Timmins, Ontario
What Timmins is made of: the communities whose institutions are here, the sectors its 1,514 businesses sit in, the franchises already on the ground, and the services a newcomer could start.
1,514 businesses on file · 105 trades · 32 sectors · census population 41,145 · registry population 41,145 · built from geonet.timmins on 2026-10-07
Visiting rather than moving? The free guidebook for Timmins → — the free guidebook for this region: why go, what to see, what is open when it rains.
The local economy
What the business base is made of, what it is specialised in against the national pattern, and what that mix implies. This is the part a development office would read first.
Composition, not health. geonet records what trades exist and where; it does not record formation, closure, employment or revenue, so none of those appear here. What makes this economics rather than a directory is the NAICS coding: it lets the local mix be read against the BLS survival curves and against the 323 industry groups this research has screened.
Every industry group on this page links through to its NAICS page, and to the screened market report where this research has one — that is what the trait-to-NAICS coding buys.
What this city is specialised in
Location quotient is this city's share of a trade divided by the same share across 10 CA metro tables. Above 1.25 is the conventional threshold for a local specialisation.
Thin against the national pattern
Common trades that are under-represented here. For someone deciding what to open, this is the more useful half of the table — though a gap can mean unmet demand or a market that does not work here, and this does not tell you which.
The base against the entry screen
Businesses by the entry signal of the industry group they sit in, from the /markets screen. A large "structure decides" share means most local trades are ones where being better than the incumbent does not by itself win. A trade is matched to the screened record at whatever level the research wrote it — the same code, a broader one, or a narrower one. Where a group holds several screened sub-markets the count is shown, because no single one of them speaks for the whole group.
How to read the survival figure
Each sector's five-year establishment survival rate, weighted by how many of this city's businesses sit in that sector. It is a property of the MIX, not of these businesses — it says what survival this composition would imply at US private-sector rates, because no Canadian equivalent series exists.
Weighted over 98.2% of the coded base — public administration carries no curve. Source: Business Employment Dynamics — Table 7, Survival of private sector establishments by opening year, US Bureau of Labor Statistics.
And what it does not measure
A "mixed" trait is one that genuinely spans codes — "computers" covers systems design, repair and supply. The clear share is how much of this reading rests on unambiguous coding. Business density also reflects how completely the directory covers a place, not only how many businesses are in it — so it compares poorly between a city the register knows well and one it does not.
Who lives here, and who the city is for
The census: the only figures on this page that count people rather than businesses, and the three cohort readings they make possible.
The register says what trades exist. The census says who lives here — and it is the only thing on this page that counts people. Figures are Census Profile, 2021 Census of Population for Timmins, City (CY), the municipality proper, and every comparison is against the population-weighted average of all 5,161 census subdivisions in Canada.
Who the city is for
Three readings, each built from real numbers against real benchmarks. This is not an index. Every signal is shown with its own value, its benchmark and which way it points, and the band simply counts how many point the same way — so a reader who disagrees with one signal can drop it and still use the rest.
Seniors
moderateIs this a place to grow old, and is the care here?
| Residents 65 and over | 18.1% | –19% |
| Residents 85 and overthe group that needs care rather than the group that is merely retired | 1.9% | ▼2.3% |
| Median age | 42 years | –42.1 years |
| Low income among 65+against a 15% reference, not a national figure | 15.7% | –15% |
| Medical clinics per 1,000 residentsfrom the business register | 0.27 | – |
| Pharmacies per 1,000 residentsfrom the business register | 0.36 | – |
| Nursing and elderly care operatorscounted in the register, which lists few of them | 0 | – |
| Median rent | 940 $/mo | ▲1175 $/mo |
A high share of over-65s says other people made this choice; it does not by itself say the care exists. The register lists clinics and pharmacies but has no category for a hospital at all, so the one thing a family would most want — distance to an emergency department — is still missing.
Students and young adults
moderateIs there a reason to be here between 19 and 25, and can they afford it?
| Residents 20 to 24 | 6.3% | –6% |
| Residents 15 to 19the cohort arriving next | 5.5% | –6% |
| Renter householdsa rental market is what makes a place possible to move to | 33.1% | –33.2% |
| Median rent | 940 $/mo | ▲1175 $/mo |
| Unemployment rateMay 2021, mid-pandemic — high everywhere in this census | 8.6% | ▲10.4% |
| Degree holders in the adult populationagainst a 32% reference | 12.8% | ▼32% |
| Drinking places and recreationfrom the register | 18 | – |
Post-secondary institutions in the city are listed further down this page; where there are none, a high 20-to-24 share usually means work rather than study.
