Vertical software68% entry signalFull study6 sourced figuresEnter — narrow

Restaurant Operations Software

Prepared 2026-09-08 · 1,726 words

Toast is a payments company that sells a POS. It monetises the top line and has no structural reason to tell an operator where food cost is bleeding — which is where a 3–5% net margin actually goes.

The buyer population — Full-service restaurants

Base industry report for 722511 →
Establishments · CanadaA
34,175
with employees
Under 10 employeesA
44%
most common size: 10–19
Establishments · USA
257,282
Employment · USA
5,208,895
20 per establishment
Payroll · USA
$140.1B
$27k per employee

Of 34,175 Canadian establishments with employees, 44% have fewer than ten — weighted toward mid-sized establishments. Each of those is one potential account, before any filter for size or fit.

Entry signal — what decides who wins here

Execution decides
Structure decides One thing must be true Execution decides

The hurdles here are ones a better operator clears. That is not a promise of success — it is the absence of a structural reason you cannot win.

How it was read
Researched verdictUNVERIFIEDenter — narrow — A full study: four structured dimensions, three kill criteria and a 30-day test behind the call.
How many new establishments are still tradingA
Accommodation and Food Services, US · opened 2020
85.5%
1 year
72.1%
3 years
59.3%
5 years
41.6%
10 years
opened 2015

Measured, not forecast: the share of US establishments opening in one year that were still active later. It counts good operators and bad ones together, which is exactly why it is the honest answer to “what are the odds”. It is for the whole sector rather than this market, and the ten-year figure comes from an older cohort because no younger one has reached ten years.

This is not a probability of success, and it is not a verdict on you. No survival probability is published per market, and inventing one would be worse than saying so. What the bar reads is how much of the outcome sits inside an operator's control: green means the hurdles are ones a better operator clears, red means the binding constraint is capital, an asset or a permission rather than execution. Someone arriving with an advantage this screen did not assume can win a market shown in red.

Companies named in this market · 17

The proposition being tested

Entering full-service restaurants with Invoice-to-menu margin layer — parses supplier invoices, tracks true cost per menu item daily, and flags margin erosion before the month-end P&L for Independent full-service restaurant operators, 3–20 locations.

The 30-day test · $8,000 all in

Pass — ≥5 operators hand over 90 days of supplier invoices AND ≥3 buy a $2,500 margin audit AND parsing accuracy ≥95% across at least 4 distinct distributors

Fail — <2 audits sold, OR parsing accuracy below 90%, OR the audits surface no actionable margin difference

Angel-backed companies2
in the Canadian portfolio dataset
Province mixQC 1, ON 1

Sectors joined: Restaurant POS · Hospitality Tech

[UNVERIFIED] Sector-to-NAICS mapping is analyst judgment — see data/angel-sector-map.json. Counts are a per-record cross-reference and are not additive across records.

Screen score

7.35
Market size 9
Growth 7
Pain acuity 9
Incumbent vulnerability 5
Entry cost(inv) 7
Distribution access 6
Regulatory drag(inv) 8

Analyst judgment calibrated to the cited evidence, not measurement. Method

I

The incumbent

Who owns this market, how they are defended, and the specific gap their defence leaves open.

Incumbent
Toast (NYSE: TOST)
Scale
FY2025 revenue $6.153B (from $4.960B); ARR above $2.0B at 31 December 2025, +26%; a record 30,000 net locations added, ending at ~164,000
Share
No published share; 164,000 locations is the better measure of position
Challengers
SpotOn, TouchBistro, Square, Olo, regional acquirers bundling POS
Lock-in mechanism
Proprietary hardware at $5,000–$15,000 per location that works with no other processor, plus bundled payment processing
Price movement
ARR +26% and 30,000 net locations added in one year — the incumbent is still taking the market, not defending it
Is the buyer consolidating?
No — Independent restaurants remain fragmented — the buyer is not being rolled up, which keeps the addressable count high and the ACV low
Financials & market size — sourced
Toast revenue, FY2025A $6.153B (from $4.960B in 2024)
Toast ARR at 31 Dec 2025A >$2.0B, +26% YoY
Toast locationsA ~164,000, after a record 30,000 net additions in 2025
PAR Technology revenue, 2025A $455.55M, +30.2% (from $349.98M); ~two-thirds recurring SaaS
Olo revenue, trailing twelve months to Q2 2025A $314.3M, +21.9%
Olo take-privateA Thoma Bravo agreement, 3 July 2025, ~$2.0B equity value
The wedge

