Cross-industry software45% entry signalMarket screenOne thing must be trueincumbent vulnerability

Franchise Management Software — the Franchisor's Platform from Lead to Royalty

Prepared 2026-10-10

Entry signal — what decides who wins here

One thing must be true
Structure decides One thing must be true Execution decides

Entry turns on a single condition that can be named and tested before much is spent. Clear it and this becomes an execution question; fail it and no amount of operating skill helps.

What you would have to beat

Displace an incumbent the screen found well defended — payments attached to the workflow, data that does not leave, a contract that renews itself. Share here means giving a buyer a reason to break something that currently works, which is a higher bar than being better.

How it was read
Binding constraintUNVERIFIEDincumbent vulnerability — Executional — a better operator can move it.
Measured inputsUNVERIFIEDnot applied — This is a software market. The industry’s business counts describe its BUYERS, not the market being entered, so they are left out of the signal.
How many new establishments are still tradingA
Real Estate and Rental and Leasing, US · opened 2020
88.7%
1 year
70.3%
3 years
57.9%
5 years
45%
10 years
opened 2015

Measured, not forecast: the share of US establishments opening in one year that were still active later. It counts good operators and bad ones together, which is exactly why it is the honest answer to “what are the odds”. It is for the whole sector rather than this market, and the ten-year figure comes from an older cohort because no younger one has reached ten years.

This is not a probability of success, and it is not a verdict on you. No survival probability is published per market, and inventing one would be worse than saying so. What the bar reads is how much of the outcome sits inside an operator's control: green means the hurdles are ones a better operator clears, red means the binding constraint is capital, an asset or a permission rather than execution. Someone arriving with an advantage this screen did not assume can win a market shown in red.

Companies named in this market · 13

The binding constraint — incumbent vulnerability

This is the umbrella purchase, and the umbrella has already been bought up. Franchise management software is the franchisor's system of record: the development pipeline from enquiry through FDD receipt to signing, the franchisee CRM and portal, royalty and fee reporting, and the field consultant's visits and audits. The sibling records on this site each take one slice of it — compliance and audits (5331-franchise-compliance-saas), lead-to-open onboarding (5331-franchise-onboarding-saas), unit scheduling (5331-franchise-workforce-management-saas), cross-unit dashboards (5331-multi-location-reporting-saas) — and every one of them found the slice already shipping inside a suite. This record screens the suite itself. FranConnect, Herndon, Virginia, backed by Serent Capital, claims nearly 1,500 brands [C, vendor] and has spent five years buying the alternatives: FranchiseBlast, a field-audit vendor founded in 2007 with 100+ brands, in January 2021; World Manager, used by 500+ brands across 60 countries, in September 2022; and RizePoint, the quality-management and mobile-audit vendor, in February 2024 — its third acquisition in four years by its own count [B, company releases and franchising.com, opened]. Below it sits a fragmented low end — FranchiseSoft, ClientTether, Better, ServiceMinder — selling to emerging brands, and one well-funded newcomer working up from the operations layer: Delightree raised $25M in August 2026 from Innovius, Accel, Timber Grove and Emergent and claims 6,000+ locations [B]. The one verified defection from the incumbent went sideways, not to a specialist. Xponential Fitness — ten brands, about 2,000 open studios — replaced eight systems, FranConnect among them, with Zoho CRM and reports $200,000–$300,000 a year saved [C, Zoho case study]. That is the shape of the threat: at the top, a large franchisor configures a horizontal CRM; at the bottom, an emerging brand buys a cheap all-in-one; the middle is a consolidated incumbent whose lock-in is written into the franchise agreement, because FDD Item 11 must name the required computer system and its cost and upgrade terms [A, 16 CFR 436.5]. Changing platform means re-issuing a disclosure document and re-training every franchisee. The buyer pool is also small — County Business Patterns counts 2,729 US establishments with employees in NAICS 5331 [A], and FranConnect alone claims about half that many brands. Incumbent vulnerability decides it: the incumbent is consolidated rather than weak, and the attacks that work on it come from Zoho-scale horizontal platforms and from venture-funded operations tools, not from a new franchise-specific suite. NAICS 5331 is the navigation anchor only — the franchisor buying this sits in food service, fitness, home services, automotive, education and real estate alike.