Newcomers and other-language speakers
thinIs there already a community here, and has anyone built anything for it?
| Immigrants in the population | 3.4% | ▼23.2% |
| Arrived 2016 to 2021a recent arrival means the route here is current, not historical | 0.6% | ▼3.7% |
| Speak a non-official language at home | 2.4% | ▼12.7% |
| Languages spoken at home above the reporting floor | 1 | – |
| Community institutions in the register | 3 | – |
| Non-permanent residentsstudents and work-permit holders | 1.6% | ▼3.7% |
The census counts speakers; the business register shows whether a community has built anything — a church, a society, a credit union, a grocer. Both columns appear in the language table below, and the interesting rows are the ones where they disagree.
What is spoken at home, and whether anyone built for it
Where the census and the business register disagree. A language spoken by hundreds with no institution behind it is a gap in local provision — or a gap in the register. An institution with no matching language usually means an older community that has shifted to English at home.
| Spoken most often at home | Speakers | Share | Community in the register | Institutions |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Punjabi (Panjabi) | 320 | 0.8% | South Asian | 0 |
Built, but no longer spoken
Indigenous 3 institutions
An established community that has shifted to English at home. The institutions remain; the language is no longer the one used in the kitchen.
The rest of the profile
| Characteristic | Here | Canada |
|---|---|---|
| Residents 65 and over | 18.1% | 19% |
| Residents 85 and over | 1.9% | 2.3% |
| Residents 20 to 24 | 6.3% | 6% |
| Arrived 2016 to 2021 | 0.6% | 3.7% |
| Non-permanent residents | 1.6% | — |
| Speak a non-official language at home | 2.4% | 12.7% |
| Renter households | 33.1% | 33.2% |
| Spending 30% or more on shelter | 16.1% | 20.6% |
| Participation rate | 62.4% | 63.7% |
| Unemployment rate | 8.6% | 10.4% |
| Median household income, 2020 | 82000 $ | — |
| Median after-tax household income, 2020 | 72000 $ | — |
| Prevalence of low income (LIM-AT) | 11.7% | — |
| Bachelor degree or higher | 12.8% | — |
The one thing to keep in mind
Census day was 11 May 2021, so income is for 2020 and the labour figures were taken during the pandemic — Toronto's 13.9% unemployment rate is a May 2021 reading, not a current one. Census 2021 count for the census subdivision, which is the municipality proper. It will differ from the figure in wander.regions, which is sometimes a metropolitan population.
Source: Census Profile, 2021 Census of Population — 98-401-X2021005 — Canada, provinces, territories, census divisions and census subdivisions, Statistics Canada, under the Open Government Licence – Canada. National comparison: Population-weighted across all 5,161 census subdivisions in the 2021 Census Profile. Median rent and median age are weighted means of local medians, which is an approximation, not a national median.
The communities the register shows
A community appears in the business register before it appears in prose — a national church, a society, a credit union, a newspaper. Those are counted as institutions, and they are what suggests residents. A restaurant serving a cuisine is counted separately as trade, because every city has those and they say nothing about who lives nearby. The ranking is by institutions.
| Community | Institutions | Worship | Trade | Where it shows |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Indigenous | 3 | 1 | — | institutions on Spruce Street South (2)
Metis Nation Ontario Timmins · Timmins Native Friendship Centre · Aboriginal Pentecostal Ministries |
| Greek | — | — | 1 | |
| Italian | — | — | 1 | |
| Polish | — | — | 1 | |
| Irish | — | — | 1 |
Where the communities are
Streets, not neighbourhood names. The data knows that Greek institutions sit on one street and Greek restaurants on another; it does not know the word "Greektown", so it does not use it.
Indigenous
What the city is made of
Every business on file, grouped by the sector it trades in. This is the economic-development view: where the 1,514 businesses actually are, and the specific trades inside each sector.