Cost of goods. The incumbent's revenue model is a percentage of sales, so its reporting is sales-side by construction

$

Market size, derived

Built from the competitor set upward rather than quoted from a forecast. Published TAMs in these categories are frequently reverse-engineered from each other, so any published figure is checked against the vendor arithmetic rather than trusted on its own.

Revenue floor
$6.9B

Disclosed revenue from 3 of 4 named vendors. The market is at least this large.

Implied total — revenue ÷ share
—

No vendor has both a disclosed revenue and a published share.

Published forecast
—Floor only

Only a revenue floor is known — the true market is larger by whatever the undisclosed vendors earn.

Competitor set · 4 named · 3 disclose revenue

NameRevenueShareNote
ToastNYSE: TOSTA $6.2B — FY2025 revenue — mostly payments volume passed through, with ARR above $2.0B the better software measure
PAR TechnologyNYSE: PARA $456M — 2025 revenue, ~two-thirds recurring
OloA $314M — TTM to Q2 2025; taken private by Thoma Bravo at ~$2.0B
Square (Block) / Lightspeed Restaurant / SpotOnC not disclosed — Not separately disclosed at restaurant level
S

Startups & challengers

Newer and smaller vendors going at the incumbent — funded challengers first. Named, not researched to the depth of the field above; a company with a page here links to it.

CompanyStageWhat it doesRaised
Deliverect Funded challenger Connects delivery and online orders into restaurant POS and kitchens. —
Lunchbox Technologies Funded challenger Online ordering, apps and loyalty for restaurant brands. —
ODEKO Funded challenger Supply ordering and delivery platform for independent coffee shops —
Otter Delivery Funded challenger Delivery order management and online ordering for restaurants —
Popmenu Funded challenger Online menus, ordering, marketing and AI phone answering for restaurants —
Restaurant365 Funded challenger Restaurant accounting, inventory and scheduling for multi-unit operators. —
Slice ↗ Funded challenger Online ordering, POS and marketing for independent pizzerias —
Snackpass Funded challenger Order-ahead and social loyalty app for quick-service restaurants. $21m
Touch Bistro Funded challenger iPad POS and restaurant management for independent restaurants. —
Tripleseat Funded challenger Event and group sales management for restaurants, hotels and venues —
Dripos Startup Point of sale, payroll and operations platform for coffee shops and cafes —
Onaroll Startup Rewards and incentives that reduce turnover for restaurant hourly staff —
D

Demand landscape

Addressable market, competitor positions, and where buyer preference is shifting.

TAM — Toast alone$1.90B quarterly revenue across 171,000 locations
A

Toast's own scale is the cleanest available proxy for spend on restaurant software and payments. Note it is mostly payments take-rate, not software subscription.

SAM — serviceable$66M
22,000 buyers
UNVERIFIED

~22,000 North American independent full-service operators at 3–20 locations x $3k average ACV. High buyer count, low ticket — the inverse of the grid market.

SOM — realistic capture$2.0M–$6.6M

3–10% over five years. Volume business; efficient self-serve acquisition is the whole game.

Demand indicators

Toast Q2 2026 revenueA$1.90B, +23% YoY
Toast locationsA171,000, +22% YoY
Toast FY2026 adjusted EBITDA guidanceA$805M–$825M
Typical add-on software stackBOnline ordering $75/mo + marketing $185/mo + KDS $35/mo → $300–$400/mo
Hardware written off on switchingB$5,000–$15,000 per location
Reported renewal increasesB15%+ vs 2023 pricing, against 5–10% contractual caps

Competitor positions

Toast16%

Share of US restaurant payment volume, not of installed POS. The distinction matters — payment share is where the revenue is.

