Franchise workforce management SaaS — scheduling and labour control across a franchised estate
Entry signal — what decides who wins here
One thing must be trueEntry turns on a single condition that can be named and tested before much is spent. Clear it and this becomes an execution question; fail it and no amount of operating skill helps.
Displace an incumbent the screen found well defended — payments attached to the workflow, data that does not leave, a contract that renews itself. Share here means giving a buyer a reason to break something that currently works, which is a higher bar than being better.
Measured, not forecast: the share of US establishments opening in one year that were still active later. It counts good operators and bad ones together, which is exactly why it is the honest answer to “what are the odds”. It is for the whole sector rather than this market, and the ten-year figure comes from an older cohort because no younger one has reached ten years.
This is not a probability of success, and it is not a verdict on you. No survival probability is published per market, and inventing one would be worse than saying so. What the bar reads is how much of the outcome sits inside an operator's control: green means the hurdles are ones a better operator clears, red means the binding constraint is capital, an asset or a permission rather than execution. Someone arriving with an advantage this screen did not assume can win a market shown in red.
Companies named in this market · 8
The binding constraint — incumbent vulnerability
There is no franchise workforce-management market; there is a workforce-management market that was entered long ago, and "franchise" is a go-to-market label on it. The payer is the franchisee, one location at a time, and the prices that payer already sees are $2.50–$8.00 per user per month at When I Work and $5.00–$9.00 at Deputy, with Homebase free for a single location up to ten employees [B, vendor price pages, 2026-09-20]. Under those prices sits something worse for an entrant: a bundle carried by payment economics. Toast reported approximately 164,000 locations at 31 December 2025, subscription revenue of $936M inside total revenue of $6,153M — and financial technology solutions revenue of $5,037M [A, FY2025 10-K]. Its scheduling, employee onboarding and team-communication products do not have to earn their keep on the subscription line. The consolidation has already happened and has not compounded: Zebra bought Reflexis, the task and workforce-management vendor for retail, food service, hospitality and banking, on 1 September 2020 for $548M in cash net of cash acquired [A, FY2020 10-K], and in FY2025 Zebra's services and software revenue was $978M growing 1.3%, against 10.0% growth in its hardware [A, FY2025 10-K]. Meanwhile the franchisor cannot solve distribution for an entrant either — mandating a system means naming its cost in FDD Items 6, 8 and 11 [A, 16 CFR 436.5]. The defence held when this screen looked at it. NAICS 5331 is a navigation anchor, not a claim about where this market sits.
The incumbent
Who owns this market and who is coming for it. Fields a screen never reached say so rather than guessing.
Financials & market size — sourced
Figures that came from a filing, a results release or reputable reporting, each carrying its evidence tier.
The field
Every vendor named on this record, and what each one discloses. Most disclose nothing, which is why the market is not sized.
Competitor set · 8 named · 0 disclose revenue
| Name | Revenue | Share | Note |
|---|---|---|---|
| ToastNYSE: TOSTA | not disclosed | — | FY2025 10-K, year ended 2025-12-31, filed 2026-02-18: subscription services revenue $936M, financial technology solutions $5,037M, hardware and professional services $180M, total $6,153M. No scheduling or workforce line is broken out, and the subscription rate is per location — ~164,000 locations at year end, +22%; scheduling, employee onboarding and team messaging ship with the POS and are carried by payments |
| Zebra Technologies (Workcloud, ex-Reflexis)NASDAQ: ZBRAA | not disclosed | — | FY2025 10-K, year ended 2025-12-31, filed 2026-02-12: Services and Software $978M of $5,396M total, +1.3% against +10.0% for tangible products. No workforce-management product line is disclosed; the Reflexis brand is no longer named — Paid $548M cash net of cash acquired for Reflexis on 2020-09-01 — the clearest published price for this category, and the growth since is the clearest verdict on it |
| Fourth (with HotSchedules)C | not disclosed | — | Private; no revenue published. Vendor site claims 120,000 locations (retrieved 2026-09-20) — The enterprise incumbent in hospitality scheduling, formed by merging the two leaders |
| 7shiftsC | not disclosed | — | Private; no revenue published. Vendor site claims 55,000 restaurants and confirms a free plan with basic scheduling and communication (retrieved 2026-09-20) — The franchisee's default in restaurants, with a free tier underneath it |
| DeputyC | not disclosed | — | Private; no revenue published. List prices from the vendor price page, retrieved 2026-09-20: $5.00, $6.50 and $9.00 per user per month, plus a $2.00 HR add-on — Cross-industry scheduling sold direct to the operator — the price an entrant has to beat |
| When I WorkC | not disclosed | — | Private; no revenue published. List prices from the vendor price page, retrieved 2026-09-20: $2.50, $5.00 and $8.00 per user per month — The low end of the same product, sold to the same payer |
| HomebaseC | not disclosed | — | Private; no revenue published. List prices from the vendor price page, retrieved 2026-09-20: free for one location up to ten employees, then $30, $70 and $120 per location per month — A free tier at exactly the size most single-unit franchisees are — the floor this market has to clear |
| Workforce.comC | not disclosed | — | Private; no revenue published — Labour compliance and scheduling for hourly workforces, including franchised estates |
Nobody here publishes revenue. The market is not sized for that reason — an estimate built on nothing would only look like knowledge.