| Sector | Businesses | Share | What is in it |
|---|---|---|---|
| Health | 103 | 6.8% | physician (45) · medical clinic (11) · optical (8) · pharmacy (7) · fitness club (7) · chiro (6) · health foods (3) · home healthcare (2) |
| Construction | 103 | 6.8% | general contractor (27) · electrician (19) · plumbing (10) · heating and cooling (7) · roofing (7) · painting (6) · concrete (5) · carpet (5) |
| Retail | 92 | 6.1% | gifts (28) · department store (25) · convenience (19) · photography (8) · flowers (6) · jeweler (5) · discount store (1) |
| Living | 80 | 5.3% | place of worship (30) · apartment (13) · furniture (10) · cleaning (8) · daycare (5) · appliances (4) · veterinary (3) · janitor (2) |
| Business | 78 | 5.2% | association (36) · government (17) · accounting (12) · consulting (11) · vending (2) |
| Automotive | 76 | 5% | autos (23) · auto repair (22) · auto parts (15) · tires (1) · scooter (1) |
| Beauty | 71 | 4.7% | hair stylist (49) · dentist (13) · barber (3) |
| Finance | 64 | 4.2% | insurance (24) · bank (20) · credit union (2) · bankruptcy (2) · mortgage (1) · real estate (1) |
| Dining | 59 | 3.9% | fast food (30) · restaurant (17) · pizza (9) · pubs (2) · steakhouse (1) |
| Living & Home | 50 | 3.3% | scooter (1) |
| Education | 45 | 3% | school (43) · library (2) |
| Travel | 34 | 2.2% | travel agent (9) · hotel (8) · motel (6) · pubs (1) |
| Construction & Realty | 34 | 2.2% | |
| Logistics | 32 | 2.1% | truck transportation (16) · storage (1) · towing (1) |
| Manufacturing | 31 | 2% | industrial supplier (15) · fabrication (12) · chemical (1) · machinery (1) · pallets (1) · greenhouse (1) |
| Food & Beverage | 25 | 1.7% | |
| Retail Goods | 21 | 1.4% | |
| Entertainment | 20 | 1.3% | games (5) · video (4) · music instruments (4) · nightclub (3) · video producer (1) · museum (1) · amusement (1) · dj (1) |
| Clothing | 17 | 1.1% | |
| Food | 17 | 1.1% | baker (6) · grocer (6) · catering (5) |
The franchises already here
Brands from a register of 2,024 franchise systems, matched into this city by name. A high count is a signal in both directions: the territory works, and it may be taken.
27 of these brands are a single common word — Metro, Avenue, Budget — so their counts include businesses that merely share the word. They are marked rather than dropped.
| Brand | Category | Here | Worldwide |
|---|---|---|---|
| Tim Hortons | coffee | 6 | 2,890 |
| Canadian Tire | retail | 3 | 455 |
| U-Haul | car | 3 | 13,700 |
| Co-operators | insurance | 2 | — |
| H&R Block | tax | 2 | 12,165 |
| Pet Valu | pet | 2 | 300 |
| Salvation Army | retail | 2 | — |
| Shell Canada | fuel | 2 | 2,100 |
| Shoppers Drug Mart | pharmacy | 2 | 927 |
| Wal-Mart | retail | 2 | 6,500 |
| Your Independent Grocer | supermarket | 2 | 50 |
| 2-4-1 Pizza | pizza | 1 | 100 |
| A&W Restaurants | fastfood | 1 | 694 |
| Apple Auto Glass | specialty | 1 | 110 |
| Athletes World | retail | 1 | — |
| Bargain Shop | retail | 1 | 165 |
| Blockbuster Video | video | 1 | 5,900 |
| Buck or Two | retail | 1 | 139 |
| Budget Rent A Car | car | 1 | 1,900 |
| Bulk Barn | retail | 1 | 100 |
| Buns Master Bakery | coffee | 1 | 29 |
| Burger King | fastfood | 1 | 11,000 |
| Color Your World | retail | 1 | 98 |
| Comfort Inn | familyhotel | 1 | — |
| Curves For Women | fitness | 1 | 10,000 |
| Days Inn | economyhotel | 1 | — |
| Decorating Den | specialty | 1 | — |
| East Side Marios | food | 1 | 100 |
| Enterprise Rent A Car | car | 1 | 5,400 |
| Golden Griddle | food | 1 | 36 |
| Herbal Magic | health | 1 | 315 |
| Jumbo Video | video | 1 | 55 |
| La Senza | lingerie | 1 | — |
| Laura Secord | dessert | 1 | — |
| Little Caesars Pizza | pizza | 1 | 1,800 |
| Mappins Jewellers | retail | 1 | — |
| Merle Norman Cosmetics | retail | 1 | 2,000 |
| Mikes Restaurants | food | 1 | 118 |
| Mr. Sub | deli | 1 | 475 |
| National Bank of Canada | bank | 1 | — |
| New York Fries | fastfood | 1 | 185 |
| Northern Reflections | retail | 1 | 150 |
| Peoples Jewellers | retail | 1 | — |
| Pizza Hut | pizza | 1 | 10,000 |
