Operating business60% entry signalMarket screen5 sourced figuresExecution decideswillingness to pay

Individual & Family Support Services

SoftwareTypically runs on Childcare management, case management for social services. · no software market screened here yet — the industry page
Prepared 2026-09-11

The industry — Individual and family services

Base industry report for 6241 →
Establishments · CanadaA
7,544
with employees
Under 10 employeesA
50%
most common size: 1–4
Establishments · USA
92,083
Employment · USA
2,002,980
22 per establishment
Payroll · USA
$64.5B
$32k per employee

Of 7,544 Canadian establishments with employees, 50% have fewer than ten — mostly small operators.

Entry signal — what decides who wins here

Execution decides
Structure decides One thing must be true Execution decides

The hurdles here are ones a better operator clears. That is not a promise of success — it is the absence of a structural reason you cannot win.

What you would have to beat

Prove the value in money the buyer already counts. The need is real; what is unproven is that this buyer moves budget for it. That is a priced test with real customers, not a product problem.

How it was read
Binding constraintUNVERIFIEDwillingness to pay — Executional — a better operator can move it.
How fragmented the field isA50% of establishments have fewer than ten employees — Mixed — neither a field of micro-operators nor one dominated by large establishments.
What it costs to be in the businessUNVERIFIEDlow capital — The structural profile of subsector 624, inherited by every industry beneath it.
How many new establishments are still tradingA
Health Care and Social Assistance, US · opened 2020
84%
1 year
65.3%
3 years
52.6%
5 years
36.4%
10 years
opened 2015

Measured, not forecast: the share of US establishments opening in one year that were still active later. It counts good operators and bad ones together, which is exactly why it is the honest answer to “what are the odds”. It is for the whole sector rather than this market, and the ten-year figure comes from an older cohort because no younger one has reached ten years.

This is not a probability of success, and it is not a verdict on you. No survival probability is published per market, and inventing one would be worse than saying so. What the bar reads is how much of the outcome sits inside an operator's control: green means the hurdles are ones a better operator clears, red means the binding constraint is capital, an asset or a permission rather than execution. Someone arriving with an advantage this screen did not assume can win a market shown in red.

Companies named in this market · 4

The binding constraint — willingness to pay

The buyer is usually a government programme or a family in crisis, and neither pays well. Contracted services are funded per client at rates set in advance and rarely indexed, while the labour is credentialled and scarce. The non-profits already holding those contracts have fundraising and volunteer capacity a private operator does not. Adjacent to the home-care study at 621610, which found the same payer and a clearer wedge. What the funded rate does to a business is visible in the one listed operator of these services: BrightSpring's Personal Care line — non-medical home and community support, the private part of this code — served 16,079 people in 2025 against 15,879 in 2024, growth of 1.3%, while its Medicare-funded home health census rose 9.1% and its rehab line 8.0% [A]. Same company, same salesforce, same year; the line whose price is set by a social-services payer is the line that does not move.

Market scalelocalunit: one contract, in one funder's catchment

Programmes are funded by a provincial ministry or a municipality for a defined population in a defined area. Sized by the contract, not by the need.

Canadian establishments with employeesA 7,544 (Statistics Canada, December 2023) — 2,260 with fewer than five employees; Ontario 2,411, Quebec 1,896, British Columbia 1,209
US establishments, employment and payrollA 92,083 establishments; 2,002,980 employees; $64.5B payroll (US County Business Patterns, 2022)
BrightSpring Provider Services revenue, FY2025A $1,465 million, up 11% from $1,318 million
BrightSpring Personal Care persons servedA 16,079 in 2025 against 15,879 in 2024 (+1.3%), while Medicare-funded home health census rose 9.1% and rehab 8.0%
PayerB Government programmes at per-client rates set in advance
Competitor structureB Incumbent non-profits with fundraising and volunteer capacity
Payroll per employee, US~$32,200 a yearB

$64,538,247,000 of annual payroll divided by 2,002,980 employees, both from County Business Patterns 2022. It is the industry's whole cost structure in one number: there is nothing else to economise on, which is why a rate set in advance and not indexed is the binding constraint.

I

Who you would be competing with

The operators already at scale here, and whoever is buying these businesses. In most of these industries the competition an entrant meets is local, so this is who sets the terms rather than a list of everyone in the trade.

Largest operator
The incumbent non-profits — family service agencies, children's aid societies, YMCAs, VON and their provincial equivalents — holding funding agreements that predate any entrant
Scale
7,544 Canadian establishments, 2,260 of them with fewer than five employees; 92,083 US establishments employing 2,002,980 people on a $64.5B payroll [A]. Enormous employment, almost no capital, and almost no disclosure.
Concentration
Not published. This is the least concentrated industry in the sector: no Canadian operator of scale was identified, and the largest US platform's relevant line serves about 16,000 people.
Others in the field
BrightSpring (NASDAQ: BTSG) and Sevita in the United States; in Canada the private home-support operators — Bayshore, Closing the Gap, and the franchised brands Home Instead, Nurse Next Door and Right at Home, where an independent buys a system rather than building one.
Lock-in mechanism
Not assessed — screened before diligence
Price movement
Volume is the tell, not price. BrightSpring's Personal Care persons served rose 1.3% in 2025 (16,079 from 15,879) while its Home Health Care average daily census rose 9.1% to 31,135 and Rehab Care persons served rose 8.0% to 7,127 [A].
Is the buyer consolidating?
No — Barely. There is no Canadian roll-up in individual and family services, and the US consolidators have been moving the other way — BrightSpring is selling its community-living platform rather than adding to it. The franchised home-support brands are the closest thing to a buyer, and they sell a territory licence rather than buying a business.
F

Financials & market size — sourced

Figures that came from a filing, a results release or reputable reporting, each carrying its evidence tier.

