Operating business49% entry signalMarket screen6 sourced figuresOne thing must be truewillingness to pay

Boutique Fitness Studio Operation

Prepared 2026-09-09

The industry — Fitness and recreational sports centres

Base industry report for 713940 →
Establishments · CanadaA
4,538
with employees
Under 10 employeesA
57%
most common size: 1–4
Establishments · USA
40,786
Employment · USA
649,964
16 per establishment
Payroll · USA
$12.1B
$19k per employee

Of 4,538 Canadian establishments with employees, 57% have fewer than ten — mostly small operators.

Entry signal — what decides who wins here

One thing must be true
Structure decides One thing must be true Execution decides

Entry turns on a single condition that can be named and tested before much is spent. Clear it and this becomes an execution question; fail it and no amount of operating skill helps.

What you would have to beat

Prove the value in money the buyer already counts. The need is real; what is unproven is that this buyer moves budget for it. That is a priced test with real customers, not a product problem.

How it was read
Binding constraintUNVERIFIEDwillingness to pay — Executional — a better operator can move it.
How fragmented the field isA57% of establishments have fewer than ten employees — Fragmented — there is share to take and no scale operator to displace.
What it costs to be in the businessUNVERIFIEDhigh capital — The structural profile of subsector 713, inherited by every industry beneath it.
How many new establishments are still tradingA
Arts, Entertainment, and Recreation, US · opened 2020
81.3%
1 year
70.3%
3 years
57.1%
5 years
40.8%
10 years
opened 2015

Measured, not forecast: the share of US establishments opening in one year that were still active later. It counts good operators and bad ones together, which is exactly why it is the honest answer to “what are the odds”. It is for the whole sector rather than this market, and the ten-year figure comes from an older cohort because no younger one has reached ten years.

This is not a probability of success, and it is not a verdict on you. No survival probability is published per market, and inventing one would be worse than saying so. What the bar reads is how much of the outcome sits inside an operator's control: green means the hurdles are ones a better operator clears, red means the binding constraint is capital, an asset or a permission rather than execution. Someone arriving with an advantage this screen did not assume can win a market shown in red.

Companies named in this market · 5

The binding constraint — willingness to pay

The price ceiling is set by budget chains charging under $20 a month and the cost floor by commercial rent, and the gap has to be filled with instructor-led classes whose members follow the instructor when the instructor leaves. Churn is the business's defining number and it is structurally high. The studio management software at this code is screened separately.

Market scalelocalunit: one studio and its 10-minute radius

Members choose a gym they pass anyway; almost nobody drives across a city to work out. The catchment is small enough that two studios on the same street genuinely compete. Sized by the radius, and the instructors inside it.

Handle — Planet Fitness's price list, read against Xponential's average unit volume. The two ends of this industry both publish. Planet Fitness states what the floor costs a member — US$15, or US$19.51 in realised average dues — and Xponential states what a boutique studio actually turns, US$683,000 a year. Everything a boutique entrant has to justify sits in the gap between those two disclosed numbers.

Planet Fitness price points, 2025A US$15 a month for the standard Classic Card and US$24.99 for the PF Black Card, plus a standard annual fee of US$49. Average monthly dues per member were US$19.51, up from US$17.63 in 2021, with Black Card penetration at 66.5% (Planet Fitness FY2025 10-K)
Planet Fitness scale, 31 December 2025A 2,896 clubs (2,604 franchised, 292 corporate) and about 20.8 million members; 2025 revenue US$1.3B on system-wide sales of US$5.3B, of which US$4.7B was franchisee-owned clubs
Health club industry average monthly priceB US$69 a month in 2024 — the Health & Fitness Association estimate, quoted in Planet Fitness's 10-K as the latest available; a trade-association figure, not an agency series
Xponential Fitness, FY2025A Revenue US$314.9M, down 2%; North America run-rate average unit volume US$683,000 a studio in the fourth quarter; same-store sales growth of 0.5% against 7% the year before; 341 gross new studios opened and 179 franchise licences sold
Canadian establishments with employeesA 4,538 (Statistics Canada, December 2023); 2,578 (57%) have fewer than ten employees and only 44 employ 200 or more
US establishments in the groupA 40,786 establishments, 649,964 employees, US$12.1B payroll (US Census County Business Patterns) — about 16 employees per site
National addressable figureUNVERIFIED Not stated — this market is a set of unconnected local ones
System-wide sales per Planet Fitness member~US$255 a yearB

US$5.3B of 2025 system-wide sales divided by approximately 20.8 million members. Derived from two figures in the same 10-K. That is what the price ceiling looks like annually: the budget chain collects about US$255 a member a year, and a boutique studio has to extract several times that from the same wallet, out of a room it pays commercial rent on.