I

The incumbent

Who owns this market and who is coming for it. Fields a screen never reached say so rather than guessing.

Incumbent
FranConnect (Serent Capital-backed; absorbed FranchiseBlast, World Manager and RizePoint)
Scale
Nearly 1,500 brands claimed across the FranConnect ecosystem, 'more than 25 years' supporting franchisors, and a stated aim of serving 2,000 brands; after World Manager it claimed reach to over 350,000 locations and franchise units [C, vendor, retrieved 2026-10-10]. Private; no revenue published
Share
No published share from anyone. FranConnect's ~1,500 claimed brands against 2,729 US 5331 establishments with employees [A, CBP 2022] suggests it touches a large minority of franchisors, but the two counts measure different things and no share is asserted
Challengers
FranchiseSoft and ClientTether in franchise development and CRM; Better and ServiceMinder in franchisor-plus-franchisee operations for service brands; Delightree and Operandio working up from the unit operations layer; Zoho as the horizontal platform large franchisors configure instead; Naranga's former installed base
Lock-in mechanism
High, and contractual. The royalty ledger, the development pipeline, years of audit history and the franchisee portal all live in one system, and that system is named in the franchise agreement and disclosed in FDD Item 11 with its cost and upgrade terms [A, 16 CFR 436.5]. A switch is a disclosure change and a system-wide re-training, not a data migration
Price movement
Undisclosed by the incumbent; none of FranConnect, FranchiseSoft, ClientTether or Better publishes list prices. The cost is commonly passed through to franchisees as a technology fee disclosed in the FDD [C, FranConnect guidance], so price is capped by what a franchisor will print in Item 6 and defend to its franchisees
Is the buyer consolidating?
Yes — Multi-brand franchisor platforms (Xponential with ten fitness brands; Driven Brands, Authority Brands and similar roll-ups) buy once for many brands, and the largest of them are the ones able to configure a horizontal CRM instead — Xponential's move off FranConnect onto Zoho CRM is the documented case
V

The field

Every vendor named on this record, and what each one discloses. Most disclose nothing, which is why the market is not sized.

Competitor set · 9 named · 0 disclose revenue

NameRevenueShareNote
FranConnectC not disclosed — Private and Serent Capital-backed (franchising.com, 2022-09-07); no revenue published. Vendor claims retrieved 2026-10-10: nearly 1,500 brands; aim of 2,000 brands (2025-12-03 release); 1.3 million audits a year. Acquired FranchiseBlast (2021-01-19), World Manager (2022-09-07) and RizePoint (2024-02-27), terms undisclosed — The suite of record, built by buying the alternatives. HQ Herndon, Virginia; IFA supplier member since 2001 per its site
FranchiseSoftC not disclosed — Private; no revenue, customer count or founding year published on its site. One case study claims 100 franchise agreements in two years for Bruster's Ice Cream [C] — All-in-one franchisor suite for emerging brands — sales CRM, broker CRM, onboarding, LMS, audits, ticketing, finance and royalties. Canadian per search.cos (Mississauga); the site states no address
ClientTetherC not disclosed — Private; no revenue or funding disclosed by the company. Aggregator funding figures conflict and are not used — Franchise CRM and development pipeline with unit-ops add-ons (quoting, invoicing, royalty reconciliation). Overlaps the onboarding and compliance siblings
Better SoftwareC not disclosed — Private; no revenue or funding disclosed by the company. Site footer gives a PO box in Ottawa (Nepean), Ontario; the Kanata location in the brief comes from aggregator listings and was not confirmed — Canadian franchisor-and-franchisee software — CRM, invoicing, scheduling, texting, reporting, data warehouse — aimed at service franchises
ServiceMinderC not disclosed — Private; site copyright names Acuere Software LLC, Plano, Texas. Claims 2,300+ franchise locations and 14+ years [C, vendor] — Franchise-specific field-service platform for home and commercial service franchises, built around the franchisor/franchisee hierarchy — FSM rather than franchise development
ZohoC not disclosed — Private; no franchise line disclosed. Runs a 'Zoho for Franchises' programme and a Canadian franchise page; Xponential Fitness case study (ten brands, ~2,000 open studios) reports replacing eight systems including FranConnect and saving $200,000–$300,000 a year [C, vendor case study] — The horizontal threat at the top of the market: a configurable CRM plus Sign, Analytics and Creator, priced as a general platform
DelightreeB not disclosed — Private. Raised $25M announced 2026-08-14 (Innovius, Accel, Timber Grove Ventures, Emergent) [B, Pulse 2.0]; earlier $3M seed led by Accel, August 2020 [B, York IE]. Claims 150+ franchise brands and 6,000+ locations [C] — The best-funded newcomer: franchise operations platform (SOPs, training, tasks, audits, Location Launcher) with AI search — coming up from the unit layer toward the franchisor suite
OperandioC not disclosed — Private; Operandio Pty Ltd per its trademark notice (Australian entity). No funding or revenue disclosed; claims 'thousands of multi-unit brands' [C] — Franchise and multi-unit operating system — recruitment, openings, training, tasks, audits, food safety. Overlaps the compliance and onboarding siblings more than the development core
NarangaC not disclosed — Never published revenue. Formed in 2014 when Edible Arrangements founder Tariq Farid bought eMaximation and renamed it Naranga [B, franchising.com, 2014-12-17]. naranga.com has no web address record (checked 2026-10-10) — A former full suite (franchise sales, franchisee management, training, QA) whose site no longer resolves. US-origin, not Canadian as briefed. Its installed base is a source of accounts, not a rival