SpotOnno published share

Positions explicitly against Toast on price and service.

TouchBistrono published share

Toronto-based. Strong in independent full-service.

Squareno published share

Owns the small and quick-service end.

Olono published share

Digital ordering layer rather than POS — reads the market differently from Toast.

Only Toast's ~16% payment-volume share is published. Installed-base share by vendor is not reliably available and is not estimated here.

Shifting buyer preferences

  • Operators increasingly resist bundled payment processing as the price of the software.
  • Hardware lock-in is now understood as the switching cost it is, and factored into buying decisions.
  • Post-inflation, food cost volatility has moved margin management from a back-office chore to the operator's daily concern.
  • Support quality is a recurring and worsening complaint against the scale leader — the standard signature of a company optimising for EBITDA.
R

Revenue model

Pricing that a real buyer would clear, the volume that follows, and what else the same customer will pay for.

Pricing

Single location$1k–$2k

$100–$150/mo. Must be self-serve at this price — no sales call survives it.

3–8 locations$4k–$7k
9–20 locations$9k–$18k
Margin audit (one-off)$3k–$6k

The wedge sale, and the spec for the product.

Average ticket — ACV, 3–8 locations$4k–$7k
UNVERIFIED

Anchors against a $300–$400/mo existing software stack. Must read as small next to that, which caps the ticket and forces volume.

Volume projection

Y1$95k40
Y2$520k180
Y3$1.4M460
Y4$2.8M900
Y5$4.6M1450
revenue· customers

UNVERIFIED. Note the shape versus every other study here: thousands of small customers rather than dozens of large ones. That is a different company — support-heavy, marketing-led, and unforgiving of churn.

Ancillary revenue

Supplier price benchmarking

'You pay 12% above the regional median for chicken thigh.' The compounding dataset, and the reason to stay subscribed.

Menu engineering and repricing advisory

The moment the customer acts on the finding.

Group purchasing introductions

Adjacent and potentially larger than the subscription — but it changes the business model into brokerage.

C

Cost structure

What it costs to stand this up and keep it running — and where the supply chain can end the business.

Fixed costs, annual

Cloud hosting and OCR/parsing pipeline$12k–$45k

Invoice parsing is the technical core and the recurring compute cost.

POS integration partner fees and marketplace listings$0–$15k
Entity, legal, accounting$6k–$15k
Capital intensitylow

Variable costs

Supplier invoice format onboarding

Every distributor formats invoices differently, and regional suppliers are the long tail. This is the scaling risk and the moat simultaneously.

Support

High ticket volume at low ACV. The margin killer in this market — model it before pricing.

Paid acquisition

At $100–$150/mo the payback period on paid acquisition is unforgiving. Content and operator communities have to carry it.

Supply chain

Two dependencies. POS read access (Toast, Square, TouchBistro all publish APIs — genuinely lower risk than the field-service market) and supplier invoice ingestion, which has no API at all and arrives as PDFs, EDI and paper. The second is the real work, and because it is tedious rather than clever, it is also the durable advantage.

Labour — Canadian and US medians

RoleCA medianUS median
Food Service Managers

US employment 238,430. The buyer, and the person whose time the product saves.

$54,080$69,390
Chefs$47,840—
Cooks, Restaurant$37,440—
Software Developers$100,006$135,980

The ROI argument is not labour here — it is food cost. On a restaurant running 30% food cost against $2M revenue, a 1-point improvement is $20,000 a year against a $3,600 subscription.

X

Execution & risk factors

Regulatory hurdles, whether anything defends the position once it works, and the macro trends acting on it.

Regulatory — very low
No licensing regime. Handling supplier invoices carries no special obligation beyond ordinary commercial confidentiality.
Defensibility — medium
The supplier-invoice parsing library and the regional price benchmark dataset both compound with every customer and cannot be back-filled. The analytics layer alone would not be defensible.

Macro trends

Food cost volatilitytailwind

The entire premise. If input prices stabilise for several years, urgency fades.

