Multi-location reporting SaaS — one dashboard across every unit in the system
Entry signal — what decides who wins here
One thing must be trueEntry turns on a single condition that can be named and tested before much is spent. Clear it and this becomes an execution question; fail it and no amount of operating skill helps.
Find something that compounds. Entry is achievable and so is the first customer; what is missing is a reason the next entrant cannot repeat it as easily as you did.
Measured, not forecast: the share of US establishments opening in one year that were still active later. It counts good operators and bad ones together, which is exactly why it is the honest answer to “what are the odds”. It is for the whole sector rather than this market, and the ten-year figure comes from an older cohort because no younger one has reached ten years.
This is not a probability of success, and it is not a verdict on you. No survival probability is published per market, and inventing one would be worse than saying so. What the bar reads is how much of the outcome sits inside an operator's control: green means the hurdles are ones a better operator clears, red means the binding constraint is capital, an asset or a permission rather than execution. Someone arriving with an advantage this screen did not assume can win a market shown in red.
Companies named in this market · 5
The binding constraint — defensibility
Nothing in this job stops a general BI tool from doing it, and the market has just put a price on that. Domo — the nearest thing to a pure-play dashboard business — reported $318.9M of revenue for the year ended 31 January 2026, up 0.6% on the prior year's $317.0M, and on 22 July 2026 signed an asset purchase agreement to sell substantially all of its assets and employees to Progress Software for approximately $400M in cash [A, 10-Q/10-K figures and the DEFM14C filed 2026-08-24]. That is a little over one times revenue for the independent in a category the buyer's existing vendor also covers. Underneath, Power BI Pro lists at $14.00 per user per month with a free tier inside Microsoft Fabric [B, vendor price page, 2026-09-20], and Metabase, Apache Superset and Grafana are free. The franchise-specific version has no structural answer to this, because the asset the product depends on is not the software. The franchisor's right to reach unit-level data is a term of the franchise agreement: FTC Franchise Rule Item 11 requires the franchisor to disclose whether it will have independent access to the information generated or stored in the required system, and any contractual limits on that right [A, 16 CFR 436.5(k)(5)(v)]. Whoever holds that right can point any tool at the data. A reporting vendor sits on top of a right it does not own, selling into a buyer whose BI licence is already paid for. NAICS 5331 is a navigation anchor, not a claim about where this market sits.
The incumbent
Who owns this market and who is coming for it. Fields a screen never reached say so rather than guessing.
Financials & market size — sourced
Figures that came from a filing, a results release or reputable reporting, each carrying its evidence tier.
The field
Every vendor named on this record, and what each one discloses. Most disclose nothing, which is why the market is not sized.
Competitor set · 6 named · 0 disclose revenue
| Name | Revenue | Share | Note |
|---|---|---|---|
| DomoNASDAQ: DOMOA | not disclosed | — | Revenue of $318,857,000 for the fiscal year ended 2026-01-31 against $317,044,000 for the year ended 2025-01-31, per the FY2026 10-K figures in SEC XBRL company facts. Still listed while the sale is pending; the figure is left out of any market floor because Domo's revenue is all-industry BI, not multi-location reporting — Agreed on 2026-07-22 to sell substantially all assets and employees to Progress Software for ~$400M cash, excluding its NOLs; stockholder approval was taken by written consent and disclosed in the DEFM14C filed 2026-08-24 |
| Microsoft Power BINASDAQ: MSFTC | not disclosed | — | No Power BI revenue line is published in Microsoft's segment reporting; this was NOT checked against the 10-K in this screen, so the non-disclosure is tiered C rather than A. Price is sourced: $14.00 per user per month (Pro), $24.00 (Premium Per User), free tier in Fabric, vendor price page retrieved 2026-09-20 — The substitute that decides this category: already licensed at most buyers of any size |
| Tableau (Salesforce)NYSE: CRMC | not disclosed | — | Not broken out in Salesforce's reporting; no Tableau figure was opened or cited in this screen — The other default the franchisor's finance team already knows |
| SisenseC | not disclosed | — | Private; no revenue published — Embedded analytics — the OEM route by which a franchise suite ships a dashboard without building one |
| FranConnectC | not disclosed | — | Private; no revenue published. Vendor site claims nearly 1,500 brands and 178K+ locations represented in its benchmark data (retrieved 2026-09-20) — Ships network-wide scorecards and benchmarks as part of the franchisor suite — the buyer's reporting need is partly met before an entrant arrives |
| Restaurant365C | not disclosed | — | Private; no revenue published. Vendor site claims more than 52,000 restaurants (retrieved 2026-09-20) — Back-office and accounting for multi-unit restaurants; its reporting is a by-product of holding the ledger |
Nobody here publishes revenue. The market is not sized for that reason — an estimate built on nothing would only look like knowledge.