BrightSpring Provider Services revenue, FY2025A $1,465 million, up 11% from $1,318 million
BrightSpring Personal Care persons servedA 16,079 in 2025 against 15,879 in 2024 — up 1.3%
BrightSpring Home Health Care average daily censusA 31,135 in 2025 against 28,532 in 2024 — up 9.1%
BrightSpring Rehab Care persons servedA 7,127 in 2025 against 6,597 in 2024 — up 8.0%
US payroll per employee in this industryA about $32,200 — $64.5B of payroll over 2,002,980 employees (County Business Patterns, 2022)
$

Market size, derived

Built from the competitor set upward rather than quoted from a forecast. Published TAMs in these categories are frequently reverse-engineered from each other, so any published figure is checked against the vendor arithmetic rather than trusted on its own.

Revenue floor
$1.5B

Disclosed revenue from 1 of 5 named vendors. The market is at least this large.

Implied total — revenue ÷ share
—

No vendor has both a disclosed revenue and a published share.

Published forecast
—Floor only

Only a revenue floor is known — the true market is larger by whatever the undisclosed vendors earn.

Competitor set · 5 named · 1 disclose revenue

NameRevenueShareNote
BrightSpring Health ServicesNASDAQ: BTSGA $1.5B — FY2025 Provider Services segment revenue, up 11%; the segment mixes Medicare-funded home health and rehab with the non-medical personal care that belongs to this code, and no revenue split by line is published
SevitaC not disclosed — Privately held; the other US platform in community-based supports for people with disabilities. No revenue published.
Non-profit family service agencies, children's aid societies, YMCAs and VONB not disclosed — The Canadian competitive set. They hold the funding agreements, and they carry fundraising and volunteer capacity a private operator cannot match on the same rate. None publishes comparable revenue.
Bayshore HealthCare and Closing the Gap HealthcareC not disclosed — The Canadian private home-support operators an entrant would meet; both privately held, no revenue published and none was sought for this record.
Home Instead, Nurse Next Door, Right at HomeC not disclosed — Franchisors, not operators — the system an independent joins to get referral flow and back-office. Fees and territory terms are set in their disclosure documents, which were not opened for this record.

Evidence

Evidence. The anchor is one listed operator's service-line volumes. BrightSpring Health Services' fourth-quarter and full-year 2025 results release, filed as exhibit 99.1 to its 8-K of 27 February 2026, reports Provider Services revenue of $1,465 million against $1,318 million in 2024 (up 11%), Personal Care persons served of 16,079 against 15,879, Home Health Care average daily census of 31,135 against 28,532, and Rehab Care persons served of 7,127 against 6,597 [A]. The release publishes no revenue split by service line, so no revenue is attributed to the personal-care line here; the comparison is of volumes, and the mapping of BrightSpring's Personal Care line to this NAICS group — non-medical homemaker and community support, rather than the medical home health that belongs to 6216 — is the analyst's reading of what the company describes, not the company's own classification. It is also a US company, and US funded rates are not Canadian ones. Counts are Statistics Canada (December 2023) and US County Business Patterns (2022) [A], and the payroll-per-employee figure is arithmetic on the latter. The two inherited entries — who pays, and the shape of the competitor set — remain tier B: they are the reading of the sector that the screen was written from, not a measured series, and no provincial funding agreement or fee schedule was opened. The cut factor is analyst judgment.

#

Where the industry talks

The associations, forums and events where people in this trade actually talk shop — where to listen before entering, and where the first customers are found. Each link was opened on the date shown.

AssociationOntarioA
Family Service Ontario
familyserviceontario.org · 44 members (2026-09)

'44 not-for-profit member agencies' serving 250,000+ people a year, per its Members page; communities of practice and an annual conference.

Checked 2026-09-22
AssociationCanadaA
Family Service Canada
familyservicecanada.org

National network of community-based social service agency leaders; member directory, newsletter (last dated May 2025), annual Community of Learning. No member count stated.

Checked 2026-09-22
AssociationOntarioA
Ontario Association of Children's Aid Societies (OACAS)
oacas.org · 48 members (2026-09)

'48 individual Children's Aid Society and Indigenous Family and Child Well-being Agency members', per its homepage.

Checked 2026-09-22
AssociationCanadaA
Child Welfare League of Canada (CWLC)
cwlc.ca

National child welfare membership body; members listed by province (agencies, Indigenous organisations, governments). No total count stated; 2024-25 annual report posted.

Checked 2026-09-22
AssociationCanadaA
Canadian Association of Social Workers (CASW)
casw-acts.ca

Federation of provincial and territorial social work associations; the professional body for the sector's credentialled labour. No member count stated.

Checked 2026-09-22
AssociationOntarioA
Ontario Nonprofit Network (ONN)
theonn.ca

Policy network for Ontario nonprofits, including contracted human service agencies; the 64,000 figure on its site is the sector, not membership.

Checked 2026-09-22
PublicationCanadaA
CharityVillage
charityvillage.com

Canadian nonprofit job board and sector news; publishes an annual sector salary and benefits report (2026 edition posted).

Checked 2026-09-22
AssociationUSA
Social Current
social-current.org

US network of human service nonprofits (successor to the Alliance for Strong Families and Communities); CEO convenings and training. No member count stated on its About page.

Checked 2026-09-22

Imagine Canada (imaginecanada.ca) blocks automated access and was left off. Reddit could not be checked from this network.