Angel-backed companies13
in the Canadian portfolio dataset
Province mixAB 8, ON 2, NL 2, QC 1

Sectors joined: Sports Tech · Brain Fitness · Sports Performance · Beauty/Wellness · Sports Analytics · Sports Equipment

[UNVERIFIED] Sector-to-NAICS mapping is analyst judgment — see data/angel-sector-map.json. Counts are a per-record cross-reference and are not additive across records.

I

Who you would be competing with

The operators already at scale here, and whoever is buying these businesses. In most of these industries the competition an entrant meets is local, so this is who sets the terms rather than a list of everyone in the trade.

Largest operator
Planet Fitness (NYSE: PLNT) — not a competitor for the same member so much as the operator who sets the price a boutique studio has to argue against
Scale
2,896 clubs and about 20.8 million members at 31 December 2025, across all 50 states plus Canada, Panama, Mexico, Australia and Spain; 2025 revenue US$1.3B on US$5.3B of system-wide sales. Memberships start at US$15 a month and realised average monthly dues were US$19.51.
Concentration
Not published for Canada. Planet Fitness does not break out a Canadian club count in its 10-K, and the large Canadian chains are private and publish nothing, so there is no Canadian share figure on this record and none was invented.
Others in the field
In the boutique tier itself, the franchisors: Xponential Fitness (NYSE: XPOF), the listed one, plus Orangetheory, F45 and the single-brand Canadian studio groups. Above them the full-service clubs, and below them 2,578 of 4,538 Canadian establishments with fewer than ten employees — one room, a handful of instructors and a lease.
Lock-in mechanism
Not assessed — screened before diligence. Structurally there is little: Planet Fitness requires itself and its franchisees to offer a non-committal membership option, which sets the market's expectation, and a boutique member's loyalty attaches to an instructor rather than to a room.
Price movement
Flat at the boutique end and the flatness is new. Xponential's same-store sales grew 0.5% in 2025 against 7% the year before, on a North America run-rate average unit volume of US$683,000 a studio, while the franchisor's own revenue fell 2%. At the budget end the realised price is still creeping up — US$19.51 average monthly dues against US$17.63 in 2021 — driven by upgrades to the US$24.99 card rather than by raising the US$15 floor.
Is the buyer consolidating?
No — No, and the structure explains why. The listed money in this industry franchises rather than owns: Planet Fitness franchises 2,604 of its 2,896 clubs, and Xponential sold 179 licences and opened 341 gross studios in 2025 while owning almost none of them. The capital is in selling the format, not in buying studios. Nobody bids for one room and a member list that follows the instructor out of the door.
F

Financials & market size — sourced

Figures that came from a filing, a results release or reputable reporting, each carrying its evidence tier.

Planet Fitness price points, 2025A US$15 a month for the standard Classic Card and US$24.99 for the PF Black Card, plus a standard annual fee of US$49. Average monthly dues per member were US$19.51, up from US$17.63 in 2021, with Black Card penetration at 66.5% (Planet Fitness FY2025 10-K)
Planet Fitness scale, 31 December 2025A 2,896 clubs (2,604 franchised, 292 corporate) and about 20.8 million members; 2025 revenue US$1.3B on system-wide sales of US$5.3B, of which US$4.7B was franchisee-owned clubs
Health club industry average monthly priceB US$69 a month in 2024 — the Health & Fitness Association estimate, quoted in Planet Fitness's 10-K as the latest available; a trade-association figure, not an agency series
Xponential Fitness, FY2025A Revenue US$314.9M, down 2%; North America run-rate average unit volume US$683,000 a studio in the fourth quarter; same-store sales growth of 0.5% against 7% the year before; 341 gross new studios opened and 179 franchise licences sold
Canadian establishments with employeesA 4,538 (Statistics Canada, December 2023); 2,578 (57%) have fewer than ten employees and only 44 employ 200 or more
US establishments in the groupA 40,786 establishments, 649,964 employees, US$12.1B payroll (US Census County Business Patterns) — about 16 employees per site
$

Market size, derived

Built from the competitor set upward rather than quoted from a forecast. Published TAMs in these categories are frequently reverse-engineered from each other, so any published figure is checked against the vendor arithmetic rather than trusted on its own.

Revenue floor
$1.6B

Disclosed revenue from 2 of 5 named vendors. The market is at least this large.

Implied total — revenue ÷ share
—

No vendor has both a disclosed revenue and a published share.

