Operating business29% entry signalMarket screen5 sourced figuresStructure decidescapital intensity

Franchise & Trademark Royalty Ownership

Prepared 2026-09-19

The industry — Lessors of non-financial intangible assets (except copyrighted works)

Base industry report for 5331 →
Establishments · CanadaA
554
with employees
Under 10 employeesA
63%
most common size: 1–4
Establishments · USA
2,729
Employment · USA
39,529
14 per establishment
Payroll · USA
$5.3B
$135k per employee

Of 554 Canadian establishments with employees, 63% have fewer than ten — mostly small operators.

Entry signal — what decides who wins here

Structure decides
Structure decides One thing must be true Execution decides

The binding constraint is not executional. Being better than the incumbent does not, by itself, get you in — this one is cleared with capital, an asset, or a permission.

What you would have to beat

Come with the asset, or buy the business that owns it. Plant, fleet, land or quota decide this market before any operating skill does. Operators here are bought, not started.

How it was read
Binding constraintUNVERIFIEDcapital intensity — Capital — being better does not, by itself, clear it.
How fragmented the field isA63% of establishments have fewer than ten employees — Fragmented — there is share to take and no scale operator to displace.
What it costs to be in the businessUNVERIFIEDlow capital — The structural profile of subsector 533, inherited by every industry beneath it.
How many new establishments are still tradingA
Real Estate and Rental and Leasing, US · opened 2020
88.7%
1 year
70.3%
3 years
57.9%
5 years
45%
10 years
opened 2015

Measured, not forecast: the share of US establishments opening in one year that were still active later. It counts good operators and bad ones together, which is exactly why it is the honest answer to “what are the odds”. It is for the whole sector rather than this market, and the ten-year figure comes from an older cohort because no younger one has reached ten years.

This is not a probability of success, and it is not a verdict on you. No survival probability is published per market, and inventing one would be worse than saying so. What the bar reads is how much of the outcome sits inside an operator's control: green means the hurdles are ones a better operator clears, red means the binding constraint is capital, an asset or a permission rather than execution. Someone arriving with an advantage this screen did not assume can win a market shown in red.

Companies named in this market · 4

The binding constraint — capital intensity

Owning a trademark and collecting a percentage of someone else's sales is as light an operating business as exists, and the 554 Canadian establishments — mostly franchisor head offices, 453 of them under 20 staff — show it is a common one. But a royalty is a result, not a starting point: the franchisor's asset was built over years of running the underlying restaurants, oil-change bays or brokerages, which is a screen for those industries rather than this one. The only way to enter this code directly is to buy a royalty that already exists, and Diversified Royalty Corp. publishes the price. In June 2025 it paid US$36 million in cash for the Cheba Hut trademarks and licensed them back for US$4 million a year — nine times the initial royalty, an 11% starting yield — on a 50-year licence escalating at the greater of 3.5% or US CPI plus 1.5% [A]. After more than a decade of such purchases its whole portfolio of nine royalty streams produced $70.8M of revenue in 2025, with organic royalty growth of 4.1% [A]. So the ticket is tens of millions per brand, the seller is a franchisor with other financing options, and the buyer's edge is cost of capital — a listed vehicle paying out 88% of its cash as dividends will outbid a private entrant for any royalty worth owning. The IP-management software sold to this branch is screened separately at 533.

Market scalenational

A trademark licence is granted over a country or larger territory and the franchisor's royalty is a share of system-wide sales, so the asset competes — for franchisees if it is a brand, for deals if it is a royalty buyer — nationally and across the border. Diversified Royalty's own portfolio now includes two US-based streams.

Canadian establishments with employeesA 554 (Statistics Canada, December 2023) — 453 with fewer than 20 employees
US establishments, NAICS 5331A 2,729 establishments, 39,529 employees, $5.34B payroll (US County Business Patterns, 2022)
Diversified Royalty Corp. purchase of Cheba Hut trademarks, June 2025A US$36 million cash for an initial royalty of US$4 million a year; 50-year licence; escalator the greater of 3.5% and US CPI + 1.5%
Brand behind that royaltyA 77 restaurants and US$149 million of system sales in 2024
Diversified Royalty Corp. revenue, FY2025A $70.8M, up 8.9%, from nine royalty streams; net income $36.7M
Diversified Royalty weighted average organic royalty growth, FY2025A 4.1% (4.6% in 2024); payout ratio 88.1%
I

Who you would be competing with

The operators already at scale here, and whoever is buying these businesses. In most of these industries the competition an entrant meets is local, so this is who sets the terms rather than a list of everyone in the trade.

Largest operator
Diversified Royalty Corp. (TSX: DIV), the only Canadian vehicle whose whole business is buying royalties from other people's brands
Scale
FY2025 revenue $70.8M, up 8.9%, from nine royalty streams; net income $36.7M; weighted average organic royalty growth 4.1%; payout ratio 88.1%
Concentration
Not published, and probably not meaningful — royalties are bought one brand at a time. What is measurable is the price: US$36 million of cash for an initial US$4 million annual royalty on Cheba Hut in June 2025, a nine-times multiple and an 11% starting yield
Others in the field
The single-brand royalty funds already listed in Toronto — Boston Pizza Royalties Income Fund, A&W Revenue Royalties Income Fund, Pizza Pizza Royalty Corp, The Keg Royalties Income Fund, SIR Royalty Income Fund — plus the franchisors who keep their own royalties rather than sell them, from Restaurant Brands International and MTY Food Group down to the 554 Canadian head offices in this code
Lock-in mechanism
Structural rather than competitive: DIV's Cheba Hut licence runs 50 years and escalates at the greater of 3.5% and US CPI plus 1.5%. That is the term a seller gives up, which is also why a seller with other financing options usually keeps the royalty
Price movement
One observation, not a series: nine times the initial royalty on the June 2025 Cheba Hut purchase. No second transaction was priced for this record
Is the buyer consolidating?
No — There is no roll-up buying franchisor head offices as such. What consolidates is the other direction — a listed royalty vehicle accumulating streams, nine of them at DIV — and it is the vehicle's cost of capital rather than any operating advantage that wins those auctions
F

Financials & market size — sourced

Figures that came from a filing, a results release or reputable reporting, each carrying its evidence tier.