| Pizza Pizza | pizza | 1 | 313 |
| Ramada Inn | familyhotel | 1 | 740 |
| Royal Bank | bank | 1 | — |
| St. John | retail | 1 | — |
| Super 8 | economyhotel | 1 | — |
| Suzy Shier | retail | 1 | — |
| Taco Villa | fastfood | 1 | 9 |
| TD Canada Trust | bank | 1 | — |
| Weed Man | specialty | 1 | — |
| Wine Kitz | liquor | 1 | — |
| Limited name only | retail | 22 | — |
| Sears name only | inc | 5 | 2,300 |
| CIBC name only | bank | 2 | — |
| Hallmark name only | greetingcards | 2 | 5,600 |
| Manor name only | retail | 2 | — |
| Renaissance name only | upscalehotel | 2 | — |
| ScotiaBank name only | bank | 2 | — |
| Zellers name only | retail | 2 | — |
| Aldo name only | retail | 1 | — |
| Ardene name only | retail | 1 | — |
| Bootlegger name only | retail | 1 | — |
| Cartier name only | retail | 1 | — |
| Centra name only | convenience | 1 | 350 |
| Fabricland name only | retail | 1 | 170 |
| Honda name only | car | 1 | — |
| HSBC name only | bank | 1 | — |
| LCBO name only | spirits | 1 | 600 |
| Loeb name only | supermarket | 1 | 35 |
| Microplay name only | video | 1 | 130 |
| Midas name only | auto | 1 | 1,800 |
| Nissan name only | auto | 1 | — |
| Pantorama name only | retail | 1 | — |
| Reitmans name only | retail | 1 | 343 |
| Stitches name only | retail | 1 | — |
| Tiffany name only | retail | 1 | 150 |
| Toyota name only | car | 1 | — |
| YMCA name only | fitness | 1 | — |
Real estate as a local trade
Four unrelated jobs share the name: selling existing homes, owning and letting them, managing them for someone else, and building new ones. For anyone weighing a move or a licence these are the counts — and the ownership question goes to /property, which answers it building by building.
Real estate is a local job market in its own right, and four unrelated trades get the same name. Counts are businesses filed under each trade in the register, which lists a brokerage once however many agents work there — so this measures firms, not licensees.
Selling homes
5312Offices of agents and brokers — the resale market, and the biggest single trade in most Canadian cities.
Named in the register
- Bonhomme Lionel — 168 Algonquin Boulevard East 2
- Claimpost Realty Limited — 30 Spruce Street North
- Daniel Spada Real Estate — 324 Cedar St N
- General Surveys Exploration — 637 Algonquin Boulevard East
- H B Real Estate Appraisals — 251 Third Ave
- Northern Ontario Appraisals — 137 Pine St S
- Re Max Millennium — 38 Pine St N
- Ricks GPS Service — 2902 Dalton Road
- Timmins Real Estate Board — 7 Balsam St S
Owning and letting
5311Lessors of real estate: the buildings themselves, filed under the building rather than the owner.
Named in the register
- 310 Pine St Murb — 310 Pine St N
- Aurora Place Apartments — 102-860 Suzanne Street
- Cedar Apartments — 641 Cedar Street North
- Chartrand Apartments — 19 Preston Street South 100
- Concepta Limited — 691 Mac Lean Dr
- Duval Apartments — 195 King St
- Hillside Apartments — 66 Brousseau Avenue
- King Apartments — 200 King Street
- Melrose Apartments — 753 Suzanne Street
- PM North — 14 Carium Rd
- Riverpark Management Service — 690 River Park Rd
- Riverside Apartments — 1214 Riverside Dr
- Senator Place Apartments — 585 Algonquin Boulevard East
Building new homes
2361Residential builders and the general contractors who work for them.
Named in the register
- Aamerr RE Construction — 290 Kirby Avenue
- Airkem Timmins — 373 Railway Street
- Chorney General Contracting — 425 Algonquin Boulevard East 12
- Delmonte Gravel and Construction — Preston Lane
- Fam Construction — 142 Kent Ave
- Hi Pro Installation — 126 Commercial Avenue
- Intech Contracting — 495 Martin Ave
- J B General Contracting — 468 Ross Avenue West
- Letang Enterprises Home Renovations — 27 Columbus Avenue
- Scott William A — 335 Patricia Boulevard
- Secord Mining Div — 2090 Riverside Dr
- Sheridan Mobile Home Park — 850 Tony Ave
- Teds Backhoe Service — 270 Waterloo Road
- TMW Maintenance Services — 48 Mc Donald Hill
Financing it
5222Mortgage brokers and non-bank lenders.
