Franchise compliance SaaS — the franchisor's inspection regime, billed to the franchisee
Entry signal — what decides who wins here
One thing must be trueEntry turns on a single condition that can be named and tested before much is spent. Clear it and this becomes an execution question; fail it and no amount of operating skill helps.
Prove the value in money the buyer already counts. The need is real; what is unproven is that this buyer moves budget for it. That is a priced test with real customers, not a product problem.
Measured, not forecast: the share of US establishments opening in one year that were still active later. It counts good operators and bad ones together, which is exactly why it is the honest answer to “what are the odds”. It is for the whole sector rather than this market, and the ten-year figure comes from an older cohort because no younger one has reached ten years.
This is not a probability of success, and it is not a verdict on you. No survival probability is published per market, and inventing one would be worse than saying so. What the bar reads is how much of the outcome sits inside an operator's control: green means the hurdles are ones a better operator clears, red means the binding constraint is capital, an asset or a permission rather than execution. Someone arriving with an advantage this screen did not assume can win a market shown in red.
Companies named in this market · 6
The binding constraint — willingness to pay
The franchisor decides, the franchisee pays, and what the franchisee is paying for is being inspected. That split is not a soft objection here — it is written into the disclosure regime. Under the FTC Franchise Rule a franchisor may require a system and charge for it, but Item 6 must tabulate every other fee the franchisee must pay or that the franchisor collects in whole or part for a third party, Item 8 must disclose required purchases of computer hardware and software, and Item 11 must state the cost of purchasing or leasing the system, the annual cost of support contracts, any obligation to upgrade, any contractual limit on the frequency and cost of that upgrade, and whether the franchisor will have independent access to the data the system holds [A, 16 CFR 436.5]. The price of an audit tool therefore has to survive being printed in a document the prospect reads before signing — and the payer is a small operator of whom 64% are first-time business owners [B, IFA]. Above that constraint the capability is already shipped: FranConnect claims nearly 1,500 brands and 1.3 million audits processed a year; Crunchtime, which absorbed Zenput, claims 850+ restaurant brands across 150,000+ locations [C, vendor]. An entrant is not filling a gap. It is asking a first-time small-business owner to fund the franchisor's inspection regime, at a price that must be disclosed in advance, against modules the franchisor has already bought. NAICS 5331 is the navigation anchor, not a claim: the franchise model runs across food service, fitness, home services, automotive and retail, which is why no single industry code contains this market.
The incumbent
Who owns this market and who is coming for it. Fields a screen never reached say so rather than guessing.
Financials & market size — sourced
Figures that came from a filing, a results release or reputable reporting, each carrying its evidence tier.
The field
Every vendor named on this record, and what each one discloses. Most disclose nothing, which is why the market is not sized.
Competitor set · 6 named · 0 disclose revenue
| Name | Revenue | Share | Note |
|---|---|---|---|
| FranConnectC | not disclosed | — | Private; no revenue published. Vendor site claims nearly 1,500 brands and 1.3 million audits processed annually (retrieved 2026-09-20) — The franchisor-side suite of record; compliance is one stage of its lifecycle product, not a separate purchase |
| Crunchtime (incl. Zenput)C | not disclosed | — | Private; no revenue published. Vendor site claims 850+ restaurant brands in 150,000+ locations (retrieved 2026-09-20) — Absorbed Zenput, the standalone store-execution and brand-standards vendor — the clearest signal that this is a module inside an operations suite |
| Zebra Technologies (Workcloud, ex-Reflexis)NASDAQ: ZBRAA | not disclosed | — | No task-management or compliance line is disclosed. The FY2025 10-K (year ended 2025-12-31, filed 2026-02-12) disaggregates revenue only into Tangible Products $4,418M and Services and Software $978M across two segments, total $5,396M — software is inside a line that also carries hardware maintenance — Bought Reflexis for $548M cash net of cash acquired on 2020-09-01 [A, FY2020 10-K]; the Reflexis brand no longer appears in the FY2025 10-K |
| JoltC | not disclosed | — | Private; no revenue published and no customer count sourced in this screen — Checklist, food-safety and task execution at the unit — the low end of the same job |
| OpterusC | not disclosed | — | Private; no revenue published. Vendor site carried no customer count that could be read in this screen — Store communications and task management sold to multi-unit retail rather than to franchisors specifically |
| TangoC | not disclosed | — | Private; no revenue published — Store lifecycle and site management; reaches compliance from the real-estate side |
Nobody here publishes revenue. The market is not sized for that reason — an estimate built on nothing would only look like knowledge.
