Salon & Spa Management
The buyer population — Beauty salons
Base industry report for 812115 →- Establishments · CanadaA
- 9,295
- Under 10 employeesA
- 86%
Of 9,295 Canadian establishments with employees, 86% have fewer than ten — an industry of very small operators. Each of those is one potential account, before any filter for size or fit.
Entry signal — what decides who wins here
One thing must be trueEntry turns on a single condition that can be named and tested before much is spent. Clear it and this becomes an execution question; fail it and no amount of operating skill helps.
Displace an incumbent the screen found well defended — payments attached to the workflow, data that does not leave, a contract that renews itself. Share here means giving a buyer a reason to break something that currently works, which is a higher bar than being better.
Measured, not forecast: the share of US establishments opening in one year that were still active later. It counts good operators and bad ones together, which is exactly why it is the honest answer to “what are the odds”. It is for the whole sector rather than this market, and the ten-year figure comes from an older cohort because no younger one has reached ten years.
This is not a probability of success, and it is not a verdict on you. No survival probability is published per market, and inventing one would be worse than saying so. What the bar reads is how much of the outcome sits inside an operator's control: green means the hurdles are ones a better operator clears, red means the binding constraint is capital, an asset or a permission rather than execution. Someone arriving with an advantage this screen did not assume can win a market shown in red.
Companies named in this market · 15
The binding constraint — incumbent vulnerability
Payments-attached and well funded, with Fresha competing at zero subscription cost by monetising payments alone — a free-alternative problem in a vertical market rather than a horizontal one. Nothing is disclosed here. Every vendor named on this record is private, or sits inside a parent that does not break the line out, so no revenue floor can be built and the market size is genuinely unknown rather than estimated.
The incumbent
Who owns this market and who is coming for it. Fields a screen never reached say so rather than guessing.
Financials & market size — sourced
Figures that came from a filing, a results release or reputable reporting, each carrying its evidence tier.
The field
Every vendor named on this record, and what each one discloses. Most disclose nothing, which is why the market is not sized.
Competitor set · 5 named · 0 disclose revenue
| Name | Revenue | Share | Note |
|---|---|---|---|
| ZenotiC | not disclosed | — | Private. Reported at $174.3M of ARR in 2024, up from $105.7M, and described as profitable — the clearest scale figure in this category, though it comes from a private-data aggregator rather than a filing. Valued above $1B, and near $1.5B on a later raise |
| BoulevardC | not disclosed | — | Private; 2,000+ business customers, concentrated in the premium tier |
| FreshaC | not disclosed | — | Private; free-to-the-salon model funded by consumer bookings and payments — the price floor here |
| BooksyC | not disclosed | — | Private; a consumer booking marketplace first and salon software second |
| Mindbody (Playlist)C | not disclosed | — | Sells into salons and spas alongside fitness; the valuation chain is on the 713940 record |
Nobody here publishes revenue. The market is not sized for that reason — an estimate built on nothing would only look like knowledge.
Startups & challengers
Newer and smaller vendors going at the incumbent — funded challengers first. Named, not researched to the depth of the field above; a company with a page here links to it.
| Company | Stage | What it does | Raised |
|---|---|---|---|
| DaySmart Software | Funded challenger | Appointment and business software for pet care, salons, spas and other service shops | — |
| GlossGenius | Funded challenger | Booking, payments and websites for independent beauty and wellness pros. | — |
| Mangomint | Funded challenger | Booking, payments and automation for salons, spas and medspas | $48m |
| Squire ↗ | Funded challenger | Booking, POS and payments for barbershops | — |
| StyleSeat | Funded challenger | Booking marketplace and business tools for independent hair stylists and beauty pros | $40m |
| Vagaro | Funded challenger | Booking, POS and marketing for salons, spas and fitness businesses | — |
| DINGG | Startup | Booking, POS and marketing for salons and spas (India-focused). | — |
| Goldie | Startup | Booking, payments and client app for independent beauty and wellness pros | — |
| Meevo | Scrappy competitor | Salon and spa management software for multi-location businesses | — |
| Phorest | Scrappy competitor | Salon and spa booking, payments and marketing software | — |
| ShearShare | Scrappy competitor | Marketplace for renting salon chairs and suites to stylists. | — |
Evidence
Evidence. UNVERIFIED — screened on analyst judgment against the model in _method/screening-model.md. Incumbent names and positions are from general market knowledge and were not independently researched for this record. Verify before acting. Updated 2026-09-18: Zenoti's $174.3M 2024 ARR is the closest thing to revenue anywhere in this category, but it comes from a private-company data aggregator, not a filing [C], and is treated accordingly — it is not used as a revenue floor. The valuations are better covered [B]. Fresha is listed because a free-to-the-salon model funded by payments sets the floor the paid vendors price against.
Where the industry talks
The associations, forums and events where people in this trade actually talk shop — where to listen before entering, and where the first customers are found. Each link was opened on the date shown.
National body for Canadian beauty professionals, salon owners, distributors and manufacturers; no member count stated on its About page
US association with salon & spa, licensed professional and business membership tiers; no member count stated
Spa industry association, 35+ years; runs the ISPA Conference and Pulse magazine; no member count stated
Canadian spa association with a quality-assurance certification for member spas; no member count stated
Informa's beauty trade show series (Orlando, Anaheim, San Antonio, Columbus); next Orlando show June 5-7, 2027
Canadian trade magazine for the professional beauty industry; covering 2026 industry events
US business magazine for salon owners and managers; runs the annual Salon Today 200 ranking
Reddit (r/Hairstylist) and behindthechair.com returned 429 to automated fetches and are not listed.