Parking Operations & Payments Software
The buyer population — Parking lots and garages
Base industry report for 812930 →- Establishments · CanadaA
- 369
- Under 10 employeesA
- 77%
- Establishments · USA
- 11,944
- Employment · USA
- 121,135
- Payroll · USA
- $3.6B
Of 369 Canadian establishments with employees, 77% have fewer than ten — an industry of very small operators. Each of those is one potential account, before any filter for size or fit.
Entry signal — what decides who wins here
One thing must be trueEntry turns on a single condition that can be named and tested before much is spent. Clear it and this becomes an execution question; fail it and no amount of operating skill helps.
Displace an incumbent the screen found well defended — payments attached to the workflow, data that does not leave, a contract that renews itself. Share here means giving a buyer a reason to break something that currently works, which is a higher bar than being better.
Measured, not forecast: the share of US establishments opening in one year that were still active later. It counts good operators and bad ones together, which is exactly why it is the honest answer to “what are the odds”. It is for the whole sector rather than this market, and the ten-year figure comes from an older cohort because no younger one has reached ten years.
This is not a probability of success, and it is not a verdict on you. No survival probability is published per market, and inventing one would be worse than saying so. What the bar reads is how much of the outcome sits inside an operator's control: green means the hurdles are ones a better operator clears, red means the binding constraint is capital, an asset or a permission rather than execution. Someone arriving with an advantage this screen did not assume can win a market shown in red.
Companies named in this market · 14
The binding constraint — incumbent vulnerability
Two roll-ups now hold both ends of this market, and both have more capital than any new entrant could raise. On the operator side, Metropolis bought SP+ for about $1.5B in enterprise value in May 2024. It funded the deal with $1.05B of Series C equity and $550M of term debt, led by Eldridge Industries [B, company release]. That made it what it calls the largest parking operator in North America, with more than 4,000 locations [C, vendor]. In November 2025 it added a ~$500M Series D led by LionTree and a $1.1B term loan at about a $5B valuation [B, company release]. Metropolis is both the customer and the vendor: it runs garages with its own computer-vision checkout instead of buying PARCS from someone else. On the municipal and on-street side, EasyPark Group bought ParkMobile in 2021. It closed on Flowbird, the pay-station maker, in January 2025 and added Parkopedia. In June 2025 it renamed itself Arrive, now covering 90+ countries and 20,000 cities [C, vendor]. France's competition authority cleared the Flowbird deal and found no foreclosure risk [A, regulator]. So the app, the meter and the parking-data layer now sit with one PE-owned group (Vitruvian, Verdane, Searchlight). The middle tier is well funded too. Flash raised $250M+ led by Vista at a $1B+ valuation in 2022 for cloud PARCS. Passport had raised $125M by 2019 for municipal mobile pay, permits and enforcement. ParkHub merged with the UK's JustPark in 2024 on an FTV Capital growth round and now trades as JustPark. The one measurable incumbent is stagnant, but that is not an opening. T2 Systems (universities, hospitals, municipalities; permits, enforcement, pay stations) is the only vendor here with published revenue. Verra Mobility paid $347M for it in 2021, when it expected nearly $80M of revenue. Its Parking Solutions segment reported $82.6M for 2025, flat in four years. Customers fell from more than 1,900 to about 1,775, and Verra wrote off $97.1M of the segment's goodwill in 2024 [A, 10-K]. The accounts Verra is losing are going to Passport, Flash and the Arrive brands, which already have the capital and the city contracts. They are not open to a new entrant.
The incumbent
Who owns this market and who is coming for it. Fields a screen never reached say so rather than guessing.
Financials & market size — sourced
Figures that came from a filing, a results release or reputable reporting, each carrying its evidence tier.
The field
Every vendor named on this record, and what each one discloses. Most disclose nothing, which is why the market is not sized.
