Independent Auto Repair Shop Software
The buyer population — Automotive repair and maintenance
Base industry report for 8111 →- Establishments · CanadaA
- 24,760
- Under 10 employeesA
- 85%
- Establishments · USA
- 167,884
- Employment · USA
- 958,913
- Payroll · USA
- $44.2B
Of 24,760 Canadian establishments with employees, 85% have fewer than ten — an industry of very small operators. Each of those is one potential account, before any filter for size or fit.
Entry signal — what decides who wins here
One thing must be trueEntry turns on a single condition that can be named and tested before much is spent. Clear it and this becomes an execution question; fail it and no amount of operating skill helps.
Displace an incumbent the screen found well defended — payments attached to the workflow, data that does not leave, a contract that renews itself. Share here means giving a buyer a reason to break something that currently works, which is a higher bar than being better.
Measured, not forecast: the share of US establishments opening in one year that were still active later. It counts good operators and bad ones together, which is exactly why it is the honest answer to “what are the odds”. It is for the whole sector rather than this market, and the ten-year figure comes from an older cohort because no younger one has reached ten years.
This is not a probability of success, and it is not a verdict on you. No survival probability is published per market, and inventing one would be worse than saying so. What the bar reads is how much of the outcome sits inside an operator's control: green means the hurdles are ones a better operator clears, red means the binding constraint is capital, an asset or a permission rather than execution. Someone arriving with an advantage this screen did not assume can win a market shown in red.
Companies named in this market · 9
The binding constraint — incumbent vulnerability
Recently and thoroughly consolidated, with parts-catalogue and labour-guide data licensing acting as a real barrier. The adjacent dealership market (441110) has a far sharper opening — see that study. Sourced update 2026-09-18: the "nothing is disclosed" note on this record was too strong. Mitchell 1 sits inside Snap-on's Repair Systems & Information Group, which reported $1,877.1M of 2025 net sales (+4.4%) at a 26.7% operating margin [A]. That is not a software figure — the segment is mostly diagnostics hardware, undercar equipment and information services — but it is a hard ceiling and a hard statement about the incumbent's balance sheet. The cut stands.
The incumbent
Who owns this market and who is coming for it. Fields a screen never reached say so rather than guessing.
Financials & market size — sourced
Figures that came from a filing, a results release or reputable reporting, each carrying its evidence tier.
The field
Every vendor named on this record, and what each one discloses. Most disclose nothing, which is why the market is not sized.
Competitor set · 4 named · 0 disclose revenue
| Name | Revenue | Share | Note |
|---|---|---|---|
| Mitchell 1 (Snap-on, NYSE: SNA)NYSE: SNAA | not disclosed | — | The only disclosure in this category, and it is indirect. Mitchell 1 is not broken out; its containing segment (RS&I) did $1,877.1M in 2025 at a 26.7% operating margin [A]. Read it as a ceiling on the software line, not as the software line — the segment is largely diagnostics hardware and undercar equipment |
| TekmetricC | not disclosed | — | Private, Houston; Susquehanna Growth Equity–backed. Claims over 12,000 shops, which is an installed-base claim by the vendor, not an audited figure, and no revenue is published |
| Shop-Ware / Shopmonkey / AutoLeapC | not disclosed | — | Private, venture-funded; no disclosure. Shopmonkey and AutoLeap both raised through 2021–2022 at prices never made public |
| Identifix / ALLDATAC | not disclosed | — | Diagnostic and repair-data libraries (Solera and AutoZone respectively) — the data licence is the barrier, and neither parent breaks the line out |
Nobody here publishes revenue. The market is not sized for that reason — an estimate built on nothing would only look like knowledge.