Toast's continued growthtailwind

+22% locations YoY — the incumbent is building the prospect list.

Restaurant closure rate and thin marginsheadwind

3–5% net margins mean churn from customer failure, not just dissatisfaction. Model involuntary churn separately.

Toast expanding into back-of-house cost toolsheadwind

The obvious counter-move. Its payments model argues against prioritising it, but it is well capitalised enough to do both.

K

Kill criteria

The findings that should end this today. Written on the assumption that the reader is too invested to see them unaided.

KILL 1

Toast ships invoice-level food costing as a bundled module. It has the distribution and the data; only its payments-first revenue model argues against it.

KILL 2

Supplier invoice parsing does not generalise. If accuracy is below roughly 95% across the regional distributor long tail, operators will not trust the numbers and the product is worse than a spreadsheet.

KILL 3

The economics do not survive support load. At $100–$150/mo with thousands of low-sophistication customers, a support-heavy product has negative unit economics that volume makes worse, not better.

#

Where the industry talks

The associations, forums and events where people in this trade actually talk shop — where to listen before entering, and where the first customers are found. Each link was opened on the date shown.

AssociationCanadaA
Restaurants Canada
restaurantscanada.org

National foodservice trade association; says 'thousands of members' without a count.

Checked 2026-09-22
AssociationUSA
National Restaurant Association
restaurant.org

US restaurant and foodservice trade association. No member count stated on the homepage.

Checked 2026-09-22
SubredditInternationalC
r/restaurantowners
reddit.com

Owner-focused subreddit where POS and software choices are argued; Reddit blocked automated access. GummySearch lists ~62k members (r/restaurateur ~29k); not verified on Reddit.

Checked 2026-09-22
EventCanadaA
RC Show
restaurantscanada.org

Restaurants Canada's annual three-day trade show; 2027 edition listed at The International Centre, Mississauga, per its event page. rcshow.com redirects to a Zoho event page with no detail.

Checked 2026-09-22
EventUSA
National Restaurant Association Show
nationalrestaurantshow.com

Main US foodservice trade show, run by Informa; next edition 22-25 May 2027, McCormick Place, Chicago, per its homepage.

Checked 2026-09-22
PublicationUSA
Restaurant Business
restaurantbusinessonline.com

US restaurant industry trade publication; homepage opened via curl (title and current news confirmed), automated readers get 403.

Checked 2026-09-22
PublicationCanadaC
Foodservice and Hospitality
foodserviceandhospitality.com

Kostuch Media's national Canadian foodservice magazine, 11 issues a year; blocked automated access (403). Search results and the Restaurants Canada supplier listing confirm it.

Checked 2026-09-22
PodcastUSA
Restaurant Unstoppable
restaurantunstoppable.com

Interview podcast for restaurateurs hosted by Eric Cacciatore, several episodes a week; site opened, September 2026 episodes seen in search results.

Checked 2026-09-22

Operators talk on r/restaurantowners and r/restaurateur; the associations and shows are where vendors meet them. r/KitchenConfidential is staff rather than owners and is left off.

↔

The businesses it sells to

Operating-business records filed along the same branch of NAICS — the customers of this software, screened as businesses in their own right.

§

Full study

The complete written report.

Market-Entry Study — Restaurant Operations Software

NAICS 722511 · Full-service restaurants

Verdict: ENTER — narrow, and only as a cost-side product beside the incumbent. Prepared 2026-09-08 · Evidence tiers per ../_method/screening-model.md


The proposition being tested

Entering restaurant operations software with an invoice-to-menu margin layer that parses supplier invoices, tracks true cost per menu item daily, and flags margin erosion before the month-end P&L for independent full-service operators running 3–20 locations.