Vendor landscape
Market leaders, the full paid field, and every open-source alternative. Where a free tier exists it is what sets the price floor, so it is analysis rather than an appendix.
Nearly 1,500 brands, 1.3M audits a year, 25+ years in the trade — all vendor claims; private, no revenue [C, vendor]
850+ restaurant brands in 150,000+ locations claimed; private, no revenue [C, vendor]
Inside a $978M Services and Software line that grew 1.3% in FY2025; no product-level figure exists [A]
Paid field · 8 vendors
Compliance as one stage of a seven-stage lifecycle suite
Brand standards, food safety and task execution at the unit
Checklists and food safety at the low end
Store communications and task management
Ex-Reflexis task and execution platform, sold beside the hardware
Site lifecycle, reaching compliance from real estate
Low-cost franchisor suite; compliance bundled
The low-code route a mid-sized franchisor takes instead of buying
Open source · 3 projects — the price floor
Quality, maintenance and checklist modules that a franchisor's IT contractor can bend into an audit tool
Same story from the ERP side — forms, workflows and approvals at no licence cost
Form and workflow builder; the audit checklist is a form, and this is what a build starts from
The compliance artefact is a checklist and a photo, and that is the problem. Nothing in a brand-standards audit is technically hard; what makes an incumbent hard to dislodge is that the audit history is years deep and the system is written into the franchise agreement. A new vendor can match the product in a quarter and still cannot get the franchisor to re-issue an FDD to name it.
Evidence
Evidence. Sourced: 16 CFR 436.5 (the FTC Franchise Rule disclosure items) read in full from the current eCFR on 2026-09-20 — Item 6 other fees, Item 8 required purchases of computer hardware and software, and Item 11(5) required computer systems including cost, upgrade obligations, contractual limits on upgrade frequency and cost, and franchisor access to system data. Zebra Technologies FY2025 10-K (year ended 2025-12-31, filed 2026-02-12) for the Tangible Products / Services and Software disaggregation, and FY2020 10-K (filed 2021-02-11) for the $548M Reflexis purchase price. Driven Brands FY2025 10-K (year ended 2025-12-27, filed 2026-05-19) for the multi-brand franchisor counts. US County Business Patterns 2022 and Statistics Canada 33-10-0806-01 establishment counts come from this atlas's own industry-stats data. IFA figures are from franchise.org, retrieved 2026-09-20 — a trade association publishing its own advocacy numbers, tiered B. NOT sourced, and not estimated: no market size for franchise compliance software exists in this record. FranConnect, Crunchtime, Zenput, Jolt, Opterus, Tango and FranchiseSoft are all private and publish no revenue — that is the finding, not a gap, and every scale figure attributed to them is a vendor marketing claim tiered C. Naranga is defunct and no longer trading — operator knowledge rather than a filing, so tier C; its site stopped resolving on 2026-09-20, which is consistent but is not itself proof. No analyst quadrant or share estimate is used. UNVERIFIED: the count of US franchise brands; the CBP 5331 figure is a proxy and includes patent and trademark licensors while excluding franchisors coded to their operating industry. Verify before acting.
Where the industry talks
The associations, forums and events where people in this trade actually talk shop — where to listen before entering, and where the first customers are found. Each link was opened on the date shown.
National franchise association; its About page says it represents hundreds of franchise brands and franchise support services. Publishes Franchise Canada.
US franchise trade association with franchisor, franchisee and supplier membership; publishes an annual IFA Impact Report.
IFA's main event; 2027 convention Feb 22-24 at Mandalay Bay, Las Vegas, per its site.
Franchise Update Media conference for multi-unit franchisees; 2027 edition starts April 27 per the site's event schema.
Franchise trade magazine; September 2026 issue shown as current at the time of the check.
Franchise Update Media's news site and newsletters (Franchise Update, Multi-Unit Franchisee); franchiseupdate.com redirects here.
Blue MauMau, once the franchisee discussion site, no longer resolves and is left off.