Competitor set · 8 named · 1 disclose revenue
| Name | Revenue | Share | Note |
|---|---|---|---|
| Metropolis (incl. SP+)B | not disclosed | — | Private. SP+ taken private for ~$1.5B EV (May 2024); ~$5B valuation at the Nov 2025 Series D. Claims $5B+ annual transactions, which is gross payment volume, not revenue |
| Arrive (EasyPark Group, ParkMobile, Flowbird, RingGo, Parkopedia)B | not disclosed | — | Private (Vitruvian, Verdane, Searchlight). Terms of the ParkMobile and Flowbird deals not disclosed |
| T2 Systems (Verra Mobility Parking Solutions)NASDAQ: VRRMA | $$82.6M (2025) | — | Verra FY2025 10-K: Parking Solutions segment $82.6M revenue (about 8% of the total), ~1,775 customers, ~180M transactions; service revenue $66.7M vs $66.1M (+0.9%); $97.1M goodwill impairment in 2024. Bought for $347M in Dec 2021, when it expected nearly $80M of 2021 revenue |
| FlashB | not disclosed | — | Private; $250M+ round led by Vista Equity Partners (Mar 2022) at a $1B+ valuation, alongside existing lead investor L Catterton. Claims 10,000+ locations and $1B+ annual transactions |
| PassportB | not disclosed | — | Private; $65M Series D led by Rho Capital Partners (Dec 2019) brought the total to $125M. Nearly 1,000 clients claimed then |
| JustParkB | not disclosed | — | Private; ParkHub merged with JustPark in Mar 2024 with a growth investment led by FTV Capital alongside LLR Partners (amount undisclosed), and rebranded as JustPark in Apr 2025. Claims $1B+ booking volume |
| SpotHeroB | not disclosed | — | Private consumer reservations marketplace; $50M Series D led by Macquarie Capital (Aug 2019), $118M total at that date |
| HONKB | not disclosed | — | Private, Toronto; only a $3M seed led by Impression Ventures (Oct 2015) is confirmed |
Startups & challengers
Newer and smaller vendors going at the incumbent — funded challengers first. Named, not researched to the depth of the field above; a company with a page here links to it.
| Company | Stage | What it does | Raised |
|---|---|---|---|
| Metropolis Technologies | Funded challenger | Computer-vision checkout and payments for parking facilities it operates | $1.55B |
| Parkhub | Funded challenger | Event and venue parking payments and operations | — |
| Parkable | Startup | Parking management for workplaces and car park owners | — |
| Parkade | Startup | Parking assignment and permit sales for multifamily properties. | — |
| Vend Park | Startup | Turns property lots into paid parking with mobile payments | — |
| Community Boss | Scrappy competitor | Parking permits and amenity booking for apartment, HOA and student housing managers. | — |
| Reliant Parking | Scrappy competitor | Parking permit and enforcement management for apartments, HOAs and student housing | — |
Evidence
Evidence. Metropolis's SP+ close (2024-05-16) and Series D (2025-11-06) were opened on metropolis.io [B for the rounds it announces; its customer, location and transaction counts are C]. EasyPark's ParkMobile close (2021-06-01) was opened in Digital Transactions [B]; terms were not disclosed. The Flowbird close (2025-01-15) was opened in the Cision release [B], and the French Autorite de la concurrence clearance (2024-11-20) on its own site [A]. The Arrive rebrand (2025-06-12), which lists Parkopedia as an integrated brand, was opened on arrive.com [C, vendor]. The date Parkopedia was acquired was not sourced, and parkopedia.com returned 403, so it is not in the companies file. Verra Mobility's FY2025 10-K (filed 2026-02-24) was opened on EDGAR: Parking Solutions $82.6M, ~1,775 customers, $97.1M FY2024 goodwill impairment [A]. Its 8-K exhibit closing T2 (2021-12-07, $347M, ~$80M expected 2021 revenue, 1,900+ customers) was opened [A]. Thoma Bravo's 2016 purchase of T2 from Pamlico was opened [B]. Funding rounds opened: Flash (company blog, Vista-led $250M+, 2022) [B], Passport Series D (Parking.net, 2019-12-10) [B], SpotHero Series D (IPMI, 2019-08-22) [B], ParkHub/JustPark (FTV Capital release, 2024-03-21; Dallas Innovates rebrand, 2025-04-10) [B], HONK seed (BetaKit, 2015-10-06) [B]. Passport, SpotHero and HONK totals are as of those dates, and later rounds were not found within the search budget. Aggregator totals (e.g. HONK's '$33.3M') were seen and NOT used. No market-size figure was sourced. T2 is the only vendor with published revenue, and Metropolis's '$5B in annual transactions' is gross payment volume, not revenue. Not covered: PARCS hardware incumbents (Amano McGann, SKIDATA, HUB), PayByPhone, Reef and Impark (operators, customers not vendors). Verify before acting.
Where the industry talks
The associations, forums and events where people in this trade actually talk shop — where to listen before entering, and where the first customers are found. Each link was opened on the date shown.
Parking, mobility and transportation professionals' association; publishes Parking & Mobility Magazine and runs an online forum. Member count not stated on home page.
The sector's main North American conference and trade show; June 6-9, 2027, Orlando.
Canadian trade association with a member directory and RFP board; 2026 Conference & Trade Show in Montreal.
UK parking and traffic-management trade body; runs the Approved Operator Scheme for private parking operators.
National Parking Association (weareparking.org) returned a Cloudflare challenge, and Parking Today (parkingtoday.com) returned 403, so neither is listed.