Nobody here publishes revenue. The market is not sized for that reason — an estimate built on nothing would only look like knowledge.

S

Startups & challengers

Newer and smaller vendors going at the incumbent — funded challengers first. Named, not researched to the depth of the field above; a company with a page here links to it.

CompanyStageWhat it doesRaised
Delightree Funded challenger AI franchise operations platform; $25M round Aug 2026 (Innovius, Accel, Timber Grove, Emergent); 6,000+ locations claimed $28m
Operandio Startup Franchise and multi-unit operating system (tasks, audits, training, openings); Australian Pty Ltd; no funding disclosed —
Better Software Scrappy competitor Ottawa-area franchisor and franchisee software: CRM, invoicing, scheduling, texting, reporting; no funding disclosed by the company —
EZee Assist Scrappy competitor Franchise AI operating system — answers, reporting, compliance checks for HQ and coaches. Listed by aggregators as formerly Proco (2023) —
V

Vendor landscape

Market leaders, the full paid field, and every open-source alternative. Where a free tier exists it is what sets the price floor, so it is analysis rather than an appendix.

FranConnectC

Nearly 1,500 brands claimed [C]; private, Serent Capital-backed; three acquisitions 2021–2024 [B]

Zoho (franchise use of CRM and Creator)C

No franchise figure; Xponential case study is the documented large-franchisor switch [C]

Paid field · 8 vendors

FranConnectMid-market to enterprise franchisors

Full lifecycle suite; includes former FranchiseBlast, World Manager and RizePoint

FranchiseSoftEmerging brands

All-in-one, low cost; Canadian per search.cos

ClientTetherFranchise development and CRM

Sales-led; private

BetterService franchises, small systems

Canadian (Ottawa area)

ServiceMinderHome and commercial service franchises

FSM built for the franchisor hierarchy

DelightreeUnit operations, upward

Venture-funded; $25M in August 2026

OperandioUnit operations, multi-unit

Australian entity

ZohoHorizontal platform

Configured by large franchisors in place of a franchise suite

Open source · 2 projects — the price floor

SuiteCRMAGPL-3.0

General CRM a franchisor could configure for a development pipeline; carries no royalty, FDD-receipt or field-audit model

Odoo CommunityLGPL-3.0

ERP/CRM suite with portal and accounting; franchise royalty logic would be custom-built

The suite is consolidated at the top and fragmented at the bottom, and the pressure on it comes from outside the category. FranConnect has bought the field-audit, learning and quality-management specialists one by one; the low end is a cluster of small private suites aimed at emerging brands; and the two forces that actually move accounts are horizontal CRM platforms configured by large franchisors and venture-funded operations tools climbing up from the unit.