1. MARKET SIZE

Metric Value Tier
Toast Q2 2026 revenue $1.90B, +23% YoY [A]
Toast locations 171,000, +22% YoY (~7,000 added in Q1 2026 alone) [A]
Toast share of US restaurant payment volume ~16% [B]
Toast FY2026 adjusted EBITDA guidance $805M–$825M [A]
Typical add-on stack Online ordering $75/mo + marketing $185/mo + KDS $35/mo → $300–$400/mo [B]
Hardware written off on switching $5,000–$15,000 per location [B]
Reported renewal increases 15%+ vs 2023 pricing, against 5–10% contractual caps [B]

Read the revenue and the share together. Toast books $1.90B a quarter while holding ~16% of payment volume — because the revenue is overwhelmingly payments take-rate, not software subscription. That single fact defines the entry opportunity and its ceiling simultaneously. A company that earns a percentage of sales builds sales-side reporting. It has no commercial reason to tell an operator that their chicken supplier raised prices 9% last month.

Bottom-up SAM: ~22,000 North American independent full-service operators at 3–20 locations × ~$3k ACV ≈ $66M [UNVERIFIED]. Note the shape — high buyer count, low ticket. This is the inverse of every other enter-rated market in the atlas, and it implies a fundamentally different company: marketing-led, support-heavy, and unforgiving of churn.

Growing or shrinking: growing, and the incumbent is building the pipeline. Toast added ~7,000 locations in a single quarter [A]. Every one is a prospect for a product that sits beside it.

Demand signals

  • Incumbent financials: STRONG, tier [A]. Public company reporting.
  • Pricing complaints: STRONG, tier [B], and specific. Renewal increases above contractual caps, add-on creep to $300–$400/mo, hardware lock-in quantified.
  • Search volume: NOT MEASURED. Run: Toast POS alternative, restaurant food cost software, menu costing software, Toast fees. The second and third measure demand for the actual product, not just grievance with the incumbent — that distinction matters more here than anywhere else in this research.
  • Reddit: NOT DIRECTLY VERIFIED. r/restaurateur and r/KitchenConfidential would be the places. Not read for this study.
  • Amazon: NOT APPLICABLE.

2. THE CUSTOMER

What they want that nobody is giving them

A full-service restaurant runs on a 3–5% net margin. Food cost is the largest controllable variable and the most volatile. The operator's actual question is: "Which menu items stopped making money this month, and why?"

Toast can answer what sold. It cannot answer what it cost, because the cost arrives as a PDF from a regional distributor, not through an API.

What they pay for right now to solve it badly

Current spend Typical cost
POS and add-on stack $300–$400/mo [B]
Bookkeeper reconciling food cost monthly $400–$1,500/mo, and always retrospective
Chef or GM doing manual menu costing Chef median $47,840 CA; Food Service Manager $69,390 US / $54,080 CA [A, ../../occupation]
Spreadsheets Free, ubiquitous, stale within a week — the actual incumbent
Discovering margin erosion at year-end The largest cost, and never booked

How much would they pay

[UNVERIFIED] $3,600–$7,200 ACV for 3–8 locations. The ROI arithmetic is strong: on a restaurant running 30% food cost against $2M revenue, a one-point improvement is $20,000 a year against a $3,600 subscription. The constraint is not value — it is that at $100–$150/mo the product must sell itself, because no sales call survives that price.


3. THE COMPETITION

Player Position
Toast ~16% of US restaurant payment volume; 171,000 locations [A][B]
SpotOn Positions explicitly against Toast on price and service
TouchBistro Toronto-based; strong in independent full-service
Square Owns small and quick-service
Olo Digital ordering layer rather than POS

Where they are weak

The documented grievances are consistent: price increases above contractual caps (15%+ against a 5–10% permitted range), add-on creep, hardware lock-in at $5,000–$15,000 per location that works with no other processor, and declining support quality [B]. One merchant reported a 40% increase in an online ordering fee on 30 days' notice, with the vendor citing the terms [B].

But note what that list does not contain: a complaint about missing food-cost reporting. The pain this product addresses is real but latent. Operators complain about the bill they see, not the margin they cannot see. That is a harder sale, and it is why this study rates pain acuity 9 but incumbent vulnerability only 5.

The gap

Cost of goods. Structural, not accidental — the incumbent's revenue is a percentage of the top line, so its product is built around the top line.