Published forecast
—Floor only

Only a revenue floor is known — the true market is larger by whatever the undisclosed vendors earn.

Competitor set · 5 named · 2 disclose revenue

NameRevenueShareNote
Planet FitnessNYSE: PLNTA $1.3B — 2025 revenue, US$, as stated in the FY2025 10-K; system-wide sales US$5.3B
Xponential FitnessNASDAQ: XPOFA $315M — FY2025 revenue, US$, down 2% year on year
GoodLife FitnessC not disclosed — Large Canadian chain; private, publishes no results and was not researched for this record
Orangetheory / F45 and other boutique franchisorsC not disclosed — Franchised instructor-led formats competing for the same member and the same instructor. No franchise disclosure document was opened for this record
The 2,578 Canadian establishments with fewer than ten employeesA not disclosed — Statistics Canada, December 2023. The independent studio majority — and the studio two doors down, which is the competitor that matters in a ten-minute radius

Evidence

Evidence. Two filings were opened directly. Planet Fitness's 10-K for the year ended 31 December 2025 gives the US$15 Classic Card and US$24.99 Black Card monthly prices, the US$49 standard annual fee, average monthly dues per member of US$19.51 against US$17.63 in 2021, Black Card penetration of 66.5%, 2,896 clubs with about 20.8 million members, 2025 revenue of US$1.3B on US$5.3B of system-wide sales, and the requirement that franchisees spend 7% of monthly dues on local marketing [A]. The US$69 industry average monthly price is the Health & Fitness Association's 2024 estimate as quoted inside that 10-K — a trade-association number reported by a filer, so it is tiered B, not A. Xponential Fitness's fourth-quarter and full-year 2025 results release gives FY2025 revenue of US$314.9M (−2%), a North America fourth-quarter run-rate AUV of US$683,000, same-store sales growth of 0.5% against 7%, 341 gross new studio openings and 179 licences sold [A]. Counts are Statistics Canada, December 2023 and US County Business Patterns [A]. What they establish: the price floor this industry is priced against, and what one boutique studio in North America actually turns. What they do not establish: anything Canadian. Planet Fitness does not disclose a Canadian club count, Xponential's AUV is a North America figure, and no Canadian studio's revenue, rent or churn was sourced. Studio closures were not disclosed in the Xponential release and are not claimed here. GoodLife, Orangetheory and F45 are named from structure with no document opened, and are tiered C. UNVERIFIED: the churn mechanism in the reason — that members follow the instructor — was not tested against any operator's data, and the cut factor is analyst judgment.

#

Where the industry talks

The associations, forums and events where people in this trade actually talk shop — where to listen before entering, and where the first customers are found. Each link was opened on the date shown.

AssociationCanadaA
Fitness Industry Council of Canada (FIC)
fitnessindustrycanada.ca

Not-for-profit trade association of fitness facility owners and operators; its About page says it represents more than 7,000 facilities (not a stated member count). Moved from ficdn.ca.

Checked 2026-09-22
AssociationInternationalA
Health & Fitness Association (HFA, formerly IHRSA)
healthandfitness.org

US-based global trade association of health clubs and studios; club and industry-partner membership tiers. No member count stated on site.

Checked 2026-09-22
EventUSA
The HFA Show
hub.healthandfitness.org

HFA's annual conference and trade show (the former IHRSA convention); 2026 edition held, next 10-12 March 2027 in Las Vegas.

Checked 2026-09-22
AssociationCanadaA
canfitpro
canfitpro.com

Canadian fitness-professional certification and membership body (FitPro and Business memberships); runs the canfitpro Global Conference & Trade Show in Toronto each August (2026 edition held; 2027 registration open).

Checked 2026-09-22
AssociationUSA
IDEA Health & Fitness Association
ideafit.com

US membership body for fitness instructors, trainers and studio owners; offers club and studio memberships and the IDEA World event. No member count stated on site.

Checked 2026-09-22
PublicationUSA
Athletech News
athletechnews.com

Fitness-industry business news site covering gyms, studios, franchising and fitness tech; articles dated 22 September 2026 at check.

Checked 2026-09-22
PodcastInternationalA
The Fitness Business Podcast
fitnessbusinesspodcast.com

Weekly podcast for club and studio operators on retention, sales and operations; latest episode dated 18 September 2026 at check.

Checked 2026-09-22

Club Industry (clubindustry.com) blocked automated access and was not listed. Reddit RSS feeds returned 429 from this network, so no subreddit is listed.

↔

Software serving this industry

Vertical software markets filed along the same branch of NAICS — who sells to these businesses, and who an entrant would have to displace.