle business, and its funding is not re-researched. EHR+ patient engagement (6211) sells the portal and intake. Patient booking (6211) sells patient acquisition. HIPAA compliance (6211) sells security and audit. Medical imaging (621510) sells PACS. This record is the money and paperwork layer. Who owns the rails. Optum completed its combination with Change Healthcare on 3 October 2022 [A, Optum]. The February 2024 ransomware attack on Change touched about 192.7 million individuals, the largest US healthcare breach on record [B, CyberInsider citing the HHS OCR filing], and stopped claims for providers across the country. That shows how much of the network runs through one company. Availity says it connects over two million providers to every US health plan and handles over 13 billion transactions a year; its shareholders include Anthem (Elevance), Humana, HCSC and GuideWell, and Novo Holdings bought Francisco Partners' stake in July 2021 [A, Novo Holdings]. Waystar (Nasdaq: WAY) earned $1,099M of revenue in 2025, up 17%, from about 30,000 clients representing over 1 million providers [A, Waystar release]. Experian Health sells patient access, eligibility and identity inside Experian plc. Zelis runs the payer-to-provider payment side: 725 payer clients, 850K+ providers and $300B+ of payment volume by its own count [C]. Bain Capital and Parthenon sold a minority stake to a Mubadala-led group that closed on 26 November 2024 [A, Kirkland & Ellis]; the reported $17B valuation is Bloomberg's, not opened here. Who owns the outsourced work. R1 RCM was taken private by TowerBrook and CD&R at about $8.9B, closing 19 November 2024 [A, CD&R]. Ensemble Health Partners began as Bon Secours Mercy Health's revenue-cycle arm; Golden Gate Capital bought 51% in 2019 in a deal reported at about $1.2B [B, Becker's]. athenahealth, bought by Bain Capital and Hellman & Friedman for $17B [B, Healthcare Dive], bundles billing with its ambulatory record. The AI wave is already funded. AKASA (inpatient coding for 500 hospitals, by its own count) raised a $60M Series B led by BOND in 2021 [A]. Adonis raised a $40M Series C led by Quadrille Capital in March 2026, over $95M in total, and claims more than 4x revenue growth in 2025 [A, company release]. Candid Health raised a $52.5M Series C led by Oak HC/FT, $99.5M in total [B, HLTH]. Infinitus raised a $51.5M Series C led by Andreessen Horowitz, $102.9M in total, for AI agents that call payers [B, Pulse 2.0]. In credentialing, Medallion has raised $130M (latest $43M led by Acrew Capital, August 2025) and has acquired Andros [A]. CertifyOS raised a $40M Series B led by Transformation Capital in June 2025 [A]. Uno Health (Medicaid and benefits enrolment) was bought by Findhelp in October 2025 [B]. Canada. Provincial plans pay physicians, so the US claims-and-denials problem mostly does not exist. Billing is bundled with the record: more than 40,000 Canadian health professionals use a TELUS Health EMR [A, TELUS], and TELUS's CHR files OHIP claims through MDBilling [A, TELUS help centre]. mdbilling.ca now redirects to Dr.Bill, which claims 13,000+ physicians across OHIP, MSP and AHCIP [C]. TELUS eClaims covers direct billing to private insurers for allied health. Why a newcomer cannot get in. The clearinghouse and payment rails are owned by Optum, Availity (owned by payers), Waystar and Zelis. Each depends on connections to thousands of payers and on volume pricing. The outsourced hospital work is owned by private-equity platforms worth billions. Every point task an AI startup might attack (coding, denials, payer calls, credentialing, patient billing) already has a venture-backed player with $50M–$130M raised, and the incumbents are buying or building the same AI. Waystar's acquisition of Iodine is one example. In Canada the pain is small and the record vendors bundle it. Incumbent vulnerability decides it.

NAICS 62115 vendors named6 sourced figuresOpen →