Why it stays open ~24 months: Toast could build it. Its payments-first model argues against prioritising it, but it is well capitalised enough to do both. This is a narrower and less durable moat than the dealership study's.


4. ENTRY STRATEGY

#1 — Paid margin audit, then subscription. Cost: <$8k. Odds: highest. Take 90 days of a restaurant's supplier invoices, hand back item-level margin and a list of what moved. $2,500 fixed fee. Proves the parsing, proves the value, and specifies the product in one motion.

#2 — Self-serve product with POS marketplace distribution. Cost: $120k–$250k. Odds: medium. The eventual shape. Toast, Square and TouchBistro all run app marketplaces — genuinely lower platform risk than the field-service market. But at $100–$150/mo this only works if onboarding is near-zero-touch.

#3 — Full POS. Cost: $5M+. Odds: near zero. Hardware, payments licensing, and a $1.9B-per-quarter incumbent. Excluded explicitly.

What would have to be true

  1. Supplier invoice parsing generalises across the regional distributor long tail at ≥95% accuracy. Below that, operators will not trust it.
  2. Latent pain converts — operators will buy a cost tool they did not ask for.
  3. Support load at $100–$150/mo does not invert unit economics.
  4. Toast keeps prioritising payments over back-of-house cost tooling.

The smallest test that proves or kills this in 30 days

Week Action
1 Collect 90 days of supplier invoices from 5 operators. Build the parser against at least 4 distinct distributors — Sysco, US Foods, and two regional. Measure accuracy honestly.
2 Hand back a manual margin analysis to each. Watch whether they find anything they did not already know.
3 Offer a $2,500 paid margin audit to 25 more operators.
4 Count, and record parsing accuracy per distributor.

Pass: ≥5 operators supply invoices AND ≥3 buy the $2,500 audit AND parsing accuracy ≥95% across ≥4 distributors. Fail: <2 audits sold, OR accuracy below 90%, OR the audits surface nothing the operator did not already know.


5. KILL CRITERIA

1. Toast ships invoice-level food costing as a bundled module. It has the distribution, the POS data, and 171,000 locations to sell it into. Only its payments-first revenue model argues against it — a strategic preference, not a structural barrier.

2. Supplier invoice parsing does not generalise. The regional distributor long tail is the whole problem. Below ~95% accuracy the operator loses confidence, and a food-cost number nobody trusts is worse than a spreadsheet they wrote themselves.

3. Support load inverts the unit economics. At $100–$150/mo with thousands of low-sophistication customers, a support-heavy product loses money on every sale and loses more as it scales. This is the kill criterion most likely to be discovered too late, because it only appears at volume — model it before pricing, not after.

The honest bias check: the complaint list against Toast is long and satisfying, and it is tempting to read it as demand. It is not. Nobody in those complaints asked for food-cost software; they asked for a smaller bill. This study proposes selling a product the customer has not requested, into a market whose economics demand thousands of small accounts. Both of those are true at the same time as the ROI arithmetic being excellent, and the second pair is what usually kills businesses like this.


THE CALL: ENTER — narrow

Enter as a cost-side margin layer sold beside the POS, sequenced through a paid manual audit. Do not build a POS.

The evidence: an incumbent growing 22% a year in locations [A] that structurally under-builds cost reporting; documented price escalation above contractual caps and $5,000–$15,000 of hardware lock-in [B]; a clean ROI story at $20,000 of recoverable margin against a $3,600 subscription; and POS marketplaces that make distribution genuinely accessible. Entry costs under $8,000.

The narrowing is doing real work. This is a volume business, not a value business — and anyone who reads "enter" here and staffs it like the dealership opportunity will run out of money.

Reverse the call if parsing accuracy lands below 90% in week one, or the first three audits surface nothing the operator did not already know.


STRUCTURED ANALYSIS

Four dimensions — demand landscape, revenue model, cost structure, and execution & risk factors — are held as structured data in profile.json rather than repeated as prose here, so there is exactly one source of truth for every figure. The Market Research app renders all four as panels above this report.


Sources