Startups & challengers
Newer and smaller vendors going at the incumbent — funded challengers first. Named, not researched to the depth of the field above; a company with a page here links to it.
| Company | Stage | What it does | Raised |
|---|---|---|---|
| Onaroll | Startup | Rewards and incentives that reduce turnover for restaurant hourly staff | — |
Vendor landscape
Market leaders, the full paid field, and every open-source alternative. Where a free tier exists it is what sets the price floor, so it is analysis rather than an appendix.
~164,000 locations; $5,037M of FY2025 revenue from payments funding a bundled scheduler [A]
120,000 locations claimed; private, no revenue [C, vendor]
Bought for $548M in 2020; now inside a $978M line growing 1.3% [A]
Paid field · 10 vendors
Scheduling bundled, paid for by interchange
The incumbent estate-wide system
Labour beside inventory and brand standards
Labour module attached to the ledger
55,000 restaurants claimed, with a free plan
$5.00–$9.00 per user per month
$2.50–$8.00 per user per month
Free at one location — where most franchisees start
Labour law across jurisdictions, the one defensible fragment
Sold alongside the hardware estate
Open source · 2 projects — the price floor
Employees, attendance, timesheets and shift planning in a free ERP — the self-host route for a multi-unit operator with IT
HR, shift types, attendance and leave, free, with a commercial hosting option
This is the most crowded of the four and the least franchise-specific. Every vendor here sells the same product to restaurants, retail, fitness and home services whether or not they are franchised, which is the point: the franchise framing adds a sales motion, not a product boundary. The franchisor can recommend but not pay; the franchisee pays but already owns a scheduler.
Evidence
Evidence. Sourced: Zebra Technologies' FY2020 10-K (filed 2021-02-11), opened directly, which states the acquisition of Reflexis Systems on 2020-09-01 for $548 million in cash net of cash acquired and describes Reflexis as a provider of task and workforce management, execution and communication solutions for retail, food service, hospitality and banking; and Zebra's FY2025 10-K (year ended 2025-12-31, filed 2026-02-12) for the Tangible Products / Services and Software disaggregation, $978M of $5,396M, growing 1.3% against 10.0% — no workforce-management revenue is disclosed anywhere in it, which is the finding. Toast's FY2025 10-K (filed 2026-02-18) for locations, the revenue mix and the confirmation that scheduling, onboarding and team communication ship with the POS. 16 CFR 436.5 (current eCFR, read 2026-09-20) for the disclosure obligations that attach to a franchisor-mandated system. List prices for Deputy, When I Work and Homebase come from those vendors' own published price pages opened on 2026-09-20 and are tiered B — vendor-published and checkable, but not filings. NOT sourced: Fourth, HotSchedules, Crunchtime, 7shifts, Workforce.com, Deputy, When I Work and Homebase are all private and publish no revenue at all. That is the finding, not a gap, and their location and customer counts are marketing claims tiered C. 7shifts' price page returned no readable figures in this screen, so only its published free plan and customer claim are used. No market size for workforce management in franchised operations is claimed, because none could be sourced that was not a forecast-publisher figure. No analyst quadrant is used. Verify before acting. On tiering: vendor-published list prices are tier C, not B — the house scale reserves B for a reputable secondary source and puts vendor material at C. The prices were read from the vendors' own current price pages on 20 September 2026, so they are checkable; they are simply not independent.
Where the industry talks
The associations, forums and events where people in this trade actually talk shop — where to listen before entering, and where the first customers are found. Each link was opened on the date shown.
'approximately 650 corporate members' per homepage, which it says represent over 40,000 franchise business owners
Largest franchising body; franchisor, franchisee and supplier members; no member count on site
National foodservice association; most franchised units are restaurants; no member count on site
Restaurants Canada's annual trade show, Toronto; 2027 edition page live
Largest US foodservice trade show, McCormick Place Chicago; May 22-25, 2027
Monthly trade magazine for franchisees and franchisors; September 2026 issue current
QSR Magazine blocks automated access and was not verified. Blue MauMau (bluemaumau.org) did not respond and is treated as dead. r/restaurantowners could not be verified from this network.