Startups & challengers
Newer and smaller vendors going at the incumbent — funded challengers first. Named, not researched to the depth of the field above; a company with a page here links to it.
| Company | Stage | What it does | Raised |
|---|---|---|---|
| GaragePlug | Startup | Workshop management and customer app for auto repair garages. | — |
| KUKUI | Scrappy competitor | Websites, marketing and customer CRM for independent auto repair shops | — |
Evidence
Evidence. The incumbent's containing segment is now sourced to Snap-on's own Q4/FY2025 release [A]: RS&I net sales $1,877.1M, operating earnings $500.8M. The caveat is the whole point — RS&I bundles diagnostics hardware, undercar equipment and information services, so no shop-management software revenue can be read out of it, and Mitchell 1's own number remains unpublished. Everything about the independent vendors is still UNVERIFIED: Tekmetric's 12,000-shop figure is a vendor claim, and no competitor here publishes revenue or share. The cut factor and reasoning remain analyst judgment.
Where the industry talks
The associations, forums and events where people in this trade actually talk shop — where to listen before entering, and where the first customers are found. Each link was opened on the date shown.
National auto care (aftermarket) association covering parts, service and repair; no member count stated on its About page
Association for independent repair shops in Ontario, founded 1939; no member count stated
US association of independent repair shop owners with a Washington DC advocacy office; no member count stated on About page
Registered members shown in the 'Member Statistics' block on its home page; forums cover diagnosis and shop management
Annual Las Vegas aftermarket show; home page states 45,000 attendees and 2,500+ exhibitors
Canadian aftermarket news site publishing CARS (repair shops) and Jobber News; latest CARS digital edition August 2026
US trade magazine for independent auto repair shop owners; articles dated July-August 2026
Reddit (r/AutoMechanics) returned 429 to automated fetches and is not listed.
The businesses it sells to
Operating-business records filed along the same branch of NAICS — the customers of this software, screened as businesses in their own right.
The customer is not the driver, it is the insurer. Direct repair programme referrals decide which bays fill, and the networks that hold those agreements are consolidating fast: the top five now take 31.7% of collision revenue, and Boyd alone ran 1,312 locations on $3.1B of 2025 sales while adding 70 shops in the year and then buying 258 more. A single-shop buyer competes with that balance sheet for the same acquisitions and with its DRP agreements for the same cars. Cycle times, parts procurement and calibration equipment for ADAS all favour scale.
The economics are a subscription business bolted to a $3–6M construction project: Mister Car Wash crossed $1B of revenue in 2025 on roughly 2.3 million Unlimited Wash Club members, and that membership base is the whole model. A single-site entrant carries the full build cost before the first membership, in metros where the same thesis has already been funded several times over and tunnels sit within sight of each other. Land, water recycling and equipment are the business; the wash is the marketing.
Other software on this branch
Collision is not mechanical repair with paint on it — the insurer sits in the middle. In the independent mechanical shop (see the 8111 record) the shop owner is the buyer and picks a shop-management system on its merits, which is why Tekmetric, Shopmonkey and AutoLeap could win shops one at a time. In collision the bill is usually paid by an insurer, the estimate has to be written in an estimating system the insurer's claims desk accepts, and direct-repair programmes (DRPs) route the work. The shop pays the subscription; the insurer largely chooses it. A 2019 Collision Advice–CRASH Network survey found 51.2% of Audatex users and 35% of Mitchell users named an insurer mandate as their main reason for having it, and 30.3% of shops ran more than one estimating system [B]. Shopmonkey, which a vertical-software list files under auto body, is general auto repair: its home page lists auto repair, tire, quick lube, heavy duty and wrap/detail shops and never mentions collision or an estimating integration [C]. The incumbent is a listed, 41%-margin network. CCC Intelligent Solutions (NYSE: CCCS) reported $1.057B of FY2025 revenue (+12%) and $436.0M adjusted EBITDA (41%) [A]. Its 10-K says it serves more than 300 insurers including 27 of the top 30 US auto carriers, more than 30,500 repair facilities and 6,000+ parts and diagnostics suppliers, and that its technology "facilitates the majority of the automotive insurance DRP in the U.S." [A]. Repair Solutions — software sold to shops — was about 43% of 2025 revenue, nearly all of it software [A]; that implies roughly $450M a year from repairers alone. In the 2019 survey 83.7% of shops had CCC installed against 27.9% for Mitchell and 23.7% for Audatex [B]. The other two seats are private-equity owned and buying. Mitchell sits inside Enlyte (Stone Point Capital bought it from KKR and Elliott in 2018) [B] and agreed in December 2025 to buy PartsTrader, the insurer-backed parts-procurement marketplace [B]. Solera — Audatex, Qapter — was taken private by Vista Equity Partners for about $6.5B including net debt in 2015 [B]. Even the parts layer has a new private-equity owner: Francisco Partners bought a majority of OEConnection (CollisionLink) in November 2025 [B]. Where the money is going is around the estimate, not into it. Tractable (AI photo estimating, sold mainly to insurers; $65M Series E led by SoftBank Vision Fund 2, 2023) [B], Partly (AI parts identification; $50M at a $500M valuation led by DST Global, June 2026) [B] and Revv (ADAS calibration reporting for body and mechanical shops; $20M Series A led by Left Lane Capital, 2024) [B] all sell tools that plug into the estimating system rather than replace it. Canada is the same, only more so: in BC the single insurer, ICBC, runs its repair programme on Mitchell's estimating tools [A], so a BC body shop's software choice follows the insurer, not the shop. Incumbent vulnerability decides it — there is no shop-by-shop wedge into a market where the payer picks the system.