Named in the register
- Associates Financial Services of Canada Ltd The — 425 Algonquin Boulevard East
Who actually owns it
The full property record →From the /property research for this city, which asks a different question: not who trades in property here, but who owns it. An owner is named there only where a document says so. Owner on an official register, $37.10 a parcel, no bulk, no open roll, no prices.
Landowners
- Discovery Silver Corp. — area not stated in any filing opened
- Pan American Silver Corp. — two mines; area not stated
- Transport Canada — 26.0920 ha across two beacon parcels
- The City of Timmins — not established
Homebuilders
- 2124140 Ontario Inc. (Praztek Construction) — 0 recorded
- Jacques Trudel Construction Inc. — 1
- 1655604 Ontario Inc. — 1
- 792844 Ontario Inc. — 1
- The other 111 Timmins licence records — 0
Commercial landlords
- Discovery Silver Corp. — the Porcupine Complex and Kidd Operations
- Pan American Silver Corp. — two producing mines
- Unnamed landlord of the federal government — 5,749 sq m leased across six sites
- Timmins Square - owner not established — not established
7 marquee buildings examined, 6 with an owner established.
On "how many doors"
How many doors a landlord holds is not in any of this. The register files an apartment building under the building, not its owner, and carries no unit count; there is no open dataset of Canadian landlords by portfolio. Where this research has established ownership it is in the /property record for the city, building by building, which is a different and much slower exercise.
Work where you go to them
The Ultimate 411 half of local: everything where the customer does not have to come to you.
A shop needs the customer to walk in. These 157 services do the opposite — the mobile mechanic, the mobile groomer, the bookkeeper, the junk haul — and they are the ones a person can start without a lease. 0 of them already match a trait filed in this city's register.
The 157 Service=1 rows in search.local: work where the provider travels to the customer. "present" counts businesses already filed under that exact trait name; a blank is a coverage gap, not proof of absence, because the two vocabularies were built separately.
home services
events
pets
luxury
healthcare
sporting goods
sports
business
outdoors
construction
travel
tools
Schools and colleges
wander.schools is a post-secondary table — universities and colleges. K-12 public and private schools are not in it, and only 7 of its 1,686 rows carry coordinates, so these are listed and not mapped.
| Institution | Type | Students | Founded |
|---|---|---|---|
| Northern College | College | — | — |
In the business register
Where schooling shows up as a business rather than an institution — which is where K-12, tutoring and childcare appear.
Health and care
What a person moving a parent here would ask first. The register files clinics and pharmacies; it has no category for a hospital at all, so hospitals are matched by name and the limit is stated rather than hidden.
Matched on the name "hospital"
- Misiway Eniniwuk Community Health Centre — 137 Pine Street South
- Child Animal Hospital — 181 Algonquin Boulevard West
- Hampton Veterinary Hospital — 252 Algonquin Boulevard West
geonet carries no 'hospital' trait, so these are matched on the business name. A distance-to-hospital figure needs a source that states hospital locations.
Mayor & politics
Who holds office here and who is asking to, from the official lists on /politics: the council, the riding’s Member of Parliament and the provincial member. Each name opens its row there.
Realtors in Timmins — the brokerages and licensed agents to call →
What this record cannot tell you
Named in full, because the gaps are the part most likely to be misread as an answer.
- Census figures are 2021, taken on 11 May 2021: income is for 2020 and the labour figures were measured mid-pandemic, so the unemployment rate on this page is a 2021 reading rather than a current one.
- wander.schools is now readable, but it holds universities and colleges only and 1,679 of its 1,686 rows have no coordinates. K-12 public and private schools need a separate source — in Ontario the Ministry of Education school finder, in British Columbia the provincial school list. wander.citytowns, hotels and territories remain denied to the ru user.
- No 'hospital' trait exists in geonet; distance to a hospital needs an external source such as StatCan's Open Database of Healthcare Facilities.
- 19.6% of businesses here carry no coordinates, so a map or address lookup would miss them. Postal codes reach 95.3%.
Built from
geonet.timmins— the local business registerwander.regions— city name, population, metrosearch.local— trait vocabulary and the come-to-you servicessearch.cozfranchises— 2,024 franchise brands