Evidence

Evidence. Opened and read 2026-10-10. Tier B (company releases and trade press, opened): franchising.com 2022-09-07 on the World Manager acquisition ('Backed by private-equity investor Serent Capital', Herndon HQ, offices in Australia, India, Colombia and Canada; World Manager used by 500+ brands in 60 countries; FranConnect afterwards nearly 1,500 brands and over 350,000 locations reached); FranConnect's own releases on FranchiseBlast (2021-01-19; founded 2007, 100+ brands), RizePoint (2024-02-27; third acquisition in four years; terms undisclosed; Canaccord Genuity advised the seller) and Wendell Jisa as executive chair (2025-12-03; 'towards serving 2,000 brands'); Pulse 2.0 on Delightree's $25M (2026-08-14; Innovius, Accel, Timber Grove Ventures, Emergent; 6,000+ locations) and York IE on its $3M seed led by Accel (2020-08-07); franchising.com 2014-12-17 on Naranga's formation from eMaximation. Tier C (vendor pages, opened): FranConnect, FranchiseSoft, ClientTether, Better, ServiceMinder, Operandio, Delightree, EZee Assist and Zoho homepages; Zoho's Xponential Fitness case study (eight systems replaced including FranConnect; $200,000–$300,000 a year saved; ten brands, ~2,000 studios). Tier A: 16 CFR 436.5 Item 11 and the CBP 2022 count of 2,729 US 5331 establishments, both carried from the sibling records' sourcing. NOT sourced, stated plainly: Market size and vendor revenue UNVERIFIED — no vendor in this set publishes revenue, and no market figure is asserted. FranConnect's total funding is not stated: the Serent investment amount was never disclosed and aggregator totals are not used. The date of the Process Peak acquisition and Serent's entry date could not be confirmed from a primary source and are not claimed. FranchiseSoft's Mississauga HQ comes from search.cos; its site gives only a toll-free number. Better's Kanata address, Proco's renaming to EZee Assist and Proco's Antler pre-seed come from aggregator listings only and are not relied on — Better's site shows an Ottawa (Nepean) PO box. Naranga was briefed as Canadian; the 2014 source shows a US origin, and its domain has no web address record as of 2026-10-10, which is consistent with it having ceased but is not proof. Brandzooka, also briefed, was checked and is a self-serve advertising platform with a franchise page, not franchise management software, so it is left out of the competitor field. 'Franchise Soft/FRM' could not be identified as a separate vendor from FranchiseSoft and is not listed. RizePoint, World Manager and FranchiseBlast are inside FranConnect and their domains no longer serve their own sites.

#

Where the industry talks

The associations, forums and events where people in this trade actually talk shop — where to listen before entering, and where the first customers are found. Each link was opened on the date shown.

AssociationCanadaA
Canadian Franchise Association (CFA)
cfa.ca

National franchisor and supplier association; publishes Franchise Canada. Live at check

Checked 2026-10-10
AssociationInternationalC
International Franchise Association (IFA)
franchise.org

Franchisor, franchisee and supplier body; FranConnect states IFA supplier membership since 2001. Site returned a Cloudflare challenge on 2026-10-10; confirmed live in sibling records 2026-09-22

Checked 2026-10-10
EventUSA
Franchise Leadership & Development Conference (FLDC)
franchisedevelopmentconference.com

Franchise Update Media conference for franchise-development executives — the buyer of the development module in this suite

Checked 2026-10-10
EventUSA
Multi-Unit Franchising Conference
multiunitfranchisingconference.com

Franchise Update Media conference for multi-unit franchisees; 2027 edition advertised at check

Checked 2026-10-10
PublicationUSA
Franchise Times
franchisetimes.com

Trade title for franchisors and franchisees: M&A, finance, legal, operations

Checked 2026-10-10
PublicationUSA
Franchising.com (Franchise Update Media)
franchising.com

Franchise news hub; carried the World Manager and Naranga announcements cited here

Checked 2026-10-10

The IFA Annual Convention page returned a Cloudflare challenge on 2026-10-10 and is not listed separately; it is covered under the IFA entry.