Independent Restaurant Operation
The industry — Full-service restaurants
Base industry report for 722511 →- Establishments · CanadaA
- 34,175
- Under 10 employeesA
- 44%
- Establishments · USA
- 257,282
- Employment · USA
- 5,208,895
- Payroll · USA
- $140.1B
Of 34,175 Canadian establishments with employees, 44% have fewer than ten — weighted toward mid-sized establishments.
Entry signal — what decides who wins here
Structure decidesThe binding constraint is not executional. Being better than the incumbent does not, by itself, get you in — this one is cleared with capital, an asset, or a permission.
Raise or borrow the entry ticket, or buy an operator who has already paid it. The barrier is money rather than permission, so it yields to a balance sheet — and an acquisition is usually cheaper than a start.
Measured, not forecast: the share of US establishments opening in one year that were still active later. It counts good operators and bad ones together, which is exactly why it is the honest answer to “what are the odds”. It is for the whole sector rather than this market, and the ten-year figure comes from an older cohort because no younger one has reached ten years.
This is not a probability of success, and it is not a verdict on you. No survival probability is published per market, and inventing one would be worse than saying so. What the bar reads is how much of the outcome sits inside an operator's control: green means the hurdles are ones a better operator clears, red means the binding constraint is capital, an asset or a permission rather than execution. Someone arriving with an advantage this screen did not assume can win a market shown in red.
Companies named in this market · 4
The binding constraint — entry cost
A fit-out runs several hundred thousand dollars before a single cover, net margins in the single digits leave no room for a slow first year, and the delivery platforms take a cut large enough to invert the economics of the orders they bring. Included in this research deliberately: it is the most-considered entry in this list and the one where the arithmetic is least forgiving. The software sold to these operators is studied separately at the same code.
Covers are drawn from a few blocks and a delivery radius. National restaurant spend is a real number and a useless one here: it says nothing about whether this room, at this rent, with these covers, clears its costs. Sized by the seat, not by the sector.
Handle — Boston Pizza's royalty-pool disclosure. The Fund publishes franchise system sales and the exact number of restaurants generating them, so a per-restaurant revenue figure falls out of two reported numbers. It is the closest thing Canada has to a published unit economic for a full-service room. It is a franchised, nationally marketed, sports-viewing format — an independent should treat it as the ceiling it is competing against, not as its own forecast.
$976.3M of 2025 franchise system sales divided by the 372 restaurants in the Fund's royalty pool. Both figures come from the same results release. This is system sales at the restaurant, not the franchisee's profit, and an unbranded independent without national marketing or a delivery contract should expect materially less.
Sectors joined: Restaurant POS · Hospitality Tech
[UNVERIFIED] Sector-to-NAICS mapping is analyst judgment — see data/angel-sector-map.json. Counts are a per-record cross-reference and are not additive across records.
Who you would be competing with
The operators already at scale here, and whoever is buying these businesses. In most of these industries the competition an entrant meets is local, so this is who sets the terms rather than a list of everyone in the trade.
Financials & market size — sourced
Figures that came from a filing, a results release or reputable reporting, each carrying its evidence tier.
Market size, derived
Built from the competitor set upward rather than quoted from a forecast. Published TAMs in these categories are frequently reverse-engineered from each other, so any published figure is checked against the vendor arithmetic rather than trusted on its own.
Disclosed revenue from 1 of 5 named vendors. The market is at least this large.
No vendor has both a disclosed revenue and a published share.
Only a revenue floor is known — the true market is larger by whatever the undisclosed vendors earn.
Competitor set · 5 named · 1 disclose revenue
| Name | Revenue | Share | Note |
|---|---|---|---|
| The independent single-room majorityA | not disclosed | — | 15,000 of 34,175 Canadian establishments employ fewer than ten people. No revenue is published for any of them; the competitive structure is the long tail itself. |
| Boston Pizza InternationalTSX: BPF.UN (Boston Pizza Royalties Income Fund)A | $976M | — | 2025 franchise system sales across the 372 restaurants in the Fund's royalty pool |
| MTY Food GroupTSX: MTYC | not disclosed | — | Franchisor with dine-in banners in Canada and the US; system sales not researched for this record. |
| Recipe Unlimited (Fairfax Financial)C | not disclosed | — | Swiss Chalet, The Keg, Harvey's and others; private since the 2022 take-private, and not separately disclosed. Not researched for this record. |
| Delivery platforms (DoorDash, Uber Eats, SkipTheDishes)C | not disclosed | — | Not a rival room — a toll on the orders they bring. Their commission rates were not sourced for this record and are the single largest unquantified line in this screen. |
Evidence
Evidence. Boston Pizza's 2025 franchise system sales ($976.3M), the 372 restaurants in the royalty pool and full-year same-restaurant sales (+4.7%) were read in Boston Pizza Royalties Income Fund's own annual results release [A]; the per-restaurant figure is arithmetic on those two numbers and is stated as derived. That figure describes a franchised, nationally marketed sports-and-grill format, not an independent — it is on the record as the benchmark an independent is measured against, and reading it as an independent's expected revenue would be the error this research most often finds. Establishment counts and payroll are Statistics Canada (December 2023) and US County Business Patterns (2022) [A]. The fit-out cost, the single-digit net margin and the delivery-platform take rate that carry the cut were NOT sourced — no filing, survey or franchise disclosure document was opened for any of them, and the delivery commission in particular should be established before acting. The cut factor is analyst judgment: UNVERIFIED.
Where the industry talks
The associations, forums and events where people in this trade actually talk shop — where to listen before entering, and where the first customers are found. Each link was opened on the date shown.
National foodservice association; site says 'thousands of members' but gives no count. Runs the RC Show.
Restaurants Canada's annual trade show in Toronto; the 2027 page is live but dates render only in-browser.
'Over 5,000 members representing more than 11,000 establishments', per its homepage.
'Plus de 5 300 membres', per its homepage; Quebec restaurant establishments.
Member-funded BC restaurant association offering HR help and advocacy. No member count stated.
US 501(c)(6) built by independent restaurant and bar operators; active on 2025 policy campaigns. No member count stated.
Eric Cacciatore's podcast for restaurateurs, 1,000+ episodes; latest episode date not shown on the homepage.
Kostuch Media's national foodservice magazine, 8 issues a year; blocked automated access, confirmed live via search results.
canadianrestaurantnews.com is now a food blog and is not listed. The US National Restaurant Association (restaurant.org) and its May 2027 Chicago show are live but omitted for space. Reddit (r/restaurateur, r/KitchenConfidential) rate-limited every request and could not be verified.
Software serving this industry
Vertical software markets filed along the same branch of NAICS — who sells to these businesses, and who an entrant would have to displace.