The incumbent is a listed conglomerate's $965M purchase, and it sits in the tunnel, not just on the counter. DRB Systems (Akron, Ohio; founded 1984) sells the point of sale (SiteWatch, Patheon, Washify, Sierra for in-bay), the tunnel controller (TunnelWatch), pay stations and queuing cameras. Vontier (NYSE: VNT) bought it from New Mountain Capital in 2021 for about $965M in cash, on expected 2021 revenue of about $170M, ~40% recurring, at mid-20% operating margins [A]. DRB had already bought Washify, the cloud POS challenger, in March 2021 [B]. Its home page says it is trusted by "more top 50 conveyor car wash chains than all other technology providers combined" [C, vendor]. Vontier no longer breaks DRB out: it sits inside Mobility Technologies ($1,123.9M FY2025 sales), where management said car wash growth "accelerated" in Q4 2025 [A]. The other seats belong to the equipment makers. Sonny's (conveyor equipment, controls, pay stations and the Quivio management suite; Genstar Capital since August 2020, 6,000+ active customers at the time) [B] bought GoToKiosk in 2020 and WashMetrix in 2025 [B]. ICS went to Dover's OPW in a deal announced January 2021 [B]. Hamilton Manufacturing (pay stations, LPR and RFID, since 1921) and Micrologic Associates (a New Jersey POS and controller vendor, now selling WashCentral) are long-standing independents [C]. When an operator buys a tunnel, the controller and pay station tend to come with it. The venture money went on top of the POS, not into it. Rinsed, a membership CRM, has raised $35M (Series B $20M led by VMG Technology, April 2023; earlier Bedrock Capital, Founders Fund, Y Combinator) [B]. It now claims 3,000+ washes and 10M+ active members [C, vendor] and integrates with the POS rather than replacing it. EverWash (Philadelphia) runs a membership network across partner washes on $11M disclosed, including $5M of debt [B]. FlexWash sells a cloud POS + CRM + LPR that integrates with existing controllers "so you can switch… without rewiring your tunnel" [C, vendor]. That is the only replacement wedge we saw, and its funding is not reported by any outlet we could open. The buyer is consolidating and levered. Mister Car Wash (548 locations, about 2.3M Unlimited Wash Club members, 76% of wash sales from members [A]) was taken private by Leonard Green & Partners at about $3.1B enterprise value, completed May 2026 [B]. Whistle Express (Oaktree) bought about 380 sites from Driven Brands for $385M in April 2025, which took it to about 530 [B]. In the same period Zips filed Chapter 11 with $654M of debt [B]. Chains of that size pick one POS for hundreds of sites and negotiate hard; the long tail is served by the equipment vendor that built its tunnel. Incumbent vulnerability decides it. DRB is well capitalised, owns the controller layer and already bought its main cloud challenger, and the membership-CRM wedge is already funded and taken by Rinsed.