Vendor landscape
Market leaders, the full paid field, and every open-source alternative. Where a free tier exists it is what sets the price floor, so it is analysis rather than an appendix.
$14.00 per user/month with a free tier; no revenue line published [B on price, C on the non-disclosure]
$318.9M revenue FY2026, +0.6%; assets being sold to Progress Software for ~$400M cash [A]
Not broken out; no figure cited [C]
Paid field · 7 vendors
Already licensed at most buyers; the real incumbent
The finance team's existing tool
Flat revenue; being absorbed by Progress Software
How a franchise suite ships a dashboard without building one
Network scorecards inside the lifecycle suite
Operational reporting as a by-product of holding the inventory and labour data
Reporting off the general ledger
Open source · 3 projects — the price floor
The default free answer for a multi-site operator who wants dashboards over a Postgres warehouse
Foundation-governed, enterprise-capable, and genuinely free — no vendor to be squeezed by
Operational dashboards with alerting; increasingly used well outside infrastructure monitoring
This is the one of the four where a general-purpose tool is the incumbent. The competitive set is not the franchise vendors; it is whatever BI licence the buyer already holds, plus three mature open-source projects. That is why the cut is defensibility rather than incumbency: an entrant can win the first customer and still have built nothing the next entrant cannot repeat.
Evidence
Evidence. Sourced: Domo's revenue of $318,857,000 for the year ended 2026-01-31 and $317,044,000 for the prior year, from SEC XBRL company facts drawn from its 10-K filings; and the DEFM14C filed 2026-08-24, opened directly, which discloses the Asset Purchase Agreement signed 2026-07-22 with Progress Software for a base purchase price of approximately $400M in cash, excluding Domo's net operating loss carryforwards, approved by written consent. Domo was still an SEC filer with a 10-Q filed 2026-09-03 at the date of this screen, so it is described as listed with a sale pending rather than as private. Microsoft's published Power BI price page was opened on 2026-09-20 for the $14.00 and $24.00 per-user figures and the free tier. 16 CFR 436.5(k)(5)(v), read from the current eCFR, is the source for the franchisor's disclosed right of independent access to data in a required system. NOT sourced: no market size for multi-location or franchise reporting software is claimed here, and none was found that was not a forecast-publisher figure. Microsoft's and Salesforce's non-disclosure of Power BI and Tableau revenue is asserted at tier C because no filing was opened to confirm it in this screen. Sisense, FranConnect and Restaurant365 are private and publish no revenue — that is the finding; their customer counts are vendor marketing claims, tiered C. No analyst quadrant is used as evidence of share. Verify before acting. On tiering: vendor-published list prices are tier C, not B — the house scale reserves B for a reputable secondary source and puts vendor material at C. The prices were read from the vendors' own current price pages on 20 September 2026, so they are checkable; they are simply not independent.
Where the industry talks
The associations, forums and events where people in this trade actually talk shop — where to listen before entering, and where the first customers are found. Each link was opened on the date shown.
'approximately 650 corporate members representing over 40,000 franchise business owners' per its About page
Oldest and largest franchising body; franchisors, franchisees and suppliers across 300+ industries per its About page. No member count stated
The multi-unit operator conference; 27 Apr 2027, Caesars Forum, Las Vegas, per the site
Canadian Franchise Association's annual convention; 2027 event page is live, dates not yet captured
Trade magazine for franchisors and multi-unit franchisees; publishes the Top 400 and Restaurant 200 rankings
Publisher of Multi-Unit Franchisee magazine and the Multi-Unit Franchisee Report newsletter
CFA's own magazine and online news for Canadian franchisors and franchisees
The Microsoft Fabric/Power BI community forum blocks automated access and r/franchise and r/PowerBI could not be confirmed, so no BI-user forum is listed.