Diversified Royalty Corp. revenue, FY2025A $70.8M, up 8.9%, from nine royalty streams; net income $36.7M
Diversified Royalty organic royalty growth and payout, FY2025A Weighted average organic royalty growth 4.1% (4.6% in 2024); payout ratio 88.1%
Price of one royalty stream, June 2025A US$36 million cash for an initial US$4 million a year from Cheba Hut — nine times, an 11% starting yield, on a 50-year licence
The brand behind that royaltyA 77 restaurants and US$149 million of system sales in 2024
Canadian establishments in this codeA 554 (Statistics Canada, December 2023), 453 of them with fewer than 20 staff — franchisor head offices and licensing entities, not royalty buyers
$

Market size, derived

Built from the competitor set upward rather than quoted from a forecast. Published TAMs in these categories are frequently reverse-engineered from each other, so any published figure is checked against the vendor arithmetic rather than trusted on its own.

Revenue floor
$71M

Disclosed revenue from 1 of 4 named vendors. The market is at least this large.

Implied total — revenue ÷ share
—

No vendor has both a disclosed revenue and a published share.

Published forecast
—Floor only

Only a revenue floor is known — the true market is larger by whatever the undisclosed vendors earn.

Competitor set · 4 named · 1 disclose revenue

NameRevenueShareNote
Diversified Royalty Corp.TSX: DIVA $71M — FY2025 revenue from nine royalty streams
Boston Pizza Royalties Income FundTSX: BPF.UNC not disclosed — A single-brand royalty vehicle: it holds one system's trademarks and licenses them back. Its figures were not opened for this record
A&W Revenue Royalties Income Fund / Pizza Pizza Royalty Corp / The Keg Royalties Income Fund / SIR Royalty Income FundC not disclosed — The rest of the Canadian single-brand royalty funds. All listed, all disclosing, none opened here — named because they are the other bidders' benchmark for what a royalty stream is worth
The franchisors themselvesA not disclosed — Restaurant Brands International, MTY Food Group and the 554 Canadian head offices in this code. They are the sellers, and the reason there is so little to buy: a franchisor sells its royalty only when it wants the cash more than the stream

Evidence

Evidence. Diversified Royalty Corp.'s figures were read from its own releases on GlobeNewswire: the 17 June 2025 Cheba Hut acquisition announcement and the 19 March 2026 fourth-quarter and year-end results [A]. The nine-times multiple and 11% yield are arithmetic on the stated price and royalty. Establishment counts are Statistics Canada (December 2023) and US County Business Patterns (2022) [A]. The limits: one buyer's one deal is a price point, not a market multiple, and DIV's royalties are top-line and structurally senior, which not every royalty is. The description of the establishments as mostly franchisor head offices is inference from the definition and the size bands, not a count. Patent licensing entities, which share this code, were not examined. That a listed royalty vehicle outbids a private entrant is analyst judgment, as is the cut factor. The competitive field names the other Canadian royalty vehicles from general knowledge of the TSX; none of their filings was opened for this record, so their scale is UNVERIFIED and they carry no figures here. That there is no roll-up buying franchisor head offices is an observation about the absence of one, not a sourced finding.

#

Where the industry talks

The associations, forums and events where people in this trade actually talk shop — where to listen before entering, and where the first customers are found. Each link was opened on the date shown.

AssociationCanadaA
Canadian Franchise Association (CFA)
cfa.ca · 650 members (2026-09)

'approximately 650 corporate members' (franchisors and suppliers) per its About page; runs the National Franchise Convention

Checked 2026-09-22
AssociationUSA
International Franchise Association (IFA)
franchise.org

Main US franchisor/franchisee/supplier association; annual IFA Convention; no member count stated on pages opened

Checked 2026-09-22
PublicationCanadaA
Franchise Canada
cfa.ca

CFA's magazine and online news for Canadian franchising

Checked 2026-09-22
PublicationUSA
Franchise Times
franchisetimes.com

US trade publication covering franchisors, deals and franchise finance

Checked 2026-09-22
AssociationInternationalA
Licensing International
licensinginternational.org

Trade association for brand and trademark licensing; no member count stated on pages opened

Checked 2026-09-22
EventUSA
Brand Licensing Expo
brandlicensingexpo.com

Las Vegas trade show for brand licensing; page calls itself the world's largest brand licensing event

Checked 2026-09-22
AssociationInternationalA
International Trademark Association (INTA)
inta.org

Global association of brand owners and trademark professionals; no member count stated on pages opened

Checked 2026-09-22
EventNorth AmericaA
The National Franchise Show
franchiseshowinfo.com

Touring franchise-opportunity expo with Canadian dates in Toronto, Vancouver, Calgary, Montreal and others plus US cities

Checked 2026-09-22

Blue MauMau (bluemaumau.org), once the franchisee news forum, now serves a generic 'business insights' page and is dropped. IPIC (ipic.ca) is live but is for IP practitioners rather than trademark owners.

↔

Software serving this industry

Vertical software markets filed along the same branch of NAICS — who sells to these businesses, and who